The following biographies are from "History of Dakota County and the City of Hastings, including the Explorers and Pioneers of Minnesota , and Outlines of the History of Minnesota". By Rev. Edward D. Neill and J. Fletcher Williams. Published in Minneapolis by North Star Publishing Company, 1881. Only the biography sections and selected 'incidents' are included in this file.  The easiest way to access this file is with your computers word / term search option.

The page numbers correspond to the city and township sections as listed in the table of contents:

City of Hastings - pages 299-322 ; Burnsville - pages 323-327 ; Castle Rock - pages 327-339 ; Douglass - pages 340-346 ; Eagan - pages 346-354 ; Empire - pages 354-373 ; Eureka - 373-383 ; Green Vale - pages 383-393 ; Hampton - pages 394-402 ; Inver Grove - pages 402-411 ; Lakeville - pages 411-427 ; Lebanon - pages 427-432 ; Marshan - pages 432-438 ; Nininger - pages 438-445 ; Randolph - pages 445-450 ; Ravenna - pages 450-455 ; Rosemount - pages 455-468 ; Sciota - pages 469-476 ; Vermillion - pages 477-487 ; Waterford - pages 488-502 ; West St. Paul - pages 502-511 ;  and Mendota - pages 511-521.

These pages were scanned and may contain errors created during the transfer of data, especially the dates.

***********

Page 299

W. H. Adams

attorney at law and son of Gen. C. P. Adams, was born at Hastings, Minnesota, August 20th, 1866. He received his early education at the High school of Hastings and academy of Notre Dame at South Bend, Indiana. Studied law in the law department of the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, and graduated from that institution in March, 1879. During that month he was admitted to the bar of the supreme court, of Michigan, and to the courts of Minnesota the next April. Since that time he has been in practice as one of the firm of Hodgson and Adams. Married August 14, 1879, to Mary A. Muehlig, of Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Page 300

William Ainsworth

was born in Vermont in December, 1825. He was reared on a farm, and when sixteen years old learned the carpenter's trade. Worked at it two years, then in 1843came to Illinois. The following year removed to Iowa, still working at his trade until 1856, then came to Hastings, there being at that time only two stores and one hotel. In 1859, bought a farm, now having one hundred and sixty acres. Married Miss Maria Ingram in 1855. Mary is their only child.

Page 300

Sherman Nathaniel Aspinwall

proprietor of the Poster house, is of English-Scotch descent, born in Cayuga county, New York, April 3d, 1832. His father, Edson Aspinwall, was a merchant of Auburn. While living in Auburn young Aspinwall was sent to the Auburn academy, then in charge of Professor Hopkinson. During this time his father and grandfather owned three stores and a large steam grist mill. The family moved from Auburn to a large farm in Wells, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, since known as Aspinwall's corners. Here Sherman opened a small store while yet a boy. In 1844 he went to Troy to work in the store of Pomeroy Brothers, who were relatives. He next went to Towanda, the county seat, where he was for a time employed in one of the county offices. After a short time hewent into a store, of which he soon had control. His father being appointed superintendent of the North Branch canal, rented his farm, removed his family to Towanda, where he soon after died, and Sherman, who was then but eighteen years of age, took care of the family. He removed to Elmira, where he began work for Henry S. Wells, railroad and canal contractor, as bookkeeper and cashier. Wells, on account of some difficulty in which he became involved, sold the contract to build eighteen miles of the Great Western railway, between Chatham. Canada, and Detroit , to Hollenbeck and Aspinwall. The firm cleared $35,000 each by this contract and their work gave such satisfaction that the engineers of the road urged them to remain with the company as contractors. However, they returned to Elmira, and Wells having heavy contracts ill Now Jersey, wished to secure their services. They visited the work, but did not enter his employ. Aspinwall, wishing to go to Chicago. But tempted by promises made by Wells, they took two sections of heavy work under him and by the operation lost money. Aspinwall then went to Detroit, in 1855, and for one year had charge of a store at Mount Clemens. On account of the malaria of the country he left and went to Chicago and there began hit; experience as a hotelkeeper. Rented a large stone house opposite the old Dearborn hotel, which he run two years, when failing health again compelled him to change. After a year's rest at Corpus Christi he recovered his health. Next went to New York and was employed in the wholesale hardware house of Churchill, Rogers and Wetmore. When the war broke out he at once enlisted in the Fifty-ninth New York, in May, 1861, and in July following, was mustered into service as second lieutenant of Company A. Served two years, and was in the Peninsular campaign. He was sick with typhoid fever, but getting somewhat better again entered active service against Magruder. Being greatly weakened by sickness he was soon exhausted by his efforts, and carried to the hospital at Fortress Monroe, where for a number of weeks he was very low, suffering from a relapse. His wife was unable to find him until he was removed to Hampton seminary. When taken sick his weight was one hundred and sixty pounds, but when he recovered it was only ninety. His rank at this time was first lieutenant, but he was promoted to captain, and was offered a commission of major. After he left the service, he opened a hardware store in Troy, Pennylvania, in the fail of 1864, and did a business of $12,000 the first year, and afterwards of $60,000. In addition to his business in Troy, he built a block of stores in Towanda, and kept one of them himself, doing a total business of from $80,000 to $110,000. His winters were passed in the south, where he bought a plantation of four hundred acres, at Aiken, South Carolina, besides a steammill and one thousand acres of timber in the same state. He left his business in the north in charge of a son of a friend, who neglected it, and his partner speculated in the firm name and lost quite heavily. Aspinwall then went to St. Louis and speculated in stock; then went to Jacksonville, Illinois, and run a hotel for a couple of years. In 1875, he came to Minnesota, bought property in Minneapolis, and dealt in fine stock. This he traded for the Foster house in 1877, taking possession in March, 1878. Married at Towanda, Pennsylvania, in 1854, Sarah H. Myer of that place. Their children are Mrs. Dr. Pratt, of Minneapolis, Sallie, Virginia. Mrs. R. J. Parker. Their only son Lloyd, born December 26th, 1872, was drowned in the Mississippi River, June 3d, 1881.

Page 301

George Barbaras

a native of France, was born September 14tb, 1832. His early education was received in France and Germany. Came to America in April, 1847, and located near Chicago, being engaged in farming until 1861, then came to Dakota county, Minnesota, and settled in the township of Vermillion. He continued farming until 1869, then removed to Hastings. Was assistant cashier in the Farmer's and Trader's bank four years; was justice of the peace four years, and was admitted to the bar in June, 1874, by Judge Crosby. He has been in active practice since. He is also agent for several leading insurance companies, and six steamboat companies, for whom he sells tickets, and deals in foreign exchange. Has been mayor of Hastings two years, and alderman two years. Married Harriet Vandaworker. Alma and Julia A. are their children.

Page 301

A. B. Bell

was born in Tompkins county, New York, March 21st, 1832. When sixteen years old removed to Tioga county, and learned the trade of cabinet maker, working at it there three years. In 1862 enlisted in the One Hundred and Ninth New York Volunteer Infantry; served until July 1st, 1865; was mustered out at Elmira. He was commissioned second lieutenant by Governor Fenton, in 1864, for meritorious conduct, after the siege of Petersburg, Virginia, in which battle he was wounded. After leaving the army he came to Hastings; in 1866, went east and graduated from Eastman's Business college. Returning to Hastings he worked at his trade until 1867, then spent three years in Winona, and in 1870 returning, to this city, became one of the firm of Bell, Rhodes and Company, now changed to Bell Brothers. Married Isabel Chapman of Hastings, in 1866. Mary E., and Lou A. are their children.

Page 301

James Bell

was born in Newfield, Tompkins county, Now York, in 1834. His father was a painter, and of him James learned the trade when eight years old. In 1861 he came to Hastings. He worked at his trade until 1870, then became a member of the firm Bell, Rhodes and Company, which has since changed to Bell Brothers. Mr. Bell has been twice married; his first wife was Miss Mary Cornish, of River Falls, Wisconsin. In 1878, he married Mrs. Ella Fry, of Cherry Valley, New York, by whom he has one child, Kate C.

Page 301

C.F. Beltz

was born in Saxony, October 4th, 1840. Came to America in 1853 with his parents and first located in Oneida county, New York. In 1856 removed to Waukesha county, Wisconsin, and learned the trade of mason. During the fall of 1859, went to Milwaukee and clerked in a wholesale liquor store until 1861, when heenlisted in Company F, Sixth Wisconsin Infantry and served until honorably discharged as first sergeant July 28th, 1864. He passed about five years in prospecting, and in 1869, bought a farm in Iowa. Soon after came to Austin, Minnesota, and worked at his trade until coming to Hastings. Continued in the pursuit of his trade till 1878, then assumed charge of the present business in behalf of the Peller estate, and soon after for Shroth, the firm being formerly Peller and Shroth. In 1879 he purchased the business of Mr. Otte, and still continues dealing in leather, harnesses and. hardware. Married in April, 1869, to Margaret Link, of Wisconsin. Amanda H., Frances L., Oswald C. and Carl N. are their children.

Page 301

H. J. Beokmeier

is a native of Germany, born March 14th, 1856. Came to America in 1874, proceeding directly to Hastings. Five years later, he with two associates purchased their business from M. Marx, and formed a co-partnership under the name of Boekmeier, Stern and Rude, dealers in drygoods and gents' furnishing goods. He is unmarried.

Page 301

Henry Butturff

the pioneer furniture dealer of Hastings, was born in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, January 21st, 1828. He resided in his native state until 1850, then removed to Muscatine, Iowa, and clerked in a furniture store five years. In 1855 he came to Hastings and at once started in the furniture trade, bringing with him the first furniture for sale in Dakota county. In 1864 he was engaged with others in the manufacture of furniture, sash, doors and blinds. Although sustaining losses by fire in 1856 and twice in 1865, he is still prominent in the business. He also owns several valuable farms, working some and renting others. Married in 1877 to Mary E. Clark, of Columbus, Ohio.

Page 302

John Byers

mayor, was born in Montgomery county, Ohio, October 6th, 1829. He removed with his parents to Cass county, Michigan, and until 1850 was engaged in farming. During October of that year he came to Hastings, but took a claim in Goodhue county. He has given his attention chiefly to farming since first coming to Hastings. He has been alderman and member of school board several years; was a member of the legislature in 1875, and is president of the Farmers' Board of Trade of Minnesota. In 1880 he was elected mayor of Hastings and still holds the position. Elmira L. Stowell, of Massachusetts, became his wife in 1853. Albert and Louisa are their living children.

Page 302

B. D. Cadwell

was born in Warren county, Pennsylvania, April 23d, 1836. In 1857, he came to Hastings and engaged as miller in the old Vermillion mill. In 1866, he formed a partnership with Theodore Gardner at the Ramsey mill. The following year he went into the mill west of the Vermillion street bridge, and since then has been engaged in general mill-wrighting and repairing. He is a member of the city school board. His children are Almeda, Lincoln, Lucy, May, Benjamin P. and Harvey.

Page 302

M. A. Canning

was born in Nova Scotia in 1825. Moved to Maine with his parents in 1837. Learned the blacksmith's trade, and worked at it until 1847, then went to Michigan. Remained in that state nine years. While there learned the millers' trade, and in 1856 came to Minnesota. Locating at Hastings he worked at milling and afterward run a mill two years. Was with Curtis, Cowles and Company for five years, then worked five years as a joiner. In 1868, built the shop where he now is, corner Fifth and Vermillion streets; has two fires. Also owns a wagon shop. Married Ann M. Hayes in 1858. Fannie, William H., Clara S., and Katie M. are their children.

Page 302

Lawrence J. Casserly

was born in New Jersey in 1857. His father came to Minnesota in 1858, but left his family in New Jersey until he could prepare a home for them. In 1859, they came to Hastings, and here Lawrence attended the High school eight years. In 1874, he commenced his career as teacher in Lebanon township, and has since taught in the county. While teaching in Rosemount heorganized a brass band, afterward becoming its leader.

Page 302

A. J. Catton

was born at Quebec February 15th, 1840. When three years of age, he accompanied his parents to Burford, Ontario. In 1859, Mr. Catton removed to Missouri, but was forced to return to Canada at the breaking out of the war. He removed to Michigan, thence went to Kansas, where he began the profession of a dentist. Returned to Canada to complete the profession, and practiced there ten years. During December, 1879, Dr. Catton came to Hastings and opened his present office. Married in 1873 Miss Zilpha J. Charles, by whom he has one child, Arthur C.

Page 302

D. T. Chamberlain

attorney at law, was born in Wayne county, New York, June 18th, 1852. Here he resided until 1864. Then came to Hastings with his parents. Attended school until 1871, then entered Rochester University of New York, and studied two years. He next entered the law school from which institution hegraduated in November, 1874. Was admitted to the bar of the supreme court of New York, the same month, and in December following, to the courts of Minnesota. Has since been in active practice at Hastings, was elected a member of the school board in 1871, and elected to the state legislature in 1878. Married in 1874 to Emma M. Thorpe: Anna K. is the only child living.

Page 302

A. B. Chapin

was born in Milton, Pennsylvania, in 1845. He studied dentistry at Williamsport. In 1862, enlisted in the Thirty-first Pennsylvania Regiment and served nine months. In October, 1863, enlisted in the United States Navy, and was stationed at Sapelo Sound, Georgia, where he served as surgeon steward until May, 1865. In 1871, removed to St. Paul, and practiced his profession there. Served on the United States boundary survey in northern Dakota and Montana. In 1876, he came to Hastings and opened his present dental rooms. Married Mary P., daughter of Rev. C. S. Le Duc, in 1878.Page 303

J. R. Clagett

attorney at law, was born at Alexandria, Virginia, October 26tb, 1826. His early education was received at the high school of his native place, and from private tutors. He afterward entered Brown's University at Providence, Rhode Island, graduating with the class of 1848. Studied law with Henry W. Davis, of Alexandria, Virginia, and was admitted to the bar at Washington, D. C., in 1853. Four years subsequent, he removed to Hastings, where he has been in active practice since. Has long been identified with the interests of the Episcopal church of Hastings, and is its senior Warden. Has been twice married. His first wife, Eliza Thorne, died in January, 1876; his present wife was Mrs. Frances Pringle, of Brooklyn, New York, by whom he has one child: Frances E.

Page 303

John Seymour Clark, M. D.

was born in Syracuse, New York, December 3d, 1844. Here hewas educated by private tutors; afterward studied one year in Pails. On returning from Europe, he commenced the study of medicine at the medical department of Syracuse University, graduating with the degree of M. D. in 1877. He practiced in New York immediately after, and was physician to the New York dispensary three years, also physician to the Midnight association of that city. During the fall of 1880, came to Hastings, and has since been in practice here. Helen M. Chittenden, of Syracuse, New York, became his wife in 1865: Marion C., Harlow C. and Alice S. are their children.

Page 303

D. C. Conklin

of the firm of Conklin and Whitman, hardware dealers, was born in Brooklyn, New York, November 25th, 1854. He, with his parents came to Minnesota in 1862. Entered the employ of C. W. Williams, a hardware merchant of Hastings in 1875, for whom he worked three years, was then six months in the employ of B. Pringle. Removing thence to Minneapolis, he was in the employ of Smith and Day of that place until the spring of 1881, then formed a partnership with R. Whitman, and purchased the hardware stock of C. W. Williams, of Hastings.

Page 303

Rev. H. J. Crist,

a native of Lawrenceburg, Indiana, was born March 3d, 1843. His father, William H. Crist was of German descent, and removed from Ohio with his family to Hastings; thence to Lakeville in 1856. The family lived during the first summer in a log house, whose occupants numbered sixteen. In his eighteenth year Mr. Crist prepared for college at Red Wing. In 1862 he was one of the thirteen who started out from Lakeville to the relief of the frightened and fleeing settlers at the commencement of the Indian outbreak. His father exchanged a yoke of oxen for a horse, that his son might be fully equipped for travel or conflict. The little party reported at Fort Snelling, and were sent from there to St. Peter. In 1864 heenlisted in the Eleventh Minnesota Volunteers, Company D, and served until June 26th, 1865. During Hood's raid his regiment guarded the Louisville and Nashville railroad. He was raised to the rank of corporal. Returning to Red Wing he graduated from Hamline University, and in 1869 from Garrett Biblical Institute of Evanston, Illinois. He was then appointed successively pastor of Methodist Episcopal churches: At Cannon Falls in 1869, Duluth in 1870, Brainerd in 1871, Austin in 1874, Grace church at St. Paul in 1876, and Hastings in 1878. Miranda F. Jones became his wife in 1870. One child has been born to them Royal H.

Page 303

Charles W. Crosby

lawyer and justice of the peace, was born in Milford., Hillsborough county, New Hampshire, October 22d, 1832. He finished his education at the Nashua high school. At an early age he engaged in the grocery business in Boston, having also a store at Nashua. Closing out that business he spent two years in California. In 1854 started in the printer's business at Dubuque, Iowa, and sold the first printing press used in Hastings. Engaged as a clerk in 1856 on the "Minnesotian," at St. Paul, remaining until 1859; thence to Cannon Falls where he was in the milling business until 1862. Settled next at Hastings and clerked in the office of register of deeds and auditor, previous to 1665. Has been justice of the peace since 1864. Was assessor in 1865 and took a state census the same year; was court commissioner in 1866-67-68, and police justice in 1872. Admitted to the bar during that year and has been in active practice since. Married Myra G. Smith in 1849. He has had six children, five of whom are living: Charles, Nettie, William, George and Mathias.

Page 304

Hon. Francis Marion Crosby

is descended from an old Massachusetts family. His parents Eliel and Grateful, nee Allen, Crosby, belonged to the agricultural class. Francis was born at Wilmington, Windham county, Vermont, November 13th, 1880. He was educated at the Wilmington high scbool and the Mount Caesar Seminary, Swanzey, New Hampshire, and was early a teacher himself. He read law with Hon. Oscar L. Shafter of Wilmington, since chief justice of California, and at Manchester, Vermont, with Hon. Daniel Roberts. He was admitted to the bar in December 1855, and began practice at Wilmington. He served in the session of the Vermont legislature for the same year, 1855, and also in the session of 1856. In May, of 1858, he settled at Hastings. During his residence in Dakota county, he has been city attorney of Hastings for two or three terms, and was judge of probate in 1860 and 1861. He was member of the school board from 1866 until he took his seat as judge of the first judicial district of Minnesota, January 1st, 1872. He was re-elected to this latter position without opposition for another term of seven years, at the election held in November, 1878. Judge Crosby has the reputation of being an able, conscientious and courteous jurist. Originally he was a free soiler in politics, but since the organization of the republican party he has been one of its staunch supporters. Judge Crosby was first married, in 1866, to Miss Helen Mar Sprague, of Cooperstown, New York. She died in 1869, leaving one child, Frank Noble. His present wife was Miss Helen M. Bates of Cherry Valley, New York; married in October 1872. By her he has three children: Howard Walworth, Marion Emma and Helen Bates.

Page 304

Eugene Dean

justice of the peace, was born in Ireland, in 1823. Came to America in 1850, and first worked on the Hudson River railroad, afterward worked in different parts of the country. In 1855, came to Hastings, purchased some lots, also preempted one hundred and sixty acres in Vermillion. Two years subsequently he was elected county treasurer, which office he held until 1860. The next four years herun a farm, and later engaged in grocery business. Was a member of school board in 1873, elected justice of the peace in 1876, and still continues in the office. His principal business at present is contracting. Has been twice married; his first wife, Ellen M. O'Connor, died in 1865; his present wife was Elizabeth Quirk of Illinois, married in 1866. James and Mary are children by his first; John, Francis Eugene and Johanna by present wife.

Page 304

W. H. DeKay

attorney at law, was born in Sullivan county, New York, November 4tb, 1845. When a mere child removed with his parents to McHenry County, Illinois. In 1859 removed to Hastings and attended school, also lived on a farm until 1864. He enlisted July 30th, 1864, in Second Minnesota Cavalry, serving until mustered out at Fort Snelling, May 11th, 1865. Returning to Hastings he read law with Eli Robinson a short time, then with Clagett and Crosby. Was admitted to the bar in 1870, and has been in active practice since. Was elected police justice in 1878 and re-elected in 1880. Married in 1874 to Miss Julia Van Inwegen, of New York. Richard H. and Frank C. are their children.

Page 304

Rev. John B. Donaldson

is of Scotch descent. His American ancestors were Pennsylvanians, and his great grandfather fell in the Revolutionary war. His father was a missionary at Bluffton, Indiana, where John was born, January 9th, 1852. He fitted for college at Elder's Ridge Academy in Pennsylvania, and entered Wabash college at Crawfordsville, Indiana, in 1870. Graduating from college four years later he entered Alleghany Theological Seminary, remaining one year, then completed his theological education at Union Seminary, New York city, graduating in 1877. He then was sent as a missionary to Ashland, Oregon. There helabored fifteen months with marked success. September 20th, 1880, Rev. Donaldson came to Hastings, having since remained as pastor of the Presbyterian church. He arrived in season to be instrumental in building the new edifice and to see every debt removed. In 1878 he was united in marriage with Mary, daughter of Rev. Dr. Sample of Minneapolis. They have one child, bearing the name, Robert Sample.

Page 304

Jacob Donndelinger

a native of Germany, was born December 6th, 1842. Came to this continent in 1866, and located in Jackson county, Iowa. In 1861, came to Hastings, and in August of the following year enlisted in Company F. Seventh Minnesota Infantry, serving until honorably discharged August, 1865. Returning to Dakota county he farmed in Douglass township until 1872, then came to Hastings, and was in the liquor and ice trade six years. In 1878 a partnership was formed with Mr. Ficker in brewing business, in which he still continues. Married Miss Emma Irrthum in 1865. Claudius, John, Peter, Mathias, Nicholas and Annie ate their children. His wife died in 1879, and he mar- ried in 1880, Mrs. Irrthum, of Germany. One child, Emma, was born to them.

Page 305

John Dudley

lumber merchant, was born in Milford, Penobscot county, Maine, June 20tb, 1814. He began in the lumbering business at the age of fourteen years, and has continued in it fifty-three consecutive years. During the fall of 1853, he removed to Michigan, remaining two years, thence to St. Anthony, Minn., and built a house in 1856. The same year he rented a mill at Prescott, Pierce county, Wisconsin, and has since manufactured lumber at that place. In 1870, located at Hastings, starting a lumberyard, which still continues. Established a yard at Cannon Falls in 1875; three years later one at Montevideo, Chippewa county; and in 1879, one at Appleton, Swift county. Mr. Dudley is still quite an extensive lumber dealer, it having been his life work. Hannah Babbage of Deer Isle, Maine, became his wife October 26th, 1838.

Page 305

John Duffy

a native of Ireland, was born in 1848. While young, acquired a common school education; afterward attended college. In 1867, came to America and clerked in a law office in New York three months; thence to Peoria, Illinois, and kept books for Dunn and Company six months. Coming thence to Hastings, he was deputy register of deeds for .N. F. W. Kranz. In 1873, he commenced his career as a printer, and engaged as editor for the Hastings Union., where he is still officiating.

Page 305

H. L. Durr

was born in France, in 1848. Came to America in 1854 with his parents. Went to Stearns county, Minnesota, and received his education at St. John's college, where he remained five years. At the age of fifteen taught school and has since taught different schools in Stearns and Dakota counties. In 1873 came to Vermillion and has since continued his vocation as teacher. Married M. A. Hammer l87l. Henry M., Edward, Mary B. and Jacob are their children.

Page 305

Joseph A. Ennis

is a native of New York, born in 1824. He was reared as a farmer, remaining at home until attaining majority. He with his father then engaged in railroad building and assisted in building the New York Central, also was engaged on the Erie canal. In 1851, came west and worked on the Illinois Central about two years. Returning to his former home, in 1855 he came to Minnesota with two brothers. They purchased lands in Dakota and Fillmore counties. In 1859, located in Hastings and in the spring he, with his brother Charles built the first wheat warehouse, which is situated on the levee, now occupied by Smith and Thompson. They speculated in wheat until 1870, when Charles returned east. On dividing the property Mr. Ennis retained the flouring mill on the Vermillion river, which they had previously erected. The warehouse still belongs to the estate of Charles, who is dead. In 1872, Mr. Ennis was married to Mrs. Thurber, who has borne him two children, Mattie P. and Mary S. They died within a month of each other, in 1881.

Page 305

John Estergreen

was born in Stockholm, Sweden, March 13th, 1826. He learned the trade of carriage maker there and worked at it until 1852, then came to America. Located in Illinois and worked at his trade in Chicago, Aurora and Rockford. In 1857, came to Hastings and established a blacksmithing and carriage making business, in which he has been interested since. While living at Rockford, Illinois, he married Eva Swanson, in 1856. Their children are, Franz, who is associated with his father in business; Emma V., Amanda and Jennie E.

Page 305

E. M. Everson

was born in Chenango county, New York, May 11th, 1846. Moved in 1858 to Lake City, Wabasba county, and clerked in a dry goods and general merchandise store until 1869. He next embarked in the drug trade on his own account, which hecontinued until 1871, then started in his present line of business, his stock consisting of dry goods, millinery and fancy goods. In October, 1880, he opened an extensive business in the same line at Hastings and intends next spring to add his Lake City stock. Married in 1866 to Julia Hurd. Two children have been born to them, Edwin L. and Julia L.

Page 306

D. E. Eyre

is a native of Northamptonshire, England. Came with his parents to America in early youth, and located at Galena, Illinois. Here he was reared and acquired his early education. In 1857, moved to Hastings and has since been in the dry goods trade. From 1872-76 he was a partner in the firm of Fletcher, Lorng and Eyre, of Minneapolis. Has also another store in Ortonville, Big Stone county; firm known as Eyre and Yanz. In 1869-70, he was mayor of Hastings, and in 1871 was elected to the legislature, serving two terms.

Page 306

James T. Fahy

was born in Lower Canada May 22, 1847. When a babe his parents moved to Ohio, where they remained three years, thence to Freeport, Illinois. In 1854, they removed to Dakota county, locating on a farm in Marshan township. Here James was reared. September 17th, 1864, he enlisted in Company A, First Minnesota Heavy Artillery, and was discharged at Nashville, Tennessee, June 23d, 1865. Remained in Tennessee, and engaged in various pursuits till 1868, then returned to Hastings and entered the employ of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway Company, continuing until 1880. He then became a partner of Thomas McDonald in saloon business. Mary A. King, a native of Ireland, became his wife in 1875. Mary A., Gertrude A., Clara B., and Lucy G. are their children.

Page 306

C. H. Ferry

was born in Lake county, Illinois, in 1850. Moved with his parents to Massachusetts, and stayed four years, then returned to Illinois for two years. In 1856 came to Hastings. His father took a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Marshan township, on which Mr. Ferry assisted nine years. Moving to Hastings he dealt in grain and horses, with his father, ten years. In 1879, engaged in livery business, the firm name being Richards and Ferry. Married Miss Etta Simmons, a native of Minnesota, in 1880.

Page 306

Wm. Felton

was born in 1802, June 15th, in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, and was educated as a farmer. In 1825, August 18th, he married Miss Mahala Dana, who was born October 16th, 1805, in Dutchess county, New York, and who had removed in 1812 to Susquehanna county, in Pennsylvania. There have been born to this now aged couple two sons and four daughters. One of the sons is at present in the south, one of the daughters is a resident of Rice county, another daughter is a pioneer in Dakota territory, as her mother was in Dakota county, while the remaining son and two daughters are living within a mile of their parents home. Beside children and grandchildren Mr. and Mrs. Felton have six great-grandchildren.

In 1852 the Feltons took boat from Pittsburg, Pennsylvania for Minnesota. The name of their craft was the Ben Campbell, and this was its first trip. Landing at Wabasha in June they remained there until September of 1852, when they came to Hastings. Mrs.Felton claims the honor of being the first white woman settler at this point. On arriving at Hastings Mr. Felton rented a log house, the first house built in the town, where he opened the first boarding house in the county. Mrs. Felton did the cooking for the first three families in Hastings. This log house was only 12xl6 feet in dimensions with a kitchen lOxl2 feet. In these narrow and primitive quarters Mr. and Mrs. Felton showed a generous hospitality and kindness to new comers and to every one, that will long be remembered and recounted. As many as forty-three persons have remained of a night in that little cabin, which was long ago pulled down. This house was also granted to the Catholics, as early as 1853, as a house of the Lord, and its walls re-echoed the holy mass. In the autumn of the same year Rev. T. R. Cressy, a Baptist clergyman, began holding meetings also at Mr. Felton's house. As Dido know no difference between Trojan or Tyrian, so the Feltons in the spirit of true liberality, made no discrimination in those early days between Catholic and Protestant. Mr. Felton was the first elected justice of the peace, and the little log house was in turn dedicated to the law as it had previously been to the church. Mr. Felton has also been coroner since 1866, and has held office longer than any other man in the county. In 1854 he built the first wharf and established the first ferry at Hastings across the Mississippi. He fixed the rate at ten cents and earned nothing at the commencement of his experiment, but the tide of immigration setting in strongly soon afterwards, he reports even so high as $15 as the receipts for a single day. In May of 1855, the Feltons made a claim in Nininger township, and have lived upon it since 1856, universally respected and esteemed.

Page 307

Peter Ficker

was born in Germany, February 17th, 1842. Came to the United States in 1860, first locating in Scott county, Minnesota, where he farmed four years. Thence he went to Douglass, Dakota county remaining until 1874. Here he held for several years the offices of assessor, justice of the peace, also was a member of the school board. In 1873 he was elected from the twentieth district to the legislature and served two terms. Coming to Hastings in 1874., he at once established himself in the brewing business with Mr. Kelnhofer, as proprietors of the Hastings City Brewery. Since becoming a resident of this city he has been a member of the city council and of the school board. Married in April, 1866, to Magdaline Irrthum of Luxemburg. Mary, Anna, Anthony, Nicholas and Matthias are their living children.

Page 307

Jeremiah E. Finch

president of the Minnesota State Medical Society, is a native of Woodstock, Province of Ontario, born November 22d, 1829. While quite young, the family moved to Long Point Bay, Norfolk county, on the shore of Lake Erie. There he was reared on a farm, receiving his education at Brockport Academy, New York where he spent two years. He read medicine at Toronto with Dr. John Rolfe. Once a member of the Canadian parliament; attended medical lectures in the same city, and graduated with the degree of M. D. in 1854. Dr. Finch practiced a few months in Du Page county, Illinois; one year at Beaver Darn, Wisconsin, and in November 1856, settled at Hastings. Here he has been in constant practice, except during one year's service in the Union army. He was appointed surgeon if the Seventh Minnesota Infantry in 1862, but losing his first-born child a year later, he resigned and hastened home. In his studies, the doctor has confined himself to his profession and its collateral branches. He is a close student and well posted, being an expert in both medicine and surgery. At a meeting of the State Medical Society, field in June, 1878, he was unanimously chosen president of the society, an act clearly indicating his standing among the medical fraternity of the state. He is a member of the American Medical Association, and was a delegate to its annual meeting, held in Philadelphia in 1872. He has been a frequent contributor to medical periodicals, and some of his papers have been reproduced in British journals. Dr. Finch was mayor of the city of Hastings one term; has been president of the local school board for the past eight or nine years, and always stands ready to lend a helping hand in advancing the educational interests of the city. He lectures to the students of the high school on anatomy, physiology, hygiene and physics. The unusually high grade of studies in this school is owing largely to his influence. He is a Knight Templar in the masonic order, and was grand lecturer one year, all the time he would consent to serve in that capacity, although elected for a term of five years. He has been married since the 10th of May, 1858, his wife being Mrs. Mary E. Holmes of Hastings. They have had three children. Only one of them, Albert A., survives.

Page 307

Denis Follett

assistant cashier of First National bank, was born in Knowstone parish, England, March 3d, 1840. Came to this continent in 1856, and forthwith came to Hastings, Minnesota, locating here. He engaged as book-keeper for the banking house of Follett and Rennick until 1864, when that firm merged into the First National bank of Hastings, Mr. Follett was made assistant cashier, which position he has since held. Married in 1871 to Abbie Williams, Boston, Massachusetts.

Page 307

C. E. Freeman

deceased, was born in Delaware county, New York, November 18th, 1824. For nine years previous to locating in Danville, Illinois, 1856, he was engaged in the mercantile business. Was paymaster for the Chicago and Carbon Coal Company three years. In 1859, kept a hotel in LaFayette, Indiana, came thence to Minneapolis, Minnesota, and was manager of the Nicollet house five and one-half years. Moved to Faribault, and for three years was in the dry-goods business, and there educated his children. In 1870, came to Hastings, and became manager of the Tremont house, where he died in 1881. Married in 1849, to Miss M. J. Bryant. Three children have been born to them: Frank is the only one living.

Page 307

E. Herbert Freeman

is a native of Hudson. Wisconsin, born February 26th, 1853. Accompanied his parents to Hastings, during the spring of 1865. Was reared on a farm, but farming being distasteful to him, he turned his attention to other means of procuring a livelihood. In September, 1870, apprenticed to the printer's trade in the office of the Hastings Union. During the summer of 1872, established a journal at Prescott, Wisconsin, called the Patriot, which existed only one year. In 1875, purchased W. R. Todd's interest in the Hastings Union, continuing as one of its editors five years. Established the Hastings Daily News in December, 1880. Mr. Freeman has been twice married, his first wife, Jeanie L. Smith, died in 1876, his present wife was Kate C. Ferry, married in 1879.

Page 308

Doctor R. Freeman

was born in Orleans county, New York, in 1818. Here he was reared until twenty-two years as a farmer, also devoted some time to the study of medicine. Went to Ohio and remained ten years, thence to Iowa, continuing his former occupation. In 1855, came to Minnesota and located at Hastings in 1875. His medical education was received through the study of human nature and observation. He has an electro-thermal bath institution. Has been twice married and has seven living children by his first wife. In 1867,married Mrs. Topping. His eldest son is a surgeon in Kansas.

Page 308

J. P. Frye

of the firm of Meyer, Whitman and Frye, was born in Franklin township, Wilwaukee county, Wisconsin, April 16th, 1855. At the age of ten years removed to Pierce county, Wisconsin, remaining till 1872, and there received his education. Locating at that time in Hastings, he clerked in a grocery two months, then taught school in Vermillion six months. Returning to Hastings, he clerked for H. Gillitt four years, then became a partner of the firm of Meyer, Whitman and Frye.

Page 308

Stephen Gardner

is a native of Massachusetts, and was born at Bolton, on the 7th of December, 1806. Stephen was the eldest son of a family of eleven children and was carefully educated and fitted to enter Harvard college, at the age of twenty-one years, but chose a different career from the one marked out, and did not take a collegiate course. He determined to seek a home in the West, and leaving home in December. 1827, passed the winter in New England, and in April, 1828, went to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and found employment in the salt works. In 1829, he made a trip on a flatboat down the Ohio and Mississippi rivers to New Orleans. He there became subject to chills and fever which unfitted him for business, and obliged him to seek a more healthy climate. He accordingly came to St. Louis and was for a time in the hospital. In the spring of 1831, he volunteered in the United States service for forty-five days, and served as private under General Gaines in the Black Hawk war. In 1832 he supplied steamboats with wood, thus laying the foundation for the large property he now owns. He next engaged in mercantile business at Columbia, Illinois, and met with great success. He was appointed postmaster by president Jackson, and held the office ten years. He was also engaged in milling business, running both grist and sawmills, first by ox-power and afterwards by steam. In 1864 he removed to Hastings and purchased the mill site at Vermillion Falls, including about one hundred acres of land, and the same year, erected a large stone mill. In 1873 he built a mill at Cannon Falls, Goodhue county. In addition to his milling interests, he is also largely interested in banking, and is president of the First National bank at Hastings, and the First National at Cannon Falls, in both of which he is a large stock-bolder. He was first married in 1848, to Miss Alice Cleghorn of New York, by whom he had one son, Lyman Shaw; both wife and child died of cholera in 1849. In 1850 hewas married to Miss Louise S. Ingalls, of Griffin, Georgia, by whom he has six children living, having lost one in infancy. Achsah, the eldest daughter, is the wife of Charles Espenschied of St. Louis, Missouri, who is the manager of the Vermillion mill; Abby was married in 1876, to Samuel W. Mairs, of New Jersey; Stephen P., the eldest son, was married to Julia Brewster, of Chicago, Illinois, in 1877; Clara Louise, the fourth daughter, is an artist, having completed her studies at the celebrated school of Miss Putriam, in Boston, Massachusetts, and has since traveled in Europe and the Holy Land; George and Fred are the two youngest sons, and are now completing their education. Mr. Gardner is eminently a self-made man, having accumulated a large property, through his untiring personal efforts. Until quite recently he has been able to give his personal attention to active business, though having passed the alloted three score and ten years.

Page 309

J. H. Gieske

is a native of Germany, born June 6th, 1839. Came to America in 1844, to Elgin, Kane county, Illinois. When twenty-one years of age enlisted in the Fourth Missouri Cavalry as lieutenant under Captain Myers, who, in consequence of deafness, was discharged, Mr. Gieske being promoted to fill the position. Participated in many battles, and after the battle of Pittsburgh Landing, was promoted to the rank of colonel of the Fourth Missouri, and was honorably discharged at St. Louis, May 10th, 1865. Returning home, he was ice dealer fifteen years, and was an Auctioneer in his native state twenty years. In 1879, came to Hastings, and has since been manager of the Western hotel. Married Sophia Weber in 1859. John L. F., August C, Herman H., Ameail I., Walter C., Will. N., and Matilda are their living children.

Page 309

Harvey Gillitt

was born in New York in 1830. Attended school until fourteen years of age, then accompanied his parents to Adrian, Michigan. Soon after the father died, and for one year Harvey worked the farm on shares. He afterward learned the blacksmith's trade, following it three years. In 1849, went to Fond du Lac, Wisconsin; thence to La Crescent, Minnesota, in 1851, making him one of the earliest settlers. He made a claim and lived in a shanty two years, then built a log house. In 1855, laid out a town and won succeeded in seeing there about three hundred settlers. During the summer of that year sold his interests to what was known as the Kentucky Company, then went to La Crosse, Wisconsin, and, with his brother, purchased the steamer "Adelia," which they ran between St. Paul and St. Louis. In 1856, bought Henry G. Bailly's addition to Hastings for $14,500, and soon after sold for $32,480. Two years later traded the steamer for Hastings property. In 1670, bought out D. W. Truax, and opened a general merchandise store, in which business he is still engaged. A stock company, called the Hastings Publishing Company, was formed in 1875, being incorporated tinder the state laws for the general printing business, and a paper was started called the New Era, with Mr. Gillett as manager. The following year he purchased the entire stock, and in April, 1880, sold a one-half interest to U. M. Thomas. Married in 1857 to Georgia R. Shubert, of Philadelphia. Ella B.. Clara A., George H., William H., Ernest L. and Fred C. are their children.

Page 309

William Gillitt

was born in Onondaga county, New York, June 19th, 1832. In 1862, came to Wisconsin with his brother and helped to organize the town of La Crescent, near La Crosse. Removed to Hastings in 1858, and for several years was captain on the Mississippi. He afterward engaged in other enterprises in Dakota county, until purchasing his present valuable property. Captain Gillitt is better known among his fellow townsmen for his generous and modest demeanor than as the recipient of public honors or great wealth.

Page 309

A. H. Gilkey

a native of Indiana, was born in Columbus, Bartholomew county. March 17tb, 1855. When ten years of age came with his parents to Hastings and was reared as a farmer. He started in the pump and drive-well business on his own account in April, 1880, although still interested in agriculture. Ella C. Temple, of this city, became his wife in April, 1878.

Page 309

S. U. Greiner

was born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, October 9th, 1839. He was reared in his native place and learned the carpenter's trade. In 1869, removed to Minnesota and worked it his trade in different parts of the state until 1862, then permanently settled in Hastings. Continued at his trade until 1864, then engaged in wheat buying, and three years later returned to his trade. In l877, became a partner of Mr. Johnson, the firm being Johnson and Greiner, hardware dealers. Married, in 1868, to Sarah L. Johnson who has borne him two children, Frank L. and Harry S.

Page 309

Rev. James B. Halton

priest of the Church of the Guardian Angels, is a native of County Meath, Ireland, born August 4th, 1844. Acquired his preliminary education at a classical school in his native county. In 1861 he came to America and at once entered St. Charles college, in Baltimore, Maryland, where he remained until graduating in 1866. Entering St. Vincent's college at Cape Girardeau, Missouri, he studied for the priesthood until 1868, being then called to St. Paul, Minnesota, by the bishop to prepare for ordination. In June, 1868, hewas ordained, and the next month was sent to Hastings which has been the field of his labors since.

Page 310

George Hampton

was born in Cumberland county, Now Jersey, April 6th, 1838. Here he resided until 1857, then came to Dakota countv, Minnesota, locating at Randolph. Engaged in farming till 1861, then removed to Vermillion township and turned his attention to agriculture and stock raising. While there held tile offices of town clerk and director of schools. Removing thence to Hastings he has since been farming. Was a member of the school board of Hastings three years. Married in 1863 to Ruth Butcher, of Cumberland county, New Jersey.

Page 310

Jerome Hanna

was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1843. When ten years old came with his parents to Nininger township, Minnesota. His father preempted one hundred and sixty acres and built a house receiving his lumber from Stillwater, there being none nearer at that time. Jerome attended school at Nininger, and when nineteen years old enlisted ill tile Second Minnesota Cavalry. serving fourteen months, was honorably discharged at Fort Ridgely in 1864. About five years later., in company with his brother, bought eighty acres and have since added by purchase, having now six hundred and fifteen acres. He came to Hastings in October 1879, and rented a home. where he still resides. Miss Julia Browning became his wife in 1869. She has born him two children Nellie L. and Mary T.

Page 310

G. H. Hawes, M.D.

was born in Weymouth, Massachusetts, November 19th. 1832. Here he was reared and in 1855, removed to St. Anthony, Minnesota, engaging in mercantile pursuits until 1860. For six years after, gave his attention to lumbering. He then commenced the study of medicine, with Dr. Higbee of Red Wing, Minnesota, afterwards graduating as M. D. from Hahnemann College of Chicago, Illinois. After three years practice in Iowa, Dr. Hawes located in Hastings in 1875, where he has since been in practice. Married in 1857, to Mary E. Pratt of River Falls, Wisconsin. Ellen M. and Arthur B. are their living children.

Page 310

O. T. Hayes

was born in New London, Merrimack county,.New Hampshire, December 2d.1827. Was reared in his native place and received his early instruction. Early in life he embarked in mercantile pursuits, having three stores, one of which was in his native town. He first read law with Samuel Butterfield of Andover, New Hampshire, remaining with him four years. He was also postmaster and justice of the peace at George's Mills, Sullivan county, which offices heheld until coming to Ratings during the fall of 1853. Was practicing law and dealing in real estate; also appointed county attorney of Goodhue county by Governor Gorman. In l855,was made county attorney of Dakota county, also postmaster. The latter position he resigned soon after. Was one of the first aldermen in Hastings and Mayor in 1860. At the first call for volunteers in 1861, he assisted in raising Company H. First Minnesota Infantry, with which company he went out as first lieutenant. After the battle of Bull Run, was ministered out on account of physical disability. In March, 1863, was commissioned major of the First Minnesota Cavalry, by Governor Ramsey, serving until mustered out at Fort Snelling in December 1863. Returning to Hastings he resumed his practice but soon retired in consequence of declining health. He was a member of the legislature in 1863, has been justice of the peace several years; was elected court commissioner in 1880. He was admitted to the bar of supreme courts in 1854, at Hastings, and is now the oldest lawyer in Dakota county. Mr. Hayes has been twice married. Lucina A. Emerson, his first wife died in 1858, leaving two children, Henry H. and Lucina A.; his second wife was Mary C. Matthews, married in 1859. Kate and Archie M. are children by his second wife.

Page 310

John H. Heath

clerk of district court, was born in Cortland county, New York, January 11th, 1832. At the age of six years. removed to Knox county, Ohio and resided there with his parents until 1848. Removed thence to Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, and clerked in a general merchandise store, shortly after being made a partner with his father in the same business. Subsequently was for three years engaged in farming in Iowa, then in 1864, came to Hastings. In 1876, received the appointment as clerk of district court, which position he still occupies. He is agent for the American and United States Express companies the Diamond Joe line of steamers. His marriage with Virginia Stultz of New York, occurred in 1853. Henry M., Anna, George M., Hattie M., Leila and William M. are their children.

Page 311

Michael Heinen

county auditor, was born in Prussia, October 28th, 1846. Immigrated to the United States with his parents in 1857, and first settled near St. Paul, Minnesota. He was here reared on his father's farm, and was educated in the schools of Ramsey county. In 1865, came to Vermillion, Dakota county, and engaged in farming. Held the office of town clerk of Vermillion four years and was chairman of the board of supervisors two years. During the fall of 1872 was elected county auditor and still holds that position. Married in 1871 to Elizabeth Schwartz, who has borne him five children: Magdalene, Barbara, Josephine, Mary and Catherine.

Page 311

P. A. Heitz, M. D.

is a native of Germany, born February 12th, 1820. Acquired his education in his native country and graduated from the University of Heidelberg with the degree of M. D., in 1846. Practiced there until coming to this continent in 1847. Located at Malta, Ohio, practicing one year; thence to Hannibal. Missouri, and practiced until July, 1880. He then removed to Hastings and is here permanently located. He was elected vice-president of the State Medical Association of Missouri, being still a member; is also a member of the Marion County, Missouri, Medical Society. Mary J. Webster, of Georgetown, D. C., became his wife in June, 1844. Louis, Anna, John, Homer, Mary, Orma, Elizabeth and Phillip are their children.

Page 311

Henry Hetherington

is a native of Ireland, born January 1st, 1825. At an early age he immigrated to Upper Canada, remaining there until 1862. He then came to Point Douglas, Minnesota, thence the year following to Hastings, making a claim, on which he lived two years. Subsequently, he was made deputy sheriff of Dakota county, continuing as such five years. In 1862, enlisted in Company G, Second Minnesota Infantry, and was mustered out on account of disability at the hospital at Keokuk, Iowa, in 1863. Returning to Hastings, he remained until December of that year, then enlisted in Company F, Second Minnesota Cavalry. Was discharged for disability after one year of service. Returned again to Hastings, and was elected justice of the peace, which office he has held many years. He married Adeline Legg, of Canada, in 1846. George J., Emily S., Ruby M., Henry F., Theresa S., Gordon R., and Christopher C. are their living children.

Page 311

William Hodgson

attorney at law, was born at Elizabeth, Jo Daviess county, Illinois, May 29th, 1847. His father visited Dakota county, Minnesota, in 1854, and being favorably impressed returned for his family. The following, year they settled in Green Vale township, after preempting one hundred and sixty acres. Here William was reared by working on the farm during summer, and attending school winters. December 8th, 1863, he enlisted in Company F, Second Minnesota Cavalry, and served until mustered out at Fort Snelling, December 5th, 1865. After returning home, he resumed his studies attending Hamline University three terms. Commenced the study of law at Red Wing, with Phelps and Tabor, being admitted to the bar in July, 1870. Began his practice in Farmington, continuing there until establishing himself at Hastings in 1874. In the spring of 1880, was elected city attorney. Married in September, 1870, to Drucilla S. Hutchinson, of Manchester, England: Lawrence C. and Edith C. are their living children. Mrs. Hodgson died in May, 1878.

Page 311

Michael Hoffman

was born in Luxemburg, November 16th, 1852. Was telegraph operator in his native country, and in 187 1, came to America, proceeding to Dubuque, Iowa, remaining until 1874. At that time came to Hastings to locate, choosing the liquor trade as a means of livelihood. Married in Hastings, in 1877, to Miss Susie Kohler; Peter and Katie are their living children.

Page 311

David Hone

one of the oldest living pioneers of Minnesota, was born in Otsego county, New York, April 5th, 1808, his father being one of the early pioneers of that county. In 1837, he removed to Madison county, Illinois and the next year began farming, continuing only a short time. He then moved to Washington county, Minnesota, and made a claim by cutting his name on a tree where Marine Mills now stands. Returned for his family, and came back during the spring of 1839, making the trip from St. Louis to the head waters of the St. Croix by boat in twenty-five days. After a short time spent in lumbering interests, removed in 1840, to Gray Cloud Island, and for three years engaged in farming. During the spring of 1843, located at Point Douglas, and in July of the same year, commenced building the old Union house which was finished in 1844, it being the first all frame building in the state. This he managed five years, then rented it. In 1871, came to Hastings. In 1876, heretired from active pursuits in consequence of failing health. Mr. Hone was formerly magistrate at Gray Cloud Island, and took a territorial census in 1849. Married in 1838 to Mary A. Henry, who died in 1854, leaving three children. Edward A., John H. and Emmett M. He married Miss E. B. Barnes in 1865.

Page 312

N. C. Johnson

son of Chauncey Johnson, one of the old pioneers of this county, was born in Lorain county, Ohio, June 28tb, 1842. When a child he removed with his parents to Knox county, Ohio, residing there until 1864. The family then removed to Hastings, taking also a claim in Marshan township. August 12th 1862, Mr. Johnson enlisted in Company F, Seventh Minnesota Infantry, and served until mustered out at Fort Snelling in September, 1865. Returning to Hastings, he gave his attention to the grocery trade, and afterward to various other pursuits. He was the first fireman on the Hastings and Dakota division of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railway. He is now with the firm of Johnson and Greiner, well known hardware dealers. Married in November 1867, to Julia A. Thomas of Indiana. Merlin is their only child.

Page 312

P. T. Judge

was born in Vermont. December 25th, 1849. When but six years old he accompanied his parents to this county, who made a claim in Marshan township. His father froze to death in Marshan, in 1858, and the next spring the family removed to Hastings. Here Mr. Judge attended school until fifteen years old, then, deciding to learn a trade, apprenticed to Mr. Warsop in his foundry. To perfect himself in his chosen trade, he afterward worked in St. Paul, St. Louis, Jersey City and Worcester. In 1875 he again returned to Hastings and purchased the old shop in which he first began his trade. This he has since owned and operated, having all the necessary machinery to do any work in his line of business. In 1874 he married Miss F. E. Canning at Hastings. Frank is their only child.

Page 312

Edmond Kane

a native of County Limerick, Ireland, was born in 1839. After acquiring a common school education, he learned the black-smith's trade, working at it Three years. In 1852, came to America and for three years made his home and worked at his trade in Alton, Illinois. He afterward visited other places in the pursuit of his trade. During the war was employed three years as blacksmith in Curtis' division. He then embarked in business for himself in Hastings and in 1880, took a partner, the firm being Kane and Cavanaugh. Mr. Kane owns two hundred and sixty acres in Vermillion township. Married to Kate Shay in 1860. John, Ellen, Patrick, William and Mary are their children.

Page 312

John Kennedy

postmaster, was born September 22d, 1827, in Canada West. Here he was reared and received his education at the public and normal schools. He afterwards taught school several years. In 1853, came to Traverse de Sioux, Minnesota. The next spring he went to Mendota, Dakota county, and was book-keeper for General Sibley until January, 1856. He then resigned to take the office of register of deeds, having been elected during the fall of 1855. This position he held six years. In August, 1862, he organized Company F. Seventh Minnesota Infantry, paying all the expenses of organizing, as to uniforms, arms, transportation, etc., the company being mustered in at Fort Snelling, with Mr. Kennedy as captain. Served until mustered out at Fort Snelling August 16th, 1865, with the rank of major, which hereceived March 13th, 1865, for gallant conduct at the battle before Nashville, Tennessee. Returning to Hastings after the war, he was elected in 1866 auditor of Dakota county, which office he held until entering upon his duties as postmaster of Hastings in 1873.

Page 312

Charles King

was born on the Isle of Man in 1814. Went to school until fourteen years of age, then learned the pointers' trade, serving an apprenticeship of seven years. Worked at his trade ten years, and in 1854, came to America, proceeding to Minnesota. In 1666, built a house on his claim, where his family resided, while he followed his trade in Hastings. Was appointed teacher of district No. 33, he being the first teacher in the township. In 1860, moved his family to Hastings and purchased his present place of residence. Entered the war as overseer in the quarter-master's department and remained one year, then returned home. He has since followed his trade, and has the reputation of being a first-class painter. Married Mary Clague in 1840. Mary A., Lizzie E., Ellen J., and Wm. C. are their children.

Page 313

Charles Knocke

merchant tailor, a native of Germany, was born in 1836. He was reared to manhood in his native country, and in November, 1861, embarked for America, landing at New York. Early in 1862, removed to St. Paul, Minnesota, where he worked it his trade until 1868. At that time came to Hastings, and was foreman of the tailoring department of the "New York Store" of Hastings. Subsequently, he established himself in the merchant tailoring business, in which he has since continued. His first wife was Leah Coleman. Married in Germany in 1860. After his wife's death, he married again in 1871. Harry, Helen and Vernie are his children.

Page 313

N. F. W. Kranz

the subject of this sketch, was born in Nusbaum (Province of Trees) Prussia, March 3d, 1841. He came to America with his parents in 1851, living at Hastings-upon-Hudson, until 1856. His father, Nicholas Kranz, having come to Hampton, in this county, as one of the first settlers, his son followed him in August, 1856. Mr. Kranz lived in Hampton for eleven years, holding the office of town clerk for the eight years after he was of age. He was early identified with the educational interests of the country, teaching the first school in the town of Hampton in the winter of 1856. He continued to teach for the next ten years in districts No. 60 and 62. In those primitive days the school-house was built of logs, and contained no chairs, bench or other educational appliance. The pupils sat upon the ground, and the master was also obliged to choose between that position and standing. Mr. Kranz led the life of a farmer at Hampton, living on a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, made early by his father, and added to afterwards, by purchase. In 1864, he was married to Miss Anna M. Bohr. Receiving the election as register of deeds for Dakota county, heremoved to Hastings in December of 1867, where he has since resided, retaining the same office. He was instrumental in building the German Catholic church, and German parish school of Hastings, as well as, with his father, in building the first Catholic church in the county, at New Trier. Mr. Kranz has brothers, John, Charles, Matthew and P. F. Kranz. It is from this family that Kranzburg, Dakota territory, derives its name.

Page 313

J. B. Lambert

was born in Bucksport, Hancock county, Maine, May 17th. 1845. While an infant, his parents removed to Waldo county of the same state. Here was his home until 1863, when he enlisted in Company 1, Fourth Maine Infantry, and served until mustered out at Fort Schuyler, New York, in May, 1865. Returning to Waldo county, hetaught music until 1866; thence to Hastings and continued teaching school and music until 1871, when he started a music store. He has added to his present extensive stock by degrees. Mr. Lambert was mayor of Hastings from 1878-80, serving two terms. Married in 1871, to Mrs. Barbara Schaller.

Page 313

C. H. L. Lange

grain dealer, and one of the prominent firm of Kellogg and Lange, was born in Germany, February 17th. 1832. Came to the United States in 1852 and located at Galena, Illinois, where he was employed as book-keeper in a wholesale grocery house until 1858. Removed to Bellevue, Iowa, and established a general merchandise trade, continuing until June, 1861; then organized company 1, Fifth Iowa Infantry, and served as its captain ten months. Upon receiving news that his wife was dying and being refused a leave of absence he resigned his commission. He moved to Hastings with his family in 1862 and has since been a prominent wheat dealer. The new elevator erected by the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railway company has been rented by himself and partner and is intended for a transfer elevator, to heused principally in connection with the Hastings and Dakota division. Kellogg and Lange have also other elevators on this division. Frederica Rehse of Germany, became the wife of Mr. Lange in 1853. William T., Charles T., Jacob II., Adele and Anna are their children.

Page 313

William Lee

was born in Manchester, Massachusetts, July 21st, 1812. At the age of fifteen he went to Ipswich and learned the carpenter's trade, at which he worked until 1833. He then entered Phillips Academy remaining two years, afterward entered Dartmouth College, New Hampshire and remained three years, paying his tuition and supporting himself by labor at his trade during vacations. He next taught school at New London; was selectman of the town and justice of the peace, and held the latter office until coining to Hastings in 1854. He was a contractor and builder until 1870, and built one of the first, if not the first frame dwelling in Hastings. Was a member of the first city council two years, and since 1874, has been county constable. Married in 1839 to Lydia Dow of New Hampshire. Sarah and Nancy A. are the living children. His wife died in 1876 and three years later he was married to Mrs. A. M. Lavery, of New York city.

Page 314

Charles B. Lowell

one of the Dakota county pioneers, was born in Chautauqua county, New York, October 2d, 1829. He was educated at Fredonia Academy, and in 1851, studied law with F. A. Madison of Fredonia, but decided to adopt civil engineering. He served in that capacity next year on the Buffalo and State Line railroad. In 1853, went south and taught in Kentucky and Tennessee. Coming thence to St. Paul, Minnesota, early in 1855, serving in the city survey for a short time, then came to Hastings. New as the first city surveyor of Hastings, elected in 1856. Was elected county surveyor, 1863, and reelected five consecutive terms on the republican ticket, though the county was largely democratic. He is at present engaged in engineering and agricultural pursuits, and is agent for the Northwestern Endowment and Legacy Association; is a fluent speaker and well versed in the politics of the day. Married in 1857 to Mary G. Crane of his native county. Their children are Arthur J. and Charles S.

Page 314

Jacob Mares

was born in Prussia, March 9th, 1839. He received his early instruction and grew to manhood in his native place, and in 1858, came to America, landing in New York city. He immediately proceeded to Wisconsin, residing in that state until 1860. Removed thence to Belle Plaine, Minnesota, making this place his home until 1869, then came to Hastings. Here he started in the grocery trade for himself, having since continued. Married to Miss Swigley, January 5th, 1862. Their children are Josephine, Andrew, Mary, Nicholas, Jacob and John.

Page 314

Charles Mather

Son of Alonzo Mather, one of the oldest settlers of Hastings, was born at Beloit, Rock county, Wisconsin, June 17th, 1850. When seven years old he came to Hastings with his parents, since making this his home. At the age of fourteen he engaged as clerk in a leading dry-goods House of Hastings, remaining seven years; afterward clerked in other lines of trade until 1877, then started in the grocery and crockery business. His father was also interested. Mr. Mather is at present city clerk of Hastings. In 1874,married Lucy Bechner of Galveston, Texas. Helen, Agnes and Shirley are their children.

Page 314

John McDonald

was born in St. Louis, Missouri, February 25th, 1847. The same year his father, Thomas McDonald removed to Point Douglas and engaged in farming. The lives of himself and wife came to a sad end, both being drowned while crossing on the ferry from Hastings in February, 1858. John remained on the farm until December, 1863, then enlisted in Company F, Second Minnesota Cavalry, serving until discharged for disability at Fort Ridgely in 1866. Returning to the old homestead, after one year, removed to Stillwater and gave his attention W lumbering for eight years; thence to the Pacific coast for two years. Locating at Hastings in 1876, he purchased one-half interest in the ferry, which hesold in 1880, and started a fine livery stable on Vermillion street.

Page 314

Thomas McDonald

was born in St. Louis, Missouri, December 9th, 1843. When a child of four years of age his parents removed to Point Douglas, Minnesota, and engaged in agricultural pursuits. Thomas remained on the farm until July 15th, 1861, then enlisted in Company H, Second Minnesota Infantry, and served until December 27th,1863. He then enlisted in the same company as a veteran and served until mustered out with the regiment at Fort Snelling, July 11th, 1865. Returning to civil life he came to Hastings, and for one year was a farmer, then was in mercantile pursuits till his stock was burned in 1871. After railroading one year, he in 1873, started a saloon in which hestill continues. Alice N. Jennison, of Boston, Massachusetts, became his wife in September, 1865. Five children have been born to them: Cora R., Effie M., Abbie P., Grace and Amy.

Page 314

Michael McHugh

was born in Brooklyn, New York, January 8th , 1826. Here he grew to manhood and learned the trade of tinsmith. Continued at his trade there except two years at Philadelphia, until coming to Hastings in May, 1856. He followed his trade until 1861, then built a store at his present location, and started in the hardware business. Was for several years connected with the school board, and was instrumental in converting the system of common schools to the present graded schools. In 1846, married Mary Casey, of Brooklyn, New York. James P. Mary J. and Agnes C. are their children. Margaret A., who died in May, 1874, was a well-known and popular teacher in the schools of Hastings.

Page 315

John McNiff

an old settler, was born in Ireland, March 18th, 1806. Immigrated to Quebec, Canada, and soon after to Upper Canada. During the fall of the same year, removed to Richmond, Virginia; here engaged in different pursuits until the spring of 1840, then went to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. On May 23d, enlisted in the United States army and after serving one year in the Florida wars, was ordered to Fort Snelling in 1841, serving the balance of his term of enlistment. In 1845, came to Point Douglas, Minnesota, and until 1856, engaged in farming, then came to Hastings, and has since been a resident. Mr. McNiff also served in the late rebellion., enlisting in Company F, Second , Minnesota Cavalry in December, 1963, being discharged for disability at fort Ridgely during the winter of 1864. He has been twice married. Margaret J. and Catherine are his daughters by his first wife. His present wife was Mary Perkins of Ireland, married in 1859. Julia A. is their only offspring.

Page 315

John C. Meloy

was born in Cambria county, Pennsylvanie, March 14th, 1824. Removed to Baltimore, Maryland in 1838 and worked at house and sign painting till 1845. The following year went to Pottsville, making that place his home till 1850. Returning to his native county, embarked in the coal trade, and in May 1856, came to Hastings. Subsequently was elected county auditors serving two terms. Next engaged in the sale of agricultural implements and probably sold the first machinery in Hastings. In 1862, A. W. Gardner became his partner, the firm still continuing as Gardner and Meloy. They are also agents for the Keokuk Northern Line Packet Company, and are largely interested in buying and storing wheat. Mr. Meloy is also vice-president of the First National bank of Hastings. Elizabeth O'Regan of Ireland became his wife in 1848. Eight children have been born to them; the living are, Charles J., Kate E., H. Vincent and Rose.

Page 315

F. W. Meyer

merchant, is a native of Germany, born May 19th, 1851. In his native land his youth was passed, and in 1870 he came to this continent, landing in New York city. Came directly to Hastings, where he has since resided, having no relatives this side of the ocean. In 1877 the firm of Meyer, Whitman and Frye, dealers in dry-goods and clothing, was formed, they being the heaviest firm in Hastings. Mr. Meyer is a single man.

Page 315

James S. Mills

was born at Worcester, Massachusetts, November 20th, 1855. His parents having died during his childhood, he was placed tinder guardians; with them he came to Rochester, Minnesota, and was kept in school until reaching the age of seventeen years. He then ran away from his home to Mason City, Iowa, to learn the printer's trade. Returned to Rochester three years subsequently, immediately assuming the editorship of the "Reed's Landing Press" Retained this position one year; then relinquished it to accept that of editor and foreman of the "Wabasha Herald". Two years later he came to Hastings as editor of the "New Era," and after three years experience he resigned, and now is one of the editors of the "Hastings Daily News." October 31st, 1880, he married Celina Chiquet of this city.

Page 315

Barthel Miller

was born in Prussia in 1848. After receiving a common school education, in 1867, came to America. For one year he clerked in a book-store in Chicago; thence to Minnesota and clerked in a shoe-store. In 1870 he located at Hastings, and after working in a shoe-store, began that business for himself. Has since been manager of several hotels; finally, in 1880, he purchased the City hotel where he now is. He married Miss Mary Schiltz in 1872.

Page 315

William Moorhouse

born March 8th, 1830, is a native of Beckwith, Canada. He was reared as a farmer, and in 1835,removed to Leeds county, remaining until 1848; then entered the mercantile business at Perth as clerk. In 1851 he took charge of a branch store at Lanark, which he soon purchased. In 1861 he came to Nininger, Minnesota, and ran a saw mill with D. W. Truax. Came to Hastings in 1863, and was one of the firm of Truax, Moorhouse and Knowlton, interested in what is now the Libbey lumber-mill. He next went into the grocery trade, continuing until 1868; then engaged in selling agricultural implements. Since 1870 he has been largely connected with millinery and fancy goods. He has been one of the elders of the Presbyterian church since 1873. Mr. Moorhouse has been twice married; his present wife was Miss Sarah Van Auken, a native of New York, who in 1864 established a millinery trade in Hastings. Isabella, Clare E. and Emma F. E. are his daughters by his first wife.

Page 316

Stephen Newell

born in 1826, is a native of Ireland. Was educated in the Irish national schools, and for one year was employed as clerk by the government. In l847 he came to America, proceeding to Rhode Island, where he learned the carpenter's trade, and followed it until 1851, then for three years was in Chicago. In 1854, came to Burnsville, Dakota county, and took charge of his father's farm of one hundred and sixty acres. His father died in 1855. Four years later he was elected to the legislature, and held his seat only thirty days, being displaced by the whole vote of Burnsville being thrown out. He held the office of school clerk until 1862; in the fall of the same year he was elected sheriff of Dakota county, and held the office until 1877; then resigned in consequence of ill health. In 1863 he removed his family to Hastings, where he now resides. Married, in 1858, Ann, Killelia, Frank, Mary, Annie, John, Joseph, Kate, Stephen and Vincent are their children.

Page 316

John P. Newton

was born in London, England, February 12th, 1840. When ten years old ran away from home and came to the United States; after a short stay in the states of New Hampshire and Massachusetts, succeeded in coming west. He first learned the printer's trade at Prescott, Wisconsin. He worked later on the Minnesotian at St. Paul. Came to Hastings in 1860 and worked on the Conserver until 1861, then enlisted in Company B, Sixth Wisconsin Infantry, and served until mustered out at Central Park hospital, at New York, during the fall of 1863. Returning to Hastings, he worked at his trade on the Hastings Democrat; subsequently clerked in the auditor's office three years. Kept a restaurant two years, and in 1871, was chief of police. In 1875 was elected police justice, which office he held until elected sheriff of the county in 1878. Married in 1866, Ella Ware, a native of England: John E. and Margaret L. are their living children.

Page 316

George W. Noesen

is a native of Luxemburg, Germany, born February 2d, 1842. Came with his parents to this country in early youth and first located at Port Washington, Wisconsin. Here he remained and received his early education, afterward attending Delavan College. In 1862, went to Lake Superior country as salesman for a grocery house, and remained until 1866. Returning to his home, he began the dry-goods business, continuing till 1869; thence, after receiving a commercial education at Chicago, Bryant and Stratton's College, to Reeds Landing, Minnesota and clerked for a short time. For five years was in the drug business then went to Red Wing in the same line of trade. Coming to Hastings in 1879, the well-known firm of Noesen and Funk was formed, dealers in drugs, paints, oils, etc. Married Mary Delfeld in 1873. Their living children are Mary A. and Adolph G.

Page 316

Samuel Norrish

of the firm of Thorne and Norrish, druggist, was born in Devonshire, England, November 2d, 1818. He engaged as a tiller of soil until 1873. Immigrated at that time to the United States, and has since been a resident of Hastings, being principally interested in wheat speculation. He has a grain elevator on the Hastings and Dakota division of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railway. In November, 1878, he became a partner in the present firm. In 1847, married Mary A. Fisher, of England. Their living children are Alfred P., John F., Frank F., Ellen F. and Kate M.

Page 316

Daniel O'Brien

is a native of Kilkenny county, Ireland, born in 1839, was raised as a farmer. In 1858, came to America with his father and settled in Rice county, Minnesota. Enlisted in 1862, with his two brothers in Company H, Tenth Minnesota Volunteers, and served three years; was honorably discharged at Fort Snelling, in August, 1865. He returned home and soon after bought one hundred acres in Empire township. He farmed until elected treasurer of Dakota county in 1876. Married Mary Casey in 1868. Their children are Julia, Mary, Maggie, Agnes, Matilda, Stephen and Daniel.

Page 317

C. Otte

a native of Germany, was born in 1852. Was with his father in business in the mercantile trade. Came across to America in 1856, and located in Hampton township with his father and remained until 1869, they having four hundred and sixty acres. On locating at Hastings, he learned the carriage-making trade and worked at it until 1876. Opened the hotel where he now is in 1877. Kate Swartz became his wife in 1876. Frank and Mary are their children.

Page 317

E. G. Otte

son of the early settler of Hastings, August Otte, who died in 1869, was born in Germany August 13th, 1854. Came to the United States in 1857, locating first in Hampton, Minnesota, engaged in farming. In 1870, moved to Hastings, and for six years was clerk in register of deeds office. Filled the position of book-keeper of the First National bank one and one- half years. In 1879, became a partner in the firm of Beltz and Otte, dealers in hardware, leather, etc. He and Miss Charlotte Reinhardt, of Hastings, were united in marriage in 1876. Fred and Edwin are their children.

Page 317

Benjamin Pringle

the pioneer hardware dealer of Hastings, is a native of this city, born September 25th, 1869. Here hehas since resided, although his education was acquired principally at St. Paul and Minneapolis. His present extensive business was established by his father in 1856. Upon the death of his parent he assumed full charge of the business.

Page 317

Henry H. Pringle

eldest son of Judge Benjamin Pringle, was born in Batavia, New York, March 10th , 1832. Graduated at Hobart College, in New York, in 1653, and three years later engaged in hardware business at Hastings. He was one of the most influential and successful citizens of the town. Was a director in the First National bank, a prominent freemason and officer in St. Luke's parish. September 2d, 1868, married Louise A. Sprague, of Batavia, who with two sons, Benjamin and William, survive his death, which occurred September 21st 1879.

Page 317

John Rhodes

dealer in agricultural implements, is a native of New York, born in St. Lawrence countv, December 12th, 1837. In 1856, came with his parents to Point Douglas and soon after to Hastings. He was for some time engaged in the merchandise and agricultural machinery business. Subsequently speculated in wheat until 1864. He then entered the army as commissary clerk, and after serving eleven months, returned to Hastings and again began dealing in farm machinery, at which he has since continued.

Page 317

F. A. Richards

was born in Maine in 1844. He was reared on a farm, and in 1862 enlisted in the Nineteenth Maine Infantry, and served three years; was in the battles of Fredericksburg, Gettysburg and several others. Was honorably discharged at Augusta, Maine, in 1865. Came thence to Hastings and worked in a saw-mill for three years, then engaged in trucking business nine years. In l878, started in the livery, having since continued. He formed a partnership with Mr. Ferry, the firm known as Richards and Ferry. Married in 1869 to Anna A. Simmons. Ada, Mary, Etta and Ralph are their children.

Page 317

Albert Schaller, county attorney, is a native of Chicago, Illinois, born May 20th, 1856. While yet a babe was brought by his parents to Hastings. Here hewas educated and passed his youth; his education was completed at St. Vincent's college at Cape Giardeau, Missouri, and two years in France acquiring a knowledge of the classics. Studied law at the St. Louis Law School, graduating from that institution in 1879. The same year was admitted to the bar by the supreme court of Missouri and the courts of Minnesota. Was elected county attorney in November, 1879.

Page 317

Peter Schmith

a native of Germany, was born September 29th, 1825. Came to the United States in 1848 and located at Louisville, Kentucky, and farmed one year; then was employed in a boot and shoe house in the same place six years. In 1855, came to Hastings and manufactured boots and shoes two years, afterward clerked in the grocery store of J. F. Rees. Began farming in 1863, continuing three years, then into the brewing business until 1873. The spring following embarked into the grocery trade, carrying a stock of groceries, crockery, flour, feed, etc. Christina Schmutz, of Louisville, Kentucky, became his wife, in 1863. Two children were born to them, Tilli and Helen.

Page 318

Frederick Schurch

was born in Switzerland, March 25tb, 1844. After passing eleven years in his native land, he came to this continent, and first located in Northampton county, Pennsylvania. One year later he removed to Phillipsburgh, New Jersey, there learning the trade of harness-making. Coming to Hastings in 1865, and after working one year with his father became his partner in his chosen trade. In this position he continued till 1869, then began again ,alone at his prevent location. He engaged in various lines of business in connection with his regular trade, but since January, 1878 has given his entire attention to harness-making, having present one of the finest harness and horse furnishing establishments in the northwest. Married in 1867 to Lena Marty, of Washington county, Minnesota. Annie, John F., Elizabeth and Emma are their children.

Page 318

Alex A. Scott

was born in 1854, and is a native of Canada. Attended school until thirteen years of age then came to the states with his parents in 1867. Coming to Hastings he clerked for L. L. Twichell three years and soon after began in the photograph business under Mr. Proctor. Subsequently he became his partner and was with him seven years. In 1876, opened a photograph gallery for himself; he has all the facilities as well as the ability to do first class work, his being the leading place in the city.

Page 318

Peter Smith, jeweler, is a native of Germany, and there lived from the time of his birth, 1819 until 1847, then came to America. The father being a jeweler, his son acquired the trade at the age of ten years. He settled in America, first at Mansfield, Ohio, removing two years later to Sandusky City, thence in 1851,to Cincinnati. In 1855, came to Hastings and opened the first jewelry store in Dakota county. The next year he built a store in the same locality. He is now doing business at 256 Second street, and has a general stock of jewelry, plate, watches and clocks. Mr. Smith and Miss Barbara Abel were united in marriage in 1865. They have, nine children living: Kate, Ferdinand, Charles, Jacob, Adolph, Matilda, Peter, Mary and John.

Page 318

Robert J. Smith

born in Saratoga county, New York, in 1819. When five years of age his father died and Robert was soon after adopted by a farmer, with whom he made his home five years. His chosen trade was black-smithing, which he learned in Washington county and at which he worked two years, then in 1833 went to Herkimer county. His hmoe was in different parts of New York until 1852 when he went to California. Here he followed various pursuits and the next year returned to Herkimer county. Came to Vermillion, Minnesota, took a claim and built a little cabin, where he remained until 1872. There was on his arrival only fine house in the township. Having since added to his original claim by purchase, he now has two hundred and forty acres. Located at Hastings in 1872 in a place he had previously bought. Married Nancy Helmer in October, 1854. Robert S. is their only child.

Page 318

William P. Stanley

was born at Buffalo, New York, in August, 1829. He was left an orphan before attaining the age of three years, since having encountered the many disadvantages of those who climb the ladder alone. When eight years old went to Canada and remained until sixteen, in the meantime leaming the harness trade. Thence he went to Watertown, New York, continued his trade until attaining majority. Coming west he located first at Neenah, Wisconsin; in 1852, to Dubuque, Iowa, and in 1853, to Galena, Illinois. Three years later he came to Hastings, Minnesota, and at one started his present line of business, dealer in books, stationery, wall paper, etc., being now the oldest dealer of his kind in Dakota county. Air. Stanley was married in 1858 to Alvina Day, a native of Damariscotta., Maine. One son and one daughter have been born to them: Mary E. and John A.

Page 318

Joseph Stegner

was born at Baltimore, Maryland, July 18th, 1853. When a child of four years he accompanied is parents to Dubuque, Iowa. Here he passed his childhood days and acquired a practical education. In 1877, came to Hastings, having since made this thriving city his home. He is with Graus and Company, grocers.

Page 318

Z. W. Taplin

was born in Canada., April 13th, 1822 His parents removed to St. Lawrence county, New York, when he was but a mere boy. There he grew to manhood and received the educational advantages of a common school. In October, 1854, he came west, crossing the Mississippi at Dubuque, thence to Hastings via Faribault and Northfield. There was at that time only one board shanty where Northfield now stands; that and the old "sod tavern" in Hampton, where he spent one night, where the only buildings between Faribault and Hastings. He made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in what is now Ravenna; on this he built a log cabin, using elm bark for a roof, as it was quite impossible to get shingles. In consequence of high water in 1856, hepurchased a farm in Douglass township, residing there till 1874 then moved to Hastings. He now owns and operates a depot, on Vermillion street, for feed and produce. In 1854, in Jefferson county, New York he married Miss M. Crandall. Ida May, Libbie J. and Bayard F. are their living children. Four have died.

Page 319

A. J. W. Thompson, assistant postmaster and county auditor, was born at Howell, Livingston county, Michigan, February 24th, 1841. This town was organized by his ancestors. He was reared on his father's farm, receiving his early education at the common schools, and at the Agricultural school of Lansing, Michigan. Also learned the carpenter's trade, but worked at it very little. In 1860 he removed to New York and to Iowa the next year. Enlisted in 1862 in the Thirty-second Iowa Infantry, serving until mustered out at Davenport, Iowa, in 1865. During the same year came to Hastings and clerked in the register of deeds office until 1868, then worked at his trade one year, being appointed deputy auditor in 1869. In 1873, assumed the position of assistant postmaster, and in the fall of 1880, was elected county auditor. Mr. Thompson has been married three times. His present wife, Amelia V. Thompson, he married in 1876. William and Emma are the children.

Page 319

William Thorne, M. D.

was bom in Devonshire, England, January 22d, 1820. Came with his parents to America in 1834, locating in Chautauqua county, New York. After receiving a common school education he first studied medicine at Sinclairville with Hedges and Kimball one year, then with Dr. Hill sixteen months. Afterward took the preliminary course of lectures at Buffalo college in 1847. Practiced in Chautauqua county one and one half years, then returned to Buffalo and graduated as M. D., in 1850. He practiced at Sugar Grove, Pennsylvania, six years coming thence to Hastings, and has- been in continuous practice here since; is one of the pioneer physicians of Hastings. He is a member of the American Medical Association, and Minnesota State Medical Society. Has been twice married. His first wife was Zilla Ennis, of Wayne county, New York, who died in 1863. In 1867, married Miss Caroline, daughter of Hon. Benjamin Pringle. One child born to them : William Benjamin.

Page 319

John L. Thorne

an early settler of Hastings, was born in Winkleigh, Devonshire, England, May 18th, 1814. When a lad of twelve years he entered a dry goods store and continued in that line until coming to America in 1834. For twenty-three years he resided at Batavia, New York, and was a leading merchant there. Came to Hastings in 1856 and has since been a prominent citizen, merchant and banker. He was mayor of the city in 1860-'63-'64. Miss Josephine Chapman, of Mattawan, New Jersey, became his wife in 1863. They have three children, John M., Edward C. and Annie.

Page 319

C. E. Thurston

is a native of Rockingham county, New Hampshire, born January 20th, 1848. His childhood was passed in his native county, afterward removing to Boston, Massachusetts. Thence he came to Lake City, Minnesota, in May, 1878. He conducted a general boot and shoe store there until September, 1878, then embarked in the same business at Hastings. In 1869 he was united in marriage with Miss Maria E. Varney, of Massachusetts.

Page 319

Irving Todd

is a native of Lewisborough, Westchester county, New York, the eldest son of Joseph and Sarah Todd, born July 22d, 1841. The progenitor of his branch of the family was the Rev. Abraham Todd, a Presbyterian clergyman, who came from Scotland. Joseph Todd came to Wisconsin in 1857 and located at Prescott, nearly opposite Hastings, having purchased an interest in a saw-mill at that place. Irving, now in his sixteenth year, had completed his education at the common schools, and had a great desire to become a printer. During his second summer at Prescott considerable of his time was passed in the office of the Transcript. The next year he became an apprentice to the trade at that office, and after mastering the art of type-setting, worked at different places, Hudson, Osceola and Hastings being about the extent. The latter part of the summer of 1861 he spent in Hastings, working on a paper of very modest dimensions, the Minnesota Conserver. During the winter of 1861-62 he had editorial charge of the Prescott Journal, and September 1st, 1862 the editors and proprietors of the Hudson Star being in the army, he assumed the management of that paper. In November of that year he purchased the Conserver, and in 1866 consolidated it with the Independent, published by C. Stebbins under the name of Hastings Gazette. The partnership existed nearly twelve years, when Mr. Stebbins sold to Mr. Todd, hebeing its sold proprietor. During a portion of 1867-'68, he acted as assistant door-keeper of the house of representatives; was collector of internal revenue for the Second district of Minnesota from January 1st, 1872 to 1876. He has always been a Republican; was a delegate to the Baltimore convention in 1864, when Lincoln was re-nominated and has participated in most of the county, district and state conventions for fifteen years past. He is also a freemason, having been initiated in 1863, and has now attained the thirty-second degree, has taken active interest in masonry and masonic literature, and is the author of a digest, which is being published by the grand lodge of the state. July 13th, 1865, Miss Helen Lucas and Mr. Todd were united in marriage. They have two children, Irving and Louise.

Page 320

I. B. Tozer

was born in Waterville, Kennebec county, Maine, June 24th, l819. At the age of ten years, went with his parents to Fairfield, Somerset county, where he learned the carpenter's trade, at which heworked until 1847. He then returned to his native town and. engaged in mercantile pursuits, was postmaster and railroad station agent. In 1855, resigned his positions on account of ill-health, and came to Cannon Falls, Goodhue county, Minnesota. becoming one of the owners of the townsite. He engaged in lumbering until 1857, then sold his interests in the town, and in spring of 1858, removed to Hastings. During the spring of 1859, in company with A. E. Rich, bought a shingle and saw-mill, which he run until it burned in 1865. He then dealt in lumber, and subsequently with Mr. Rich, speculated largely in pine lands in Minnesota and Wisconsin until 1871. He was next in the grocery business in Hastings till 1876, retiring at that time from active business. Mr. Tozer, with E. H. Chapman, built the first bridge across the Cannon river, and was instrumental in organizing the first school there. In 1841, he married Mary B. Bates, who has borne him three children: Sarah L. and Lizzie M. are still living.

Page 320

Joseph Freas

is a native of Germany, born in 1880. Worked on a farm for ten years. Came to America in 1849. Went to Louisville, Kentucky, making his home there six years, mean while learned shoemaking. In 1855, came to Hastings, and is one of the oldest German residents. Worked at his trade two years; farmed and trucked seven years, then went to Wisconsin and kept a hotel and saloon three years. Returning to Hastings, he kept what is known as the American house; then built a saloon next to the Poster house and run it three years. Traded the saloon for a farm, and in turn traded the farm for his present property. In 1879, built the hotel where henow is. Married in 1854, Miss Ellen Smith: Setta, Fred, August, Mollie, Tilley, Julius, Helen, Nellie and Joseph are their children.

Page 320

Daniel W. Truax

one of the early pioneers of this country, was born in Montreal, Canada, December 23d, 1830. Removed to St. Lawrence county, New York, with his parents, and there received his early education. In 1849, came to Point Douglas and at once engaged in farming. Was elected to the territorial legislature in 1851. Followed agricultural pursuits until 1853, then built a saw-mill in company with John Blakely in Nininger township, and in the fall of 1855, sold his interests and purchased a steam saw-mill, in which he was interested until 1861. Removing at that time to Hastings, he purchased in company with Mr. Knowlton, what is now known as the Libby mill. In 1863, disposed of his share, and until 1871, engaged in the grocery trade, and has since farmed and dealt in farm machinery. Married in 1853, Mary A. Truax, of St. Lawrence county, New York: Amelia, Viola, Byron, and Oscar, are their living children.

Page 320

D. B. Truax

a noteworthy pioneer of Dakota county, was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, May 25th, 1818. His occupations were farming and mechanical work until May, 1853 then removed to Dakota county and first located at Point Douglas and took a claim of one hundred and sixty acres. Bringing his family with him, he, in September of that year, built a cabin on his claim and after a residence there of four years sold out and purchased another. In 1867, again sold and came to reside at Hastings. He was connected with the post-office department four years and was for five or six on the school board. Was one of the organizers of the town of Nininger and held the offices connected with the town. He was also a member of the legislature from Hastings in 1866-67. Married in 1842, to Lany A. Countryman, of Jefferson county, New York. One child was born to them, who still lives in Hastings, dealing in farm machinery, Alfred H.

Page 321

M. O. W. Truax

an early pioneer of Dakota county, was born September 11th, 1829, and is a native of St. Lawrence county, New York. He was reared and received his early instruction in his native place. During early youth his attention was divided between farming and traveling with his father, who was a captain on one of the boats plying between Quebec and the lakes. During the fall of 1853, he came to Hastings, and the next spring, rented a farm near what is known as Indian Spring. He was the first deputy sheriff in Dakota county and since 1868, has held the office of county constable. In 1857, married Laura Murray, of Lorain county, Ohio. Darwin H., Marion W., Frank M., Josephine, Lucy, Julia, Charles S., Jennie, Ernest and Mabel are their children.

Page 321

Sidney J. Truax

son of D. V. Truax, an early settler of this region. was born in St. Lawrence county, New York. In 1854 the family came to Hastings, and two years later Sidney went to Nininger township, remaining two years, then began lumbering. He was afflicted with a stroke of palsy for two years, which caused him to relinquish work on the river. He next entered the employment of the government, freighting, his route being from St. Cloud, Stearns county, to Fort Abercrombie, from 1866 to 1870. Coming thence to Hastings, he was foreman for Mr. Sherwood, the railroad contractor, until 1871; then for the American Bridge Company, of Chicago, one year. In 1874, began speculating in wheat, which he still carries on to some extent. In 1878, was engaged by the government as contractor for various river and harbor improvements, still continuing in its employ. Married July 11th, 1869, to Fannie Hale, of Kentucky. William, Sarah, Lillian and Fannie are their children.

Page 321

J. H. Twichell

was born in Oswego county, New York, December 28th, 1846. He resided with his parents until 1853, when they all moved to Dakota county. Early in life he began clerking in a grocery store, and in 1865, entered the post-office as clerk, remaining in that capacity until 1869. He then entered a grocery store in the same capacity. In 1879 he embarked in the same line of business, and is having a good trade. Married in 1871, to Miss Lola L. Henderson, of Illinois. They have two sons and one daughter: Nelia, George and Berton.

Page 321

Isaac N. Van Doren

was born near Eaton, Preble county, Ohio. September 18th, 1837. Removed with his parents to Indiana in 1846, where he was reared on a farm, and in 1856, came to Dakota county. Soon after he returned to Indiana and attended school until enlisting in the Thirteenth Indiana Infantry. After serving a term in Libby prison, he was paroled and sent to Washington, and was discharged in May, 1862. Returning to Hastings, he remained until December 31st, 1863, when he was commissioned second lieutenant of Company F, Second Minnesota Cavalry, by Governor Swift, and again commissioned first lieutenant of the same company, May 11th, 1865 by Governor Miller, which rank he held when mustered out. Returned to Dakota county and engaged in farming, until 1875; then came to Hastings and began dealing in agricultural implements in company with A. H. Truax. In 1866 he married Ellen J. Crist of Ohio. May C. is their only child.

Page 321

John Van Hoesen

is a native of Cortland county, New York, born October 1st, 1809, at the old homestead where his parents resided for more than threescore years. He removed to Indiana in 1838, but returned the following year, and for three years was severely afflicted with malaria. In 1854 he came to Hastings, the population being at that time seventy-two whites and eight hundred Indians. His first home was on the levee, but in 1855 he removed to his claim in sections thirty-two and thirty-three. In March of that year his dwelling was burned, which event compelled him to live in a log cabin. Was justice of the peace in 1855, and the same year attended the land sale at Red Wing as settlers' bidder. He has been a member of the Hastings school board, and was instrumental as a trustee in locating and building the Baptist University, which has since been converted into a graded school. Mr. Van Hoesen was married in 1885, to Miss Rhoda Bennett, and again in 1861, to Miss Maria Adams. Nettie V. and Francis B. are his children by his first wife; the latter is a member of the state legislature from Douglas county.

Page 322

Lorenzo Van Slyck

was born in Canajoharie, New York, April 27th, 1828. His early instruction was received in his native place, and afterward studied at and graduated from Union College in 1849. He first read law with Judge J Sacie of his native county, being admitted to the bar in 1850; two years later was received as counselor and solicitor in chancery. Subsequently he moved to New Lisbon, Juneau county, Wisconsin, of which county he was judge until 1861. He then enlisted in the Nineteenth Wisconsin Infantry, serving until mustered out at Fortress Monroe in 1864, on account of wounds received in service. During the fall of that year hecame to Hastings, and has been actively engaged in his profession since. Married in 1852, to Martha L'Amour of London, Lower Canada. Ada, now Mrs. Jeffrys of Chicago; Adella, now Mrs. Anderson of St. Paul; and Mamie, also residing in St. Paul, are their children.

Page 322

Frederick Voigt

is of German birth, born near Leipsic in 1829. He came to America in 1854, then settled at Amherst, Massachusetts. In 1856, began work as wagon-maker at Hastings, then from 1866 to 1877, ran a saw-mill in Pierce county, Wisconsin. Returning at that time to this city he purchased the Ramsey flouring mill. Augusta Madlewig became his wife in 1861. Their children are Lebrecht A. and Charles L.

Page 322

R. Whitman

of the firm of Conklin and Whitman, hardware dealers, is a native of Dakota county, Minnesota, born at Mendota, November 6th, 1855. After the completion of his education, he, in October 1873, entered the office of clerk of court remaining until the firm was formed in the spring of 1881.

Page 322

Timothy Wilcoxson

was born February 20tb, 1818, at Stratford, Connecticut. His ancestors settled in that state as early as 1639. At fifteen years of age he left his father's farm, going to New Haven, where he attended evening schools and recited privately to the tutors of Yale College. His parents were of the Methodist belief but the son was ordained deacon of the Episcopal church at Hartford. Soon after, hehad charge of parishes in Wilton, Harwinton and Wolcott, and in 1850, came to St. Paul, Minnesota. Here he was associated with Rev. Drs. Breck and Merrick in a private missionary enterprise, which gave great impetus to the growth of the Episcopal church of Minnesota. This association purchased five acres of land for the church in St. Paul, for $290. This land is now worth over $100.000. Dr. Breck soon went to his labors among the Indians and as Dr. Merrick's health failed, Mr. Wilcoxson was left in charge of Christ's church at St. Paul. He was subsequently appointed itinerant missionary, and in May, 1855, came to Hastings, having since resided here. From 1856 to 1861 he was rector of St. Luke's church and held the first Episcopal services at Hastings, Red Wing, Faribault and Northfield. He has been a zealous laborer, going on foot from St. Paul to St. Peter for the purpose of holding services, and has walked one hundred and fifty miles to visit Dr. Breck's Indian mission.

Page 322

Frank Yanz

a native of Germany, was born June l7th, 1837. On coming to this continent his home was first in southern Indiana, where his parents engaged in farming until 1866. After farming one year in Douglass township, Dakota county, Minnesota, he came to Hastings and for three years was a partner with his brother in the grocery business. In June, 1870, he started in business for himself, dealing in groceries, crockery, etc., and in 1876 built his present handsome store. In 1876 he married Miss Mary Memmer, of Pennsylvania. Three children have been born to them, all now living: William, Jacob and Frank.

Page 322

Rev. Cornelius Willman

was born in Bavaria, October 11th, 1828. Was educated at the University of Bavaria, and came to the United States in 1852. In 1856, was ordained by Bishop Cretin at St. Paul. Assumed charge of the German Catholic church at Hastings in 1880.

Page 326

* Incident *

An incident in the history of the town [of Burnsville] is related, which merits more than a passing notice. In 1863, a sad event occurred, by which a life was lost and the community was filled with sadness. A dispute arose between some of the settlers in relation to a piece of meadowland located in the northern part of the town. James O'Hare claimed the land by right of a tax title. James Norman and Thomas Kearney claimed it on the same grounds, and were engaged in mowing the grass. Mr. O'Hare had ordered them off from the land, but they refused to go. Mr. O'Hare armed himself with a gun, and still continued his demand for them to leave. They still refusing, many hard words passed, and they undertook to drive him away with their forks, when he, O'Hare, shot at them and killed Kearney on the spot. He reloaded his gun to shoot Newman, but he escaped. O'Hare fled the country, and remained for some time, but finally returned and delivered himself up and stood his trial and was acquitted on the ground of self-defense.

Page 326

Michael T. Connally

was born in Manchester, England, 1835. When fourteen years old came to this country with his parents. Received his early education at the Christian Brothers' Catholic schools at Manchester. Leaving his parents in Albany county, New York, during the spring of 1855, he came westward to Minnesota, and located in Burnsville township. At the beginning of the war, he enlisted in Company K, Tenth Minnesota, and served in the Indian campaign under General Sibley, afterward went south, and was honorably discharged in 1865.

Returning home to his farm, hehas since given his entire attention to agricultural pursuits. Has been justice of the peace in Burnsville township three years ; also town clerk, school clerk, and is a staunch Republican. Elizabeth J. Martin became his wife in 1871. Samuel, Catherine, James, John and Edmond are their children.

Page 327

John H. Delaney

born April 30th, 1857, is a native of Ireland. Came with his parents to this country while yet a babe. Settled in New Aubum, Sibley county, Minnesota, and afterward moved to Henderson. Here John finished his education at the high school. Came to Burnsville in 1876, and for three years was employed as clerk in the well known store of J. Berrisford. In 1879 he married Miss Lizzie, daughter of the late Thomas Hogan, of Burnsville. They have one daughter, Ann. Since his marriage, Mr. Delaney has managed the Hogan estate, which comprises two hundred and forty acres. Was elected town clerk in 1880, and re-elected in 1881.

Page 327

Patrick Foley

was born in New York July 4th, 1840, and is of Irish parentage. When a child of seven years, he accompanied his parents to McHenry county, Illinois, where he attended school. In 1856, be, in company with the family, came to Minnesota and located on a farm. He and his brother Mike have purchased land and continued adding to the original, owning at present three hundred and sixty acres. In 1865, Miss Mary Cleary became his wife. John, Patrick, Thomas, Ann, Michael, Peter and Maria are their children. Mr. Foley's parents still reside with him, and are now well advanced in years.

Page 327

Rev. Patrick F. Glennon

is the priest in charge of the church of St. John, and resides at the priest's residence, near the church, on section 15. His post-office address is Hamilton, Scott county, Minnesota.

Lewis Judd, whose birthplace was Litchfield county, Connecticut, was born in 1822. During early years he received a practical education, afterward learned the carpenters trade. Followed his trade as contractor and builder. In 1849, made a trip to California, returning the year following. In 1861 he raised Company D, Tenth Connecticut Volunteers, and continued as captain until honorably discharged in 1864. Returning to Litchfield county he resumed his trade, but in 1868, removed to Virginia, taking his family with him. He devoted his time and attention to agriculture, until becoming dissatisfied with the country and surroundings, he directed his course to Minnesota, landing in Dakota county in 1871. The following spring he moved to a most desirable spot near Crystal Lake, and purchased one hundred and fifty-seven acres. Here he has farmed, and in 1880, opened a summer resort, the "Lake- side Hotel." Miss Esther Beardsley became his wife in 1851. Two children have been born to them: Mary, now Mrs. Fred Twichell, of Hastings, and Nettie living at home.

Page 327

Frank Leonard

has born in Foxborough, Massachusetts, April 10th, 1857. While yet a child he moved with his parents to St. Paul, Minnesota. Here he acquired his education, completing it at Franklin high school. He afterward entered the St. Paul and Manitoba railroad shops, continuing nearly four years; then in the Hannibal and St. Joseph railroad car shops, at Hannibal, Missouri, remaining nearly two years. During his experience in the shops, he acquired the trade of car building. In the summer of 1878, came to Burnsville and took the farm of one hundred and sixty acres which his father bad owned for some time, and has since devoted his entire attention to agriculture, in partnership with his brother Edward. They have also six hundred and twenty acres at Morris.

Page 335

Temple C. Childs

was born April 23d 1828, at Malone, Franklin county, New York. He was raised on a farm, and learned the trade of a millwright. In 1845, he went to Lake county, Illinois, and engaged in farming and school teaching, and two years later removed to Lake Superior and gave his attention to lumbering until 1850. Six years later, in July, he came to Hastings and purchased a house and lot, but during the next year moved to his present farm in Castle Rock. Mr. Childs is a prominent farmer, was instrumental in the organization of the town and for fifteen years was town treasurer. Married in 1862, Miss Cornelia M. Hastings. Helen M., Ida M., De Forest and Edith H. are their children.

Page 335

H. J. Curtiss

was born at Waterloo, Jefferson county, Wisconsin, in 1849. At the age of eighteen learned telegraphy, and has since followed this business. In 1861 he came to Minnesota and located at Castle Rock in 1877. He is now station agent and telegraph operator; also dealer in agricultural implements. In 1881, he was appointed postmaster. Married Miss Phoebe Gillett in June, 1872. They have two children, Ella M. and Myrtie D.

Page 335

Ditus Day

was born October 10th, 1817, Wilbraham, Hampton county, Massachusetts. While yet a babe his parents moved to Ohio, where he was reared and educated, and when quite young began the vocation of teacher, in which he continued fourteen winters in succession. During the fall of 1855 he came to Dakota county, locating at Castle Rock, and there made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres. He returned to Ohio for his family, and has since made his home on the farm. Mr. Day has held the office of justice of the peace since first coming to the state, and has been elected town clerk twenty times; was also postmaster nine years and county commissioner three years. Married in 1849 to Miss Clarissa Harris, who has borne him six children: Raymond H., Dennis D., Ida E., Allen J., Alice M. and Louis E. Mr. Day, since 1858, has manufactured amber cane syrup each year, and has an increasing trade, having manufactured last year four thousand gallons.

Page 336

Henry Ehlers

a native of Germany, was born November 29th, 1848. When fifteen years old he acquired a knowledge of tailoring and worked at it five years. In 1868 hecame to America, landing at the port of New York, and proceeded directly to Davenport, Iowa, working in a lumber yard until the fall of 1868, coming thence to St. Paul. Soon after he came to Castle Rock, and here purchased a farm on which he located during the fall of 1876, where he still remains. He was married in 1871, and is the parent of four children: Sophia, Ida, Aaron and Herman.

Page 336

Joseph Towler

was born April 26tb, 1883, in England. When a lad of eleven years he worked in a foundry, learning the trade of moulding, in three branches. In consequence of declining health he came to America in 1853, and located in Ohio, where he engaged in farming. Coming to Washington county, Minnesota, he gave his attention to farming and lumbering, and in 1858, moved to Castle Rock and purchased his present property in 1860. Miss Senescall, a native of England, became his wife in 1857. One son and one daughter have been born to them, S. T. and Mary L.

Page 336

E. Grove

a native of New York, was born February 16th, 1837. The same year his parents moved to Michigan, where he was reared to in manhood, receiving in the meantime a practical education. Coming to Castle Rock in 1867, he purchased land in company with his brother, remaining in partnership until the death of the latter, which occurred in May, 1874. Mr. Grove has a fine residence which cost $2,000, and a farm of two hundred and forty acres; also gives his attention to stock raising. Married, January 1st, 1860, Miss Martha Niveson, who has borne him one son and three daughters.

Page 336

W. A. Ham

was born March 16th, 1833, in Dover, New Hampshire. His trade is that of brick-laying and mason, which he commenced learning at the age of sixteen. Coming to Minnesota in 1865, he made a claim in Lakeville township, Dakota county, and after breaking about fifteen acres, went to Minneapolis, passing the summer in that city in the pursuit of his trade. During the fall, he returned to his farm, and in 1862, enlisted as corporal in the Eight Minnesota under Col. Thomas; was mustered out of service three years after, while in North Carolina. In 1872, he sold the homestead and has since resided on his present farm, which he purchased on the disposal of his former one. Has also worked at his trade in different places. Miss Minnie Wellman became his wife August 31th, 1862: Edward L., Jennie M., George W. and Bertram W., are their children.

Page 336

David A. Harris

was born August 5th, 1821, at Springfield, Massachusetts. Moved to Ohio with his parents in 1830, and began the shoe-maker's trade, continuing five years, then engaged in farming. Locating in Castle Rock, in 1855, he preempted one hundred and sixty acres, a portion of his present farm, and has made many improvements, having now a very desirable estate, with a commodious residence, fine orchard filled with a variety of small fruits. His marriage with Mrs. Jane Lawrence, who is his second wife, occurred June 20th, 1863.

Page 336

J. E. Heichert

farmer and stock raiser, was born October 20th, 1852, a native of Minnesota, having been born at St. Paul. His parents came to St. Paul in 1851, and to Castle Rock four years later and are early settlers. He first preempted a claim which hesold, and about 1862, invested in eighty acres of the present estate. His death occurred in 1880, and his son J. E. has since retained the farm, making many improvements. His marriage with Miss Anna Boyd took place in 1873: Jennie, Mary and Essie M. are their children.

Page 336

B. S. Hoff

was born December 5th, 1831, in New Jersey, and when very young moved with his parents to New York city, was there reared to manhood and received his education. At the age of fifteen years he commenced the carpenter's trade, serving six years as an apprentice. Served two years in Plainfield, New Jersey, in learning the farming business. In 1855 he came to Wisconsin, residing in different places until coming to Castle Rock in 1860 and purchased his present farm. Mr. Hoff has worked as carpenter and builder every summer since fifteen years of age. In February, 1865, he enlisted in the First Minnesota Heavy Artillery, under Col. Colville, and was mustered out in September of trio same year at Nashville, Tennessee. Married in 1856, to Miss Adeline Glascow who has borne him two children, Merritt D. and Anna M.

Page 337

J. W. Hopkins

was born December 24th, 1831, in Logan county, Ohio, and was reared on a farm, receiving a good education. In 1848, went to Richland county, Wisconsin, where he engaged in farming until coining to Castle Rock in 1856, as one of the first settlers. Located on his present farm in the fall of that year, where he has since resided. His wife was Miss Perrin, married June 7th, 1856. John G., Florence J., William W. and Linna Nl. are their children.

Page 337

W. H. Johnson

was born in February, 1812, in New Hampshire. When about four years of age he accompanied his parents to Vermont, where he acquired an education. He made his home in Boston from 1834 until 1846, then came to what is now Washington county, Minnesota. His wife was one of the two white women who came at that time. Locating within two miles of what is now Afton, Mr. Johnson cut timber and built a log shanty; here he remained until 1850, then located on a farm of one hundred and eighty-nine acres, where Newport now stands; but sold, and in 1857, came to Castle Rock and purchased his present property. His residence was erected the same year, known as the "white house," being the largest and only printed house in the township at that day. He has been chairman of supervisors and assessor twice. Married to Miss Mary J. Aubin in 1843. Josephine, Nellie and Emma are their children.

Page 337

P. J. Kamery

is a native of Cattaraugus county, New York, born December 8th, 1832. He was reared as a farmer, and came to Minnesota in 1856, purchasing the same year a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, which is a portion of his present fine farm of two hundred and fifty acres. In 1879, he erected a fine house at a cost of $2,500; has also made other improvements. He is also a stock raiser, dealing quite extensively in Durham cattle, Norman horses, and Cotswold sheep. Miss Ellen Hawkins, his second wife, was united with him, in marriage, in 1867. Their living children are: Alice M. and Bertie B.

Page 337

Charles Livingston

born in New York state August 2d, 1833. Came to Rock county, Wisconsin with his parents in 1846, where he attended school. Coming to Waterford, Dakota county, he preempted one hundred and sixty acres in 1854, which hedisposed of a few years later and purchased his present farm of one hundred and sixty acres, in section 29. Married in 1855, to Miss C. A. M. Badger. Their children are Edith E., George D., Fred N., Sibyl E. A., Iantha C., C. A. M., Herbert E., Helen M., Laura, Ernest E. and Amos L.

Page 337

J. N. Martin

born in Clark county, Illinois, December,5th, 1838. Came to Minnesota in 1860, and the next year enlisted in the Third Minnesota, Company F; was promoted through the intervening offices to second lieutenant. He participated in many of the most noted engagements, serving through the south; also against the Indians, returning to Fort Snelling during the fall of 1862; went south again in spring of 1868, and was in the siege of Vicksburg and battle of Little Rock, Arkansas. February 6th, 1864, he re-enlisted, and was with General Banks until the close of hostilities. Mustered out in Arkansas, in September, 1865. Returning home, he purchased his present farm. Married in 1867, to Miss Roseltha A. Hastings, who has borne him one son, Harlan H.

Page 337

S. Meeker was born August 9th, 1842, in Washington county, New York. He finished his education by a course at Eastman college, at Poughkeepsie, New York, from which institution he graduated, and in 1862, went to New York city as a book-keeper. Enlisted in the Thirty- fourth Regiment, of New Jersey, in Sixteenth corps, and was mustered out in 1866. The same year he came to Minneapolis, Minnesota, thence the year following to Castle Rock, where he was the first station agent and run the first elevator for seven years. In 1874, went to Waterford, run a mill three years, then returned and formed the firm of Meeker Brothers, general dealers and proprietors of the elevator. Removing to Douglas county, he run a mill until 1880, and in August of the same year returned to Castle Rock. Miss Hattie Turner became his wife in August, 1866. Sidney, Joel L. and William E. are their children.

Page 337

Henry E. Otte, a native of Hanover, Germany, was born December 16th, 1836. He was raised on a farm and received only a limited education. Coming to America in 1857, the year following he removed to Hastings, Minnesota, locating on a farm in Hampton township, and built a log house. In 1875 he disposed of his property in Douglass and moved to his present farm in Castle Rock. He has been a member of the board of supervisors, one year as chairman. Married in 1861, to Miss Caroline Bunse, a native of Germany. Hermon G., Louise E., Henry A., John C., William E., George B. and Ida H. are their living children.

Page 338

H. Pryor

was born April 4th, 1838, in New Brunswick. Here hewas reared and educated. In April, 1856, hecame to Green Vale township, Dakota county, where his father preempted one hundred and sixty acres, being one of the early settlers. Mr. Pryor enlisted, the summer of 1862, in the Eighth Minnesota, under Colonel Thomas; was two years on the frontier, one year in the south, and was discharged from the hospital in June, 1865. The next year he purchased his present farm, and has made many improvements. Married in 1871, to Miss Lizzie King, a native of England. Their children are: Gertrude L., Frederick C. Henry L and William T.

Page 338

Charles Rowell

born March 12tb, 1842, in Washington county, New York. In 1853 he accompanied his parents to Ohio, and engaged in agricultural pursuits, also finished his education. Coming to Castle Rock in 1865 he farmed on rented land until purchasing his present farm of one hundred and sixty acres, in 1868. He entered the service of his country in 1862, in Company D, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Ohio, was corporal, and engaged in the transportation and exchange of prisoners; was honorably discharged in 1865. Married Miss Lyble in 1867. Loren B., Venetta Adelia, Eulela Belle and Lester V., are their children.

Page 338

H. E. Sanders

a native of Germany, was born in 1837. Came to America in 1854 and located at Greenfield, Wisconsin, where he learned the blacksmith's trade. His time was employed with farming, wood cutting and coopering, and in 1863, served nine months in the civil war. His first visit to Minnesota was made in 1866, and during the fall of that year purchased eighty acres, a portion of his present farm, in Castle Rock township. He moved to his farm the next year and has since added to it, until his estate comprises two hundred and fifty acres. His wife was Miss Scheiterlein, married in 1867. Lydia, Gustave, Hermon, Katie, Lucy and Amelia are their offspring.

Page 338

I. R. Sanderson

a native of Middlesex county, Massachusetts was born March 29th, 1818. His youth was passed on a farm, but in 1849, went to California, where he engaged in mining about four years; then returned east. Four years later started for St. Anthony, Minnesota, where he was a carpenter, and in 1860, moved to Empire township, purchasing and improving a farm, which he sold six years subsequently. Purchasing his present farm, he has continued to improve it until he has now a very desirable estate of one hundred and sixty acres. April 14th, 1844, he married Miss Adeline Wheeler of Lincoln, Massachusetts. Mr. Sanderson has been town treasurer of Empire four years.

Page 338

B. C. Slocum

a native of New York, was born in Erie county, August 29th, 1832. Was reared as a tiller of the soil and acquired a practical education. In 1866 he came to Fayette county, Iowa, and engaged in the quiet pursuit of farming. Coming to Sciota, Dakota county, he rented land until I 880, then invested in his present farm in Castle Rock township. He and Miss Mary Hawkins were united in marriage in 1856. Their children are Julius M. and Edwin E. Ida and William. Eddie and Jessie were claimed by the dread disease, diphtheria, and died within twenty-four days of each other in 1880.

Page 338

Emanuel Stapf

born June 26th, 1824., is a native of Germany. He attended school in the land of his nativity and spent six years in the German army. Came to America in 1852, locating at Dayton, Ohio, and worked as farmer. In 1856, came to Hastings, making a claim the same spring, of one hundred and sixty acres in Castle Rock township; erected his present residence in 1866, and two years later a fine stone barn forty by sixty-two feet. Mr. Stapf donated three acres for church purposes, and two hundred and eleven dollars in money. This was the largest amount subscribed to the church, which edifice was dedicated March 10th, 1867. Married in Germany in 1861, Miss Katrina Zimmerman; their living children are: Christian D., Lewis S., Henry G. and Gustavus W.

Page 339

B. Stevens

was born at Fort Ann, Washington county, New York, November 24th, 1833. During his fifteenth year, he came with his parents to Rock county, Wisconsin, and there finished his education, his only opportunity for attending school being, during the winter months. During the fall of 1854, he located with his father and two brothers in Castle Rock township, on a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, a portion of which is embraced in his present farm. His marriage with Miss Martha J. Stoddard, occurred April 12th, 1857: George B., William, Hermon L., Minnie M., Clara A., Myron L., Grace M., Sydney B. and Ralph W. are their chidren. Mr. Stevens enlisted in 1862, in Eighth Minnesota, Company F, under Col. Thomas, serving until the close of the war.

Page 339

John Teachout was born March 9th, 1833, at Canajoharie, Montgomery county, New York. In 1847, he moved to Wisconsin with his parents and acquired a practical education. Coming to Castle Rock in 1856, he at once made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres. His present farm being a portion of it. Mr. Teachout is one of the early settlers, and is an industrious and respectable citizen. Enlisted in February, 1865, in First Minnesota Heavy Artillery under Col. Colville; was discharged at the hospital Chattanooga, August 17th, 1865. Married Cordelia Case, March 26th, 1856. They have had five children, four of whom are now living: Etta Annis, Frank Grant, Orena Elnora, George Henry, all residing at home with their parents.

Page 339

E. D. Thompson

was born August 26th, 1836 in Orleans county, New York. Was reared as a farmer, and finished his education at Albion Academy, after which hetaught school in that state eleven successive winters. Coming to Hastings in 1878, he moved to his present farm the same year, and has taught here every winter since. Was elected a member of the board of supervisors in the spring of 1879, having held the office since. Married, in 1864, Miss Josephine Cline, who has borne him two children, Orville C. and Kittie L.

Page 339

E. W. Tripp

was born September 17th, 1850, in Erie county, New York. His father, George Tripp, was born in 1818, and reached Hastings, Minnesota, in 1866, coming to Chicago by rail, driving his own team to Dunleith, thence by the steamer "Lady Franklin" to Hastings. Made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Castle Rock and built a small house, into which he moved his family. He was twice married, his second wife was Caroline Slocum, whom he married in 1848. E. W. Tripp is a son of this union, who was married to Miss Julia A. Potter in 1877. Edwin F. and Harry B. are their children. The father, George Tripp, died November 19th, 1879.

Page 339

W. J. Wheeler

was born November 18th, 1819, in Kentucky, and passed his youth on a farm. During the spring of 1856 he came to Minnesota and located in, what is now Waseca county and made a claim. In 1862 he came to Hastings, ran a hotel one and one-half years, then traded for a farm near Red Wing, Minnesota. Going to Eureka township in 1868, he tarried a short time; thence to Farmington where he purchased a house and resided some time. In 1880 he located at Castle Rock, and has a general merchandise store. Married, in 1843, to Miss Elizabeth Turner. They have eleven children living, five sons and six daughters.

Page 339

P. P. Whittier

was born at Grafton, New Hampshire, September 8th, 1840. In 1852 he came with his father to Ohio, and engaged in railroad contracting, and there, finished his edcation. He purchased a farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Empire township, Dakota county, which, after improving it, he sold in 1864, and two years later purchased in Castle Rock township. This estate hedisposed of in 1876, and again invested in his present farm two years after. Enlisted in 1861 in the Twenty-second Ohio, and served only four months. Married, September 8th, 1864, to Miss Stevens of this place. Henry P., Arthur L. and Lloyd A. are their children.

Page 339

George W. Woodworth

was born in Saratoga county, New York, May 25th. In 1846, he removed to Clinton county, and then after a few months, was engaged in carrying lumber from Canada to New York. Until 1856, he was located in various parts of the east, and that year he came to Minnesota locating on his claim in Castle Rock, on the 26th of May. Married Amanda Anson, of Clinton county, October 30th, 1848. They have four children living.

Page 343 - Douglass Township

Incident

Game - October 17th, 1857. While D. W. Twichell and hired man were at work on his farm on section 12, they discovered a bear coming toward them. When he had approached quite near, they attacked him with the pitch forks with which they were busy. Not fancying their reception, Mr. Bear beat a hasty retreat towards the woods, with our heroes in full chase. The bear soon took refuge in a tree, when Mr. Twichell mounted guard with his fork and sent the hired man to the house, a mile distant, for a gun. Their pursuit had brought them to section 11, Van Auken's place.

When the gun came, the bear was killed, and Mr. Twichell with the neighbors feasted on bear steak of home production.

Deer were very plenty in the town and vicinity at, the time of settlement. It is said that Barney Gergen killed twenty-one alone in the year 1855. At one time, following the trail of a wounded doer, he came up with him, shot the fellow. and despatched him. Just then an Indian came up who claimed the deer on the score that he had wounded him and was in pursuit of his game. But Barney did not see the matter in that light and did not propose to give up his prize. For some time high words were used in their respective languages, and it began to look like a warm time. Mr. Gergen thought the advantage was on his side, since one barrel of his gun was still loaded while the Indian was not so well provided. The same thought seemed to occur to the Indian, and he made the white man understand by signs, as neither could understand the language of the other, that he was willing to divide the deer even. This adjustment was made and the matter ended peaceably.

Page 345

John Anton

postmaster and dealer in drygoods, groceries and general merchandise, was born in Luxemburg March 24th, 1841. Came to America in 1868, proceeding directly to Minnesota. He visited Winona, and Dubuque, Iowa, then for three years was engaged at his trade of carpenter and cabinet-maker. Returning to Hastings in 1874, he remained nearly two years, removing thence to Trout Brook. Here he worked at his trade for a few months, then opened a general country store to which he added, in 1880, a saloon. He is also postmaster at Trout Brook, Married Miss Helen Holzmer in .June, 1871. Five children have been born to them, two sons and three daughters. Mr. Anton was burned out in the big fire of Chicago, in 1871.

Page 345

Alonzo Dockstader

was born in Montgomery county, New York, April 9th, 1829. Here he was raised and educated, his early life being mostly devoted to agricultural pursuits. In October, 1853, he was wedded to Miss Mary Coons, daughter of Alexander Coons, for many years a well-known resident of that county, now a citizen of Red Wing, Minnesota. Three years after their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Dockstader removed to Minnesota and settled on section 12, Douglass township. The farm purchased at that time is still their home. They, in company with Alexander Coons and wife, were the first to organize a religious society in the township or vicinity. They built a church on section one, universally known as "The County Line M. E. Church" Mrs. Dockstader taught the first public school in the vicinity. He has held the offices of town supervisor, ex officio member of the board of county commissioners, justice of the peace and others. One son and one daughter have been born to them. Alexander C. has had rare educational advantages. After an elementary course he attended Carleton College, then completed his medical studies at Hahnemann Medical College of Chicago, from which institution he graduated with the class of 1879-'80. He is now established in his profession at Granite Falls, Minnesota. Emma died at the age of four years.

Page 345

Peter Doffing

was born in Prussia, February 20th, 1844. When a child of one year came to America with his parents and located in Wisconsin. In 1865, came to Hampton, Dakota county, Minnesota, with his father who purchased one hundred and sixty acres. In 1869, Peter bought a farm in Goodhue county, which he sold in 1874, and located on his present farm in Douglass. Married January 27th, 1869, to Miss Margaret Smitch, a native of Prussia. Katie, John, Charles and Mary are their children. Mr. Doffing's farm comprises seven hundred acres, which is well improved and stocked. He gives considerable attention to raising and breeding Norman horses from imported stock.

Page 346

John Holmes

was born in 1826, in England. Was reared as a farmer and came to America in 1851, locating in Michigan. Here he worked for the railroad until 1855, then came to Dakota county, Minnesota, and preempted a portion of his present farm of two hundred and forty acres. Married in 1851 to Miss Eliza Haynes, who was born in England, August 17th, 1827. Eight children have been born to them, two sons and six daughters.

Page 346

Jacob Ista, Jr.

a native of Prussia, was born February 11th,1852. When a child of four years his parents crossed to the new world and settled in the township of Hampton, Dakota county, Minnesota. Here Jacob grew to manhood and gained a practical education. He has occupied his present farm since 1876, and has been quite successful in agricultural pursuits, having a nicely improved estate. At New Trier, in 1876, he married Miss Mena Tank. They have three little daughters, Matilda, Mary and Alvina.

Page 346

Bridget Kane

a native of Ireland, was born in 1834. In 1856, she came to America, and to Minnesota the same year, locating on the place she now occupies. She was married to Peter Kane in 1858, who departed this life in the fall of 1860. He left his widow with six children, four sons and two daughters.

Page 346

Michael Klasen

was born in Prussia, June 24th, 1829. He was occupied in pump-making and farming in his native country, and in 1861, came to America. Coming direct to Dakota county, Minnesota, he settled on a rented farm in Vermillion, and in 1862, moved to Hastings. He kept a boarding-house in that city until 1864, when he traded for his farm, to which he moved in 1866, engaged during the time at the carpenter's trade. Married in 1866, to Miss Elizabeth Schweich, who has borne him one son and one daughter, Andrew and Eva K. Mr. Klasen's father, born in 1800, lives with him. The farm of one hundred and sixty acres is finely improved and well stocked.

Page 346

Catherine McLaughlin

widow of John McLaughlin, was born in county of Mayo, Ireland, in 1826. In 1851, located at Syracuse, New York, and there made her home six years. Site then came west as far as Freeport, Illinois, and two years later came to Minnesota. Her claim in Dakota county was made after her arrival. She was made a widow by the death of her husband October 16tb, 1872. Seven children have been born to her, three sons and four daughters.

Page 346

Patrick Quinn

was born in Tipperary county, Ireland, in 1821. During early life, heengaged in farming. In 1849, he came to America and settled in Herkimer county, New York. Until 1865, he engaged in farming, was also employed in a cheese factory. Coming to Michigan at that time, he remained one year, thence to Minnesota and made his home in Hastings until 1863, then preempted his present farm, on which hehas since lived. Married at Utica, New York, in 1855, to Miss Helen Henly, who has borne him three sons and one daughter.

Page 346

N. W. Taplin was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1838. During the fall of 1855, went to DeKalb county, Illinois, and the next spring started for Hastings, Minnesota. He was a day laborer, also run a threshing machine until 1860, then purchased forty acres of his present farm. He now has one hundred and sixty acres in Douglass, also eight hundred acres in the Red River valley. Married Miss McLaughlin, in 1860, who has borne him six children. Mr. Taplin has held the office of town clerk seven years.

Page 352

E. Barry

a native of county Kilkenny, Ireland, was born in 1820. Came to America April, 1846, landing in Quebec. He lived in that city seven years, then removed to St. Paul, Minnesota. After making his home there more than a year, he removed to Eagan township, and took government claim of one hundred and sixty acres. Here he has since lived. His wife Miss Ann Grant, a native of Ireland, whom married in 1845. Patrick, Michael, Edmond, Stephen, James, John, Thomas and Joseph their surviving children.

Page 352

Hugh Burns

was born in County Mayo, Ireland,inl837. When twelve years old he came to America, and for seven years resided in Clinton, Massachusetts, thence to West Virginia, where he remained three years. Coming westward, he made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Eagan township , Minnesota, and three years later disposed of it, then purchased a farm of the same size in section 3. Mr. Burns has a fine farm and is a well-to-do farmer, has held the office of chairman of town board. Married in 1864, Maria Cunningham. Their living children are: Marv, Charles, Hugh, Elizabeth, Clara and Ellen.

Page 352

James Callan

was born in Ireland in 1830. He came to this country, in 1847, and settled in New York for five years. Thence to Ohio, and to Minnesota, locating on his present farm in 1854. He was one of the earliest settlers. His neighbors were far between. He has taken a great interest in his town county; has held the office of county commissioner several years; has been one of the town board two years; was elected clerk of the first school board of the town. He has a farm of four hundred acres, and is owner of the Callan Norman Canadian stallion, one of the finest horses in the state. Married Miss Elizabeth Hodt, a native of Ireland, in 1851. Benjamin, James, Lizzie, Margaret, Frank, Ernest, Andrew, Charles and Robert are their children.

Page 352

Patrick Coghlin

was born in County Galway, Ireland, March 6th, 1818. He came to this continent in 1852, proceeding from Boston to Clinton, Massachusetts. For years later he removed to Minnesota, locating oil a farm in Eagan township, which place has since been his home. He now holds the office of clerk of school district. Married in 1852, to Fanny Silk, a native of Ireland. Three children have been born to them: Mary Ann, Thomas and Frank.

Page 352

Franklin Hannessy

a native of Ireland, was born March 25th, 1817. Coming to America in 1830, he located at St. John, New Brunswick, and three years later removed to Eastport, Maine, soon after to Machias. Making this his his home four years he proceeded to Boston, Massachusetts, and after a residence of five years went to Portland, Maine. In 1856 he came to Minnesota, locating in Eagan township, and in 1876 purchased a farm of one hundred and twenty acres. His wife was Miss Mary Bickley, married in 1841. Six children have been born to them, only one of whom is living, John K.

Page 352

Joseph Hoysler

Is a native of Minnesota, born in Eagan in 1856. At an early age he was thrown upon his own resources, having earned his own livelihood since twelve years of age. He married Miss Melvina Le Clair, a native of Mendota, Minnesota. Two children have been born to them, Eugenia and William.

Page 353

Alexander Huard

was born in St. Nicholas, Canada, in 1818. Here he was reared to manhood and in 1848 came to Minnesota, and until 1855, lived at Mendota, then moved to Inver Grove, locating on a farm. Since 1868 hehas made his home in Eagan. Married Miss Jane McDermott, a native of Ireland, in 1854. Ellen and Mary Ann are their children.

Page 353

August Lau

was born in Germany, in 186. He lived with his parents until 1881, coming with them to America in 1872. In company with his brother Julius he opened a store at Westoott station, they being also postmasters.

Page 353

Julius Lau

a native of Germany, was born in 1859. Came to America with his parents in 1872; he lived in Sheboygan county, Wisconsin, one year, and has since lived in different towns in Dakota county, Minnesota. In 1881, he and his brother opened a store at Westeott station.

Page 353

Francis Le Clair

was born in Montreal, Canada, January 1st,1819. Came to Mendota, Minnesota, in 1849, and made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, which he sold a few months later. He, however, invested in another farm of ninety-two acres in Eagan township in 1859, where he has since lived as a tiller of the soil. Miss Eliza Labrie, a native of Montreal, became his wife August 25th, 1857. Eight children have been born to them. The living are Mary Ann, Edward, Sellena, Frank, Norman and Nelson.

Page 353

Eugene Lemay

was born in Canada East, in 1840. When thirteen years of age, he came to Mendota with his father's family, remaining with them until attaining majority. In 1867, he purchased a farm in Eagan township, and has since added to it by purchase until his farm now comprises one hundred and ninety-three acres. His marriage with Miss Julia Auge, who was born in Canada, occurred in 1862. They are the parents of six children.

Page 353

Thomas Manning

is a native of Ireland, born in County Tipperary, in 1810. Came to this continent in 1845, landing at Quebec, where he remained ten years. Coming thence to Minnesota, he remained a short time in St. Paul, then moved to what is now the town of Eagan, and made a claim of eighty acres, where he has since lived. Married in 1844, to Bridget Barry, who has home him eight children. Mary Ann and Thomas are the surviving ones.

Page 353

James McDonough

was born in County Mayo, Ireland, and, in 1859, came to America. Landing in New York, he lived there one year, then went to Vermont. In 1865, he came to Minnesota and purchased a school section in Eagan township, on which he now resides. His wife, whom he married in 1863, has borne him four children: Terrence, Annie, John and Patrick.

Page 353

John O'Leary

was born in County Cork, Ireland, in 1826. Came to America in 1849, and for two years worked in an iron foundry, then came to St. Paul, Minnesota. Two years later, he took

a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Eagan township, having now a farm of two hundred and thirty acres. Since his becoming a resident of this township, he has been a thrifty farmer. Married Mary O'Driscoll in 1851. Mary, Bridget, Daniel, Ann and John are their living children.

Page 353

Robert O'Neill

was born in Ireland, July 29th, 1811. When seven years old moved with his parents to America. Through the advice of friends his father removed to Perth, Ontario, remaining until 1828; thence to Buckingham, Lower Canada, and settled on a farm. In 1850, Robert came to Minnesota, and engaged in lumbering three years. In the meantime hemade a claim of two hundred and thirty acres in Eagan township, and in 1853, moved to it. During the fall of that year he was elected first chairman of county board of commissioners; was a member of the territorial legislature in 1857, and has since hold several town offices. In politics heis a staunch democrat. His wife was Miss Catherine Forbes, who was born on the beautiful Isle of Montreal. She has borne him twelve children, eight of whom are living.

Page 353

John Shields

a native of the Emerald Isle, was born in June, 1812. Came to America in 1850. After visiting Ohio and Illinois he arrived at Mendota, Minnesota. He lived on his farm five years then resided on General Sibley's farm thirteen years. Purchasing two hundred acres he moved to it in 1879, and built the residence in which he now lives. In 1850 he married Bridget Broderick, a native of Ireland. Michael B., John, Margaret, Mary A., Thomas, Henry, and Francis are their children.

Page 354

Michael B. Shields

was born in McHenry county, Illinois, October 1st, 1851. When about three years old he moved with his parents to Mendota, Dakota county, Minnesota, After a few years residence at this place they removed to Eagan township, and located on a farm. Mr. Shields, continued living at his father's house, and has acquired a knowledge of the carpenter's trade. Married in May, 1876, to Bridget Furey, who has borne him two children, John and Margaret.

Page 354

John Silk

was born in County Galway, Ireland, in June, 1828. After attaining majority he came to America, and for seven years worked in a cotton mill at Manchester, New Hampshire. In 1857, he settled in Eagan township, having purchased a small farm on which he lived four years, then bought his resent farm. Married on Easter Sunday, 1854, to Miss Mary Hamburg, a native of Ireland. Ten children have been born born to them: James, John, Michael, Thomas, Frances Jane, William, Henry, Edward, Mary and Charles.

Page 354

James Slater

was born in Limerick county, Ireland, in 1820. Came to this continent in 1837, and made New York his home until 1854. Coming westward to St. Paul, Minnesota, he took a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, in what is now Eagan township. His farm now consists of six hundred and forty-seven acres. In 1849, he married Miss Bridget O'Brien, a native of Ireland. They have had seven children, four of whom are living: James. Mary, Annie and George.

Page 354

Maurice Walsh

was born in Ireland in 1830. When eighteen years of age he came across the water to America, and for nine years made his home in New York. Coming to St. Paul, Minnesota, at that time, soon after came to Eagan township. He lived on his farm in that place twelve years, then purchased eighty acres of Gen. Sibley, which he now owns. Bridget Reeny became his wife in 1862, she has borne him seven children, all living. Thomas, Maurice, Jerome, John, Timothy, Daniel and , Mary.

Page 354

James Wescott

was born in Cumberland county, Maine October 22, 1823. He went to California in 1849, and followed mining until 1853. Returning to his former home, the next spring, he came to Eagan and began farming, having a claim of one hundred and sixty acres. Here he has since resided and is one of the pioneers of the county. In 1863, he entered the army, joining Company 1, First Minnesota Heavy Artillery, as junior lieutenant He was honorably discharged at Nashville, Tennessee, at the close of the war. Was elected treasurer of Dakota county in 1860, and held the office two years. His residence in Eagan is near Westcott station, which was named in his honor. August 23d, 1857, he married Mary E. Atkinson, who has borne him seven children, five are living.

Page 363

J. Ballard

a native of Port Byron, Cayuga county, New York, was born in December, 1820. When twenty-five years of age, he went to Michigan, near Grand Rapids, and purchased a farm, which he sold in 1862. Then returned to New York, bought a farm and worked it one year, then sold, and bought again in Michigan; resided there until 1866, then came to this village and purchased his present place. He was married in the fall of 1842, to Miss Mary Straight, of New York. They have two sons and one daughter, besides an adopted daughter.

Page 363

T. P. Berlin

physician and surgeon, was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, July 3d, 1823. Was educated at the university at East Liberty, paying special attention to the study of languages. After leaving school, he was in the South. In 1848, he entered Dr. Kelley's office, of Pittsburgh. He spent some time lecturing on geometry, to secure money to pursue his studies. In 1855, he came to St. Cloud, Minnesota, and for nine years he preached in the Methodist church, at Clear Water, Brooklyn and Watab, spending three years in each place, meanwhile studying medicine. In 1864, he commenced to practice in Otsego, and, in 1867, came to Farmington, where he has since enjoyed a lucrative practice. After passing an examination before the Minnesota State Homeopathic Institute, he received a diploma in 1868. He was married in 1848, to Jane M. Dennison, who died in 1874, having borne him eight children, five sons and three daughters. Married Mrs. L. Hendricks.

Page 363

E. L. Brackett

was born December 22d, 1836, at Calais, Maine. In 1847, accompanied his father, who was American consul, to Nova Scotia. In 1854, he returned to Maine. Enlisted in Ninth Maine Volunteers, in 1861, and was mustered out of service in 1864, being commissary sergeant for the regiment two years. After he was mustered out he was in the commissary department at Charleston, South Carolina, until the summer of 1865. In the fall of that year, he came to Minneapolis, in the employ of what is now the Iowa and Minnesota division of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railway. At first he was changed from Rosemount to Faribault and Mendota, where he had charge of the depots and grain warehouses of the company. December 29th, 1866, he took charge of the depot at Farmington, which he has run ever since. For the past seven years he has had charge of the elevator, and nearly all the time has dealt in lumber.

Page 363

D. Bramstedt

was born May 1stt, 1841, in Hanover, Germany. At the age of seventeen he commenced to learn cabinet making, which he has followed ever since. September 28th, 1866, he came to America and worked on wood-work in a sewing machine factory until 1868. He then went to Peoria, Illinois, and worked at cabinet making. In 1871, he went to Dubuque, Iowa, and the next year came to Wabasba, where he stayed one year, then going to Arkansas, Wisconsin, held the Position of foreman for Holbrook and Company for two years. In October, 1875, he came to Farmington and established his business as furniture dealer and undertaker. Married September 6th, 1873, Miss Augusta Affeld.

Page 364

G. S. Cable

a native of Connecticut, was born at Litchfield, May 9th, 1837. At the age of fourteen he commenced to learn the blacksmith's trade, and in 1855 went to Horseheads, Chemung county, New York, where he worked at his trade. In the fall of 1859, he went to Waukegan, Illinois, and the next spring to Muskegon, Michigan, working as engineer until the fall of 1861. He next went back to Chemung county, New York, and with another party opened a blacksmith shop in Big Flats. In the winter of 1862 hesold out to his partner and bought a farm. Enlisted in the one hundred and sixty-first New York Volunteers, August 31st, 1864, serving until October, 1865. During the winter he sold his farm and in May, 1866, came to Farmington, since running a blacksmith shop, the firm name being Lincoln and Cable. Married August, 1861, to Telina M. White. They have six sons and one daughter.

Page 364

S. C. Clemens

of the firm of Fluke and Clemens, was born Julv 18th, 1850, at La Fayette, Indiana. Attended school and graduated from college in 1869. He went to Atchison, Kansas, to run on a railroad as baggage-master, and then run a train until 1872. After engaging in business in various places in the west he entered the firm of Fluke and Clemens, druggists, in March 1878. He was married in 1875, to Ida Mahan, a native of Indiana. They have one son and two daughters.

Page 364

M. Cropper

was born November 3d, 1825, in Fayette county, Kentucky. When he was quite young his parents took him to Indiana, and when hewas eighteen years old he began to learn black-smith's trade at Greensburgh. After residing on a farm for one year in Boone county, Kentucky, in 1847 he went to Marion county, Indiana, and opened a blacksmith shop, which he run until 1861. Then went to Zionsville and engaged in general trade, which hesold in 1864, and came to Dakota county, buying a farm in Hampton. In 1874 he came to Farmington and opened a black-smith shop. September, 1877, he sold out and opened a store. Married Elizabeth Greacen in 1847.

Page 364

T. C. Davis

was born September 4th, 1830, in Strafford county, New Hampshire. He was reared as a farmer, and when sixteen years of age went to Boston; was fireman on the Boston and Maine railroad, and in 1848 went to Ohio. He assisted in building the Pittsburgh, Fort Wayne and Chicago railroad from Fort Wayne to Toledo, Ohio. He continued working on different roads until 1857; in the meantime was in a store two years at Freeport, Illinois. In 18.57 hestarted for Pike's Peak, and on September 16th, crossed into California. Returning to his native state in 1862, he proceeded the following year to Dakota county, Minnesota. He is now a real estate dealer and general collection agent at Farmington., Was instrumental in starting the Farmington bank, and was its first president. Married in 1863 to Miss Elizabeth Blaisdell, a native of New Hampshire. Mr. Davis now owns four hundred and eighty acres in Dakota county.

Page 364

G. W. Dilley

proprietor of the Empire livery and boarding stable, was born in Ohio, May 12th, 1839. Came, with his parents, to Minnesota in 1856, and for a short time lived in Kaposia. After remaining a short time in Rice county with his father who had preempted a farm near Union Lake, he took charge of a rented farm two years. He also rented a farm in Waterford in 1864, and two years later purchased land in Sciota township. Moved to Farmington in 1870, starting in the livery business. In 1877, built a fine barn, 30xlOO feet, which burned two years later. His present barn, of the same size, built of Chaska brick, with iron root, was erected in 1880. He also owns four hundred acres of land in Dakota and Renville counties. Married in 1862 to Miss Elizabeth Nicholson. Three sons and two daughters have been born to them.

Page 364

C. M. Dittman

was born March 22d, 1847, in Germany. During the summer of 1867, he came to America and located in Minnesota, on the St. Croix river, and for three years was doing business in a general store. In 1870 he removed to St. Paul, and was bookkeeper in the First National bank two years; afterwards was teller in the First National batik in Stillwater. Visited his native country in 1876, being absent only three months. The same year he became a resident of Farmington, and was instrumental in organizing the bank, having since been its cashier. He deals quite extensively in real estate, owning considerable land in Dakota county, and is also agent for several insurance companies. Miss Pettingen, of St. Paul became his wife in 1878.

Page 365

L. P. Dodge, M. D.

was born May 25th, 1839, at Sunapee, Sullivan county, New Hampshire. He was left without a mother's tender care and influence when only six weeks old, and since the age of eight years has cared for himself. In 1860, he began the study of medicine with S. M. Whipple, of New London, New Hampshire, and in October, 1861enlisted in the Sixth New Hampshire. He received an appointment in the medical department, which he held until mustered out in February, 1863. The same year, he entered the medical department of Dartmouth college, graduating and receiving a diploma in the school of allopathy in November of that year. He then began practicing in Sutton, New Hampshire; came to Farmington in 1865, and was the first practitioner in that part of the county. Married in October, 1865, to Miss Henrietta Shackelford, of Virginia. They have two sons: Warren M. and Albert A.

Page 365

W. C. Eustis

physician and surgeon, was born June 3d, 1847, at Boston, Massachusetts. During the spring of 1855, came with his parents to Minnesota, locating on a farm between Minneapolis and St. Paul. He was one of the first students in the state university, taking a course of six years; graduated June 19th, 1873, with H. M. Williamson, they being the first graduates. Read medicine with Dr. Goodrich one year, then took a medical course at Ann Arbor, Michigan. Passed one year traveling on the Pacific coast, and during the fall of 1876, entered Bellevue Hospital Medical College, receiving a diploma in 1877. Returning to Minnesota, he located at Farmington the same year, having here an excellent practice. In August, 1879, he married Miss Alice Knowles, of Farmington.

Page 365

Nicholas Everod

a native of Germany, was born in June, 1852. Came to America in 1869, locating at New Ulm, Minnesota, engaging in the meat trade. For a short time, his home was at Northfield, then to Fort Garry, in the employ of the government. He finally located at Farmington, and is now proprietor of the city meat market, which he established in October, 1876. Miss Lizzie Weisel became his wife in 1877. They have two daughters.

Page 365

H. H. Finch

was born in Michigan, in 1842. Received a common school education and was reared as a farmer, following that occupation until 1863. He then enlisted in the Tenth Michigan cavalry, Company G, as assistant veterinary surgeon, and participated in many conflicts. Was honorably discharged in 1865, at Jackson, Michigan. Returned home and remained until 1869, then came to Minnesota. Made a farm of two hundred and forty acres, in Castle Rock and gave his attention to agriculture four years. He then sold and came to Farmington, engaging in livery business. Subsequently engaged in saloon business, but when burned out traveled on the road one year. He finally established in liquor trade in Farmington. In 1862, he married Phoebe L. Goodwin. and has five children living: Reuben, Addie, Frank, Kate and Carl.

Page 365

L. P. Fluke

was born in Brownsville, Ohio, June 18th 1838. His father and grandfather were wagon-makers, and at the age of sixteen he also began the trade of his ancestors. Enlisted July 6th, 1861, in Company C, Twenty-seventh Ohio; in 1862 was detached from the regiment, and acted as hospital druggist until mustered out at Camp Chase, Ohio, in July, 1864. Two years later he came to Farmington. His first partner was Mr. Dodge, then in succession Messrs. Jones, Thurston, Currey, Perkins, Holmes, and Clemens. In 186, Mr. Fluke was appointed post-master, having held that office since. Married in 1864, to Miss Delia M. Williamson, a native of Ohio. Four daughters have been born to them.

Page 365

C. R. Griebie

proprietor of a general merchandise store, was born April 15th, 1848, in Switzerland. Came to America in 1853 and, was reared to manhood in Indiana. Enlisted in 1864, in the One Hundred and Forty-second Indiana Regiment, serving until the close of the war. In 1865, came to St. Paul, and the year after, the firm of Griebie Brothers was formed. After their failure in 1867, he worked for others until opening a store in Farmington in l875. His present store, 6Ox75 feet, was erected in 1880, it having three stories, solid brick walls of Chaska brick, veneered with Faribault stone, and a galvanized iron cornice. He is an unmarried man.

Page 366

S. V. R. Hendryx Sr.

deceased, was born in 1816, in New York. For years, while young, he was engaged with his father, who was a carpenter, in putting in locks in several Canals. Afterward he learned the tailor's trade which he followed until 1850; then engaged in the grocery business in Ohio nine years. Coming thence to Minnesota, he purchased a farm in Castle Rock township, and gave his attention to agriculture, until Farmington was laid out in 1864. Seeing the advantage to hegained in this new town he removed here, building the first dwelling east of the railroad. Miss Lucy Day became his wife, and has borne him five children: Alfred D., Miriam L., Samuel V. R., Etoile S. and Arydon M. Mr. Hendryx died some years since. His widow still lives, having married Dr. Berlin.

Page 366

S. V. R. Rendryx Jr.

was born in 18,54, in Chardon, Geauga county, Ohio. Until fifteen years of age he attended school, then with his father engaged in the grocery trade until his death. He then acted as clerk for K. Record, who purchased the business, being with him three months. Subsequently went to Minneapolis as wholesale fruit dealer, continuing four months. Returning to Farmington he and his mother were established in the millinery business some time. After trying the chromo and jewelry trade he finally engaged with Mr. Griebie in the general merchandise business, being one of his trusted clerks.

Page 366

George Herber

is a native of Luxemburg, born in September, 1837. He received only the advantages of the common school and in the fall of 1856, came to America, locating first in Albany, New York, as a driver on the Erie canal. After passing some time in Wisconsin removed to Waukegan, Illinois remaining four years, in the fish trade. Came to St. Paul in 1859, and farmed in Scott county. During the fall of 1866, came to Farmington, having since resided here. Enlisted in 1862 with the Mounted Rangers, under Gen. Sibley; was honorably discharged during the fall of 1863. The next spring was drafted and served until the close of the war. In 1866, established the Luxemburg Home, which hehas since conducted. Married in June, 1865, to Mrs. Moes, who had three sons and one daughter. They have two children: George Jr. and Anna.

Page 366

S. Jenkins

was born March 6th, 1818, in St. Johnsbury, Vermont and was reared as a farmer. In 1859 he went to Washington county, Maine, engaged there principally in lumbering until coming to St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1851. The next summer was pilot on the boat Gov. Ramsey, running from St. Anthony to Sauk Rapids. Moved to his claim in Brooklyn township and carried on his farm till 1863, then came to Lakeville township and purchased 1,036 acres, and for ten successive years raised 18,000 bushels of small grain. He sold in the spring of 1874, and opened his present farm, which he has continued to improve. Grandfather Lemuel Jenkins participated in the battle of Bunker Hill, also seven brothers and their father. One was killed but the others went through the entire revolution. Mr. Jenkin's father was enrolled in the war of 1812. Miss Eunice K. Whitney became the wife of Mr. Jenkins in 1841. Six children have been born to them, all but one being married.

Page 366

D. J. Johnson

merchant tailor and dealer in gents' ready made clothing was born July 14th, 1840, in Norway. Came to America in August, 1866, and located at Farmington, where he has since resided, with the exception of six months in St. Paul. Merchant tailoring has been his chosen occupation through life, and in Farmington he has established a fine trade. He owns his present building, which is forty by twenty feet, two stories high and was erected in 1877.

Page 366

L. W. Johnson

was born in January, 1846, and is a native of Norway. He was reared as a farmer, and in 1852, came to, America with his parents, locating in Racine county, Wisconsin. During the spring of 1856 moved to Eureka township, Dakota county. When eighteen years old, he commenced the carpenter's trade, continuing at it until 1872, then went to Owatonna and there acquired a knowledge of the jeweler's trade. After two years experience, located at Farmington, having since pursued his trade as watchmaker and jeweler, dealing also in plated ware, toys and instruments. Married in 1868, Miss Julia 0leson. One son and three daughters have been born to them.

Page 366

Roswell Judson, whose native state is New York, was born in Delaware county, November 19th, 1806. He attended school at Butternuts, Otsego county, then for nearly five years taught school. Began the study of law about 1829, with Timothy Jenkins, of Oneida county, Now York; after reading five years, was admitted to the court of common pleas, in 1834, was admitted to practice in the supreme court of chancery. Removed to Sherburne, Chenango county, in 1835, where the firm of Maynard and Judson was formed. Was appointed first judge of court of common pleas, of Chenango county in 1843, also surrogate, continuing in these offices seven and one-half years. Located at Hastings in 1863, and in 1867, at Farmington. In connection with his duties as a lawyer, he has held the office of justice of the peace. Married in 1835, Miss Amanda Harris, who died the same year. His present wife was Lucy M. Babcock, who has borne him three sons; J. Walls residing at Louisville, Kentucky, has been in the employ of the government since 1872; R. C. is secretary of the state agricultural society, and H. Harris is clerk of the town. They are all married.

Page 367

W. L. Knowles was born May 6th, 1860, in Ellison, Warren county, Illinois. Here was his home until 1865, then his father removed to Minneapolis, Minnesota, in the mercantile trade, his son W. L. acting as clerk. They remained in business till June, 1867, then removed to Farmington, and engaged in general merchandise During the winter of 1876, death removed the father and his son succeeded him in business. Was married in February, 1880, to Miss Curtis.

Page 367

W. C. Levitt

was born July 17th, 1854, at Patten, Maine. Graduated from Bates college, June 22d, 1876. The fall of the same year he entered the law office of Hutchinson, Savage and Sanborn; was admitted to the bar during the fall of 1877. Entered the Boston University Law School in the fall of 1877, which he left in July, 1878, and started for Bismarck, Dakota territory. In April, 1880, located at Farmington. Miss Pettingill became his wife in 1878.

Page 367

T. McHoffie

was born May 29th, 1853 in St. Lawrence county, New York. At the age of fifteen years commenced the blacksmith's trade and has since followed it. Came to Avon, Minnesota in 1873, and opened a shop; the next year went to Minneapolis and one year later to Farmington; in 1876, removed to Iowa, and two years Subsequently returned to Hastings. The present firm of McHoffie and Johnson was formed November 12th, 1880. Miss Josephine Levene became his wife in 1876. Edith and A. Arenus are their children.

Page 367

A. McKenna

was born in June, 1840, at Providence, Rhode Island, and was there reared to manhood. Came westward in 1859, and gave his attention to farming. In 1872, came to Minneapolis, Minnesota, and located at Farmington the year following, having since resided here. Enlisted in 1863, in Company H., Seventeenth Wisconsin Infantry, under Col. Doran; was honorably discharged at Washington, in 1865. Married in June, 1880, to Miss Bridget Harrington.

Page 367

M. Meeker

grain dealer and proprietor of Farmington and Rosemount elevators, was born at Fort Ann, Washington county, New York, October 14th, 1844. He was raised as a farmer and came to Minnesota, locating at Farmington, in 1867. Here he opened a butcher-shop, and in 1871, established a general store at Castle Rock, carrying on that business until December 14th, 1880. He purchased the Castle Rock elevator in 1879, and those at Farmington and Rosemount in August, 1880. Also in 1879, began breeding Jersey cattle and Essex hogs. He handled about 400,000 bushels of grain from the crop of 1880. While at Castle Rock was postmaster and justice of the peace eight consecutive years. Mr. Meeker married Miss Florence Coming. Blanche, Merrill and Newell are their children.

Page 367

A. L. Needham

was born in Massachusetts, May 12th, 1837, and was raised as a farmer. In 1851, removed, with his parents, to Cleveland, Ohio, and engaged in a foundry. During the fall of 1855, went to Rockford, Illinois, and was there in the employ of the reaper manufacturing company. Four years later, came to Dakota county, having worked in a foundry a part of each year. At the time of the Indian outbreak, he went to Fort Ridgely, and, in 1864, enlisted in the Eleventh Minnesota Volunteers under Colonel Gilfillan, being mustered out in 1865. On returning, his time was divided working in a foundry winters and on his farm at Northfield in summer. In 1867, sold his farm, and three years later came to Farmington. Married in 1860 to Miss Josephine M. Whittaker. They have only one daughter living, named Hattie M.

Page 368

E. Z. Needham

was born March 25th, 1843, in Wales, Massachusetts. Came to Ohio in 1852, and attended school, thence to Rockford, Illinois, and in 1859, to Green Vale, Dakota county, where heworked with his brother on a farm. April 29th, 1861, was mustered in the First Minnesota Regular Volunteers; re-enlisted in 1864, in the Eleventh Minnesota Infantry, being mustered out in July, 1865. Returning to civil life, he was employed in a machine shop at Northfield until 1870. December 25th, 1864, Miss Georgiana Holt became his wife, and has borne him three daughters: Bertha I., Kate May and Eva.

Page 368

Martin Niskern

was born October 8th, 1816, in Schoharie, Schoharie county, New York. His youth was spent on a farm and in school. Came to Minnesota in 1854, and settled on a claim near Shakopee. In the spring of 1857, hesold his claim and returned east. Returning in the fall, he settled again on a farm between Chaska and Shakopee. While on his first claim, was an eye witness to a bloody battle between the Sioux and Chippewa Indians, which was carried on in their most terrible style of warfare. In 1868, moved to what was known as the South Branch Inn, and kept it one year, thence to Hastings and kept the old Reed house, or "tavern," near the city; then to the Hermitage, which he managed in connection with his farm, three years. Removing to Eureka, hepurchased a farm, and, in 1867, came to Empire town; to his present hotel in 1868. Has been twice married; first to Miss Lucia Palmatier. She died in 1865, having borne him seven children. His present wife, was Miss Ballard, from Wisconsin.

Page 368

W. I. Oleson

born December 30th, 1849, is a native of Norway. His youth was spent on a farm. Came to America July 4th, 1869, locating at Farmington. Engaged in agriculture two years, then in a boot and shoe store one year previous to starting in that business for himself, which he did in the spring of 1876. The firm of Oleson and Company was formed March 1st,1881, carrying a general stock of dry goods, groceries, crockery, glassware, boots and shoes, hats and caps. Miss Oleson became his wife, in 1875. They have one daughter, Esther, born April 3d, 1879.

Page 368

J. O. Rich

pastor of the Methodist Episcopal church, was born at Lake Pleasant, now called Hamilton, Montgomery county, New York, in 1813. When eight years old, removed with his parents to Chautauqua county, and there acquired his literary education. Entered the Erie annual conference, of the Methodist Episcopal church, in 1835,and was a member twenty years. At the end of a two years pastorate at Painesville, Ohio, he came to Minnesota in 1856. Pre-empted eighty acres in Empire township, which hestill owns. He has been a member of the Minnesota annual conference since the spring of 1858. Has filled the following appointments: Vermillion, Faribault, Market street, St. Paul; St. Peter district, Owatonna, Red Wing circuit and district, Winona, Duluth mission and Hastings, and is now acting as pastor at Farmington the second year. Married September 19tb, 1839, to Miss Maria J. Wellman, a native of Schoharie county, New York. They have two children: Captain Watson W. of Minneapolis, chief engineer of the Minneapolis and St Louis railroad; Lulu, now wife of Rev. B. P. Raymond, traveling with her husband in Europe.

Page 368

Ben. Richardson

was born in Virginia in 1850, as a slave. His parents died when he was very young, he being then taken by an uncle who reared him and finally liberated him. In 1866 he came to Minnesota, having since been a resident of the state, living seven years of the time in Northfield. He has been a barber and hair-dresser ten years, and established his trade in Farmington, August 10th, 1878. Here he was married.

Page 368

James Rodgers

pastor of the Presbyterian church, was born in Hammond, St. Lawrence county, New York, October 9th, 1840. Prepared for college at Ogdensburg Institute, and in the fall of 1861, entered Hamilton college. Was a thorough student, and graduated with high honors. Subsequently he went to Turkey, and was for two years a tutor in Robert college, at Constantinople. In 1868, was chosen tutor in Hamilton college, which position he filled one year. Entering upon the study of theology at Union Seminary, New York city, he graduated in 1870, and has since been preaching. Was located at Hammond, New York, from 1871 to 1873, at Wilmar, Minnesota, from 1873 to 1875, since then having been pastor at Farmington. June 17th, 1874, hemarried Miss Lizzie Spottswood of Lewiston, Pennsylvania. Walter S., Robert F. and Nannie B. are their children.

Page 369

F.G. Stevens

was born February 18th, 1841, at Fort Ann, New York. In 1849, he accompanied his parents to Wisconsin, and there attended school until 1854, when he came with his parents to Castle Rock township, afterwards removing to Farmington. He still owns one hundred and twenty acres on sections 8 and 18, of Castle Rock. He is a farmer and a veterinary surgeon. Married January 1st, 1867, Mary J. Van Valkenburg, who has borne him five children: Frank M., James H., Claudia B., Freeland H. and Laura B.

Page 369

John H. Thurston was born in Portland, Maine, January 25, 1832. He spent his early life with his parents attending school. His advantages for an education were good and well improved. In 1848, he went to learn the machinists trade, at which he worked for one year, when he engaged in a provision store until the spring of 1855, when he with his parents came to Minnesota and spent his first summer at St. Paul at work at the machinist's trade. He, with his father, made a claim in Lakeville town. That fall, he with his brother Sumner, made a trip with the surveyors, who were engaged on the survey of the Minnesota and North-western railroad, but which was not built. In the spring he moved on his claim. He was married in November, 1858, to Miss Ellen M. Brimhall, daughter of N. and A. Brimhall. In 1861, he enlisted in Company C, Fourth Minnesota Regiment, and was ordered to Fort Ridgely, when he received the appointment of quartermaster sergeant. They were ordered south in April, 1862. He was transferred to the Forty-ninth United States Infantry in July, 1863; promoted to adjutant of the same regiment. In February, he was promoted to first lieutenant. He resigned in March, 1864. He re-enlisted the same year as clerk in the quartermaster's department. September 30th, he was placed in charge of the general hospital of the army of the Tennessee, at Atlanta, and made the trip to the sea with Sherman. Returning, he spent 1866-'67, on his farm. In the spring of 1868, he sold his farm to S. Johnson, and purchased A. Jones' interest in the drug business, and with Mr. Fluke carried on the trade until July, 1869, when he purchased Mr. Fluke's interest, and has continued the trade since. In March, 1872, he received an appointment as route agent on the Hastings and Dakota road, leaving his business with his wife and father. He had two children by his first wife, Mary Louise and Merrill, both died. His wife died in 1865. He was married again in 1866, to Miss Louisa Morbaugh, of Cambridge City, Indiana. He was badly injured on the road, December 6th, 1876. He left the road, October 3d, 1877. They have one son, Walter W., born May 6th, 1876.

Page 369

Daniel M. Thurston

was born in Scarborough, Maine, October 31st, 1801. His early life was spent with his parents on a farm, and at school. In 1814 he went to live with his grand-parents, to learn the shoe-maker's trade, at which he worked until 1818, then went to sea, and was engaged in the coasting trade until 1831, then engaged in a provision store, where he remained for eight years. He returned to the sea, which he followed until 1840, when he again engaged in the provision trade for himself, in the city of Portland. In 1852, he was elected to the common council of that city. He came to Minnesota in 1855. Made a claim in Lakeville town, and returned to St. Paul and kept the old hotel known as the Now England house, which was the old Governor Ramsey house, which stood on Third street next to Forbes and Kittson's old store. He had land broken and a shanty erected on his claim that year. He settled on his claim in the spring of 1856. In the fall of 1857 he erected his first frame house. He has lived with his son John for several years. He has passed a long and useful life, and is honored and respected by all.

Page 369

Daniel Underwood

was born September 23d, 1812, and is a native of England. His occupations were those of butcher and farmer. Came to America in 1853, locating at St. Paul, Minnesota, and opened a meat market, there being at that time only two aside from his, in the city. In 1855, removed to Lebanon township, Dakota county, and preempted one hundred and sixty acres. Two years later went to Mendota; opened a market and furnished the railroad construction company, also the soldiers at Fort Snelling. In 1863, sold out and purchased a farm in Rosemount, which he carried on with stock raising. Moved to Farmington in 1872 having disposed of his farming interests. Mr. Underwood and son are the proprietors of the Pioneer mills, they having purchased it in 1874. March 2d, 1841, his marriage with Miss Susan Spreckley of England, occurred. One son and one daughter have been born to them.

Page 370

H. W. Van Valkenburg

was born October 3d, 1846, in McHenry county, Illinois, and was reared on the farm. He located at Richfield, Hennepin county, Minnesota, in 1853, where his father preempted one hundred and sixty acres. He moved to Hastings in 1860. September 1st, 1864, enlisted as Hiram W. Van, in the Fourth Minnesota, and was mustered out June 15th, 1865, at Louisville, Kentucky; was with General Sherman in his march to the sea, and at the grand review at Washington. Returning, he lived on his father's farm in Castle Rock until 1869, then went to Hastings and engaged in selling agricultural machinery. In 1871, removed to Farmington, and carried on furniture and undertaking business till 1880. He then opened a general merchandise store, where he still continues. On Christmas, 1868, he was united in marriage with Miss Emma J. Rice. They have one son and three daughters.

Page 370

H. C. Wing

deputy sheriff of Dakota county, was born June 8th, 1835, in Kennebec county, Maine. His youth was passed on the farm and in school. In l858,went into a general merchandise trade at North Vassalborough; sold out in 1862 and came to St. Cloud, Minnesota, and the fall of the same year went to Randolph, Wisconsin, as a telegraph operator. In 1865, came to Farmington, being the first operator here; held the office till 1867, also built the second house in town. Messrs. Wing and Rice started the first foundry in Farmington. During the winter of 1859, he married Miss Julia A. Pettingill of Maine. Two sons and two daughters were born to them.

Page 370

Fletcher Winters

was born in the city of New York, in 1843. When two years of age left with his parents for Waterville, Maine. Here his father engaged in the meat trade while he gained an education. At the age of eleven years he started alone for himself, going to Caanan, Maine, where he worked at farming a number of years. In 1863, came to Stillwater, Minnesota, where for seven or eight years he gave his attention to lumbering. Thence to Minneapolis, for three years he was a barber by trade, then moved to Glencoe and farmed five years, Coming to Farmington in 1873. He followed his trade till June, 1880, then for a short time dealt in groceries and dry goods. Returning again to his trade, heis now running a first-class shop. In 1866, married Miss Henrietta Close of Bangor, Maine. Etta N., Mansen A., Allen, Vivian and Orie, are their children.

Page 370

Dietrich Becker

a native of Germany, was born April 21st, 1829. Attending school until fourteen years of age, he began an apprenticeship of five years in a wagon-maker's shop. July 1st, 1851, coming to America, he arrived at Cleveland, Ohio, where he remained until July, 1856, next coming to Hastings, where heopened the first and at that time only wagon shop in the city. The first building, eighteen by twenty-tour feet, was soon left for a fine three story block, in which hekept five fires, and gave employment to fourteen men most of the time. Mr. Becker was always liberal in giving encouragement to public enterprises in the city, aid was one of the committee which had charge of the building of the Lutheran Evangelical church, to which he was the largest contributor. If is first wife, to whom he was married in 1855, died August 14th, 1871, leaving three sons and four daughters. Dora, Anna, John, Susie, Henry, Katie, Christian. Henry died in 1873. June 11th, 1872, married his present wife, who has borne him two sons and two daughters: Henry, Louisa, George and Henrietta.

Page 370

D. Benson

was born in Madison, Lenawee county, Michigan, April 7th, 1840. When fifteen years old he went to Missouri and engaged in farming. January, 1860, removed to Illinois, and in June, 1861, came to Ravenna, and for one year rented a farm, then was two years on a rented place in Vermillion. In the fall of 1863, purchased his present farm of three hundred and twenty acres, and the following spring made his improvements. Mr. Benson is extensively engaged in stock-raising and dealing. December 25th, 1870, he married Mary E. Scott.

Page 371

A. A. Day

a native of Washington county, Maine, was born May 28th, 1838. He lived there until 1854, attending school and engaged in lumber business, then came with his father, Leonard Day, to Minneapolis, and until 1878, was a member of the lumber firm of L. Day and Sons. In April, 1879, he moved to his farm of 960 acres in this township, where hehas been engaged in farming and stock-raising. Married in October, 1868, Louisa Smith, of St. Paul, who has borne him one son and two daughters, Wilbur S., Abbie and Grace L.

Page 371

John Feely

farmer and stock-raiser, is a native of Ireland, born June 24th, 1881. After receiving a common school education in that country, he came to America in 1849, and for some time worked as a laborer in Massachusetts and Connecticut. Arrived in St. Paul, May 1st, 1861, and immediately came to Empire, where he worked for other parties four months, then rented a farm, and in 1865, purchased his present place, on which he has made all the improvements. Married August 15th, 1853, Bridget Gartland, of Ireland. They have four children, John J., Patrick, James and Mary.

Page 371

John J. Feely

farmer and stock-raiser, was born November 26th, 1855, in Massachusetts. His father brought him to Empire in the fall of 1861. In March, 1876, he purchased his farm of one hundred and sixty acres, on which he made improvements, building his residence, one of the finest in the township, in the spring of 1878. Married January 7th, 1878, to Mary Gibbons, who has borne him two children, Joseph and James.

Page 371

Thomas Fitzgerald

was born in County Limerick, Ireland, in 1824. Came to America in the summer of 184.3, landing at Montreal, Canada. Soon after settled in Vermont, and for three years was engaged in farming. Thence he removed to Madison county, Illinois, and after remaining there two years, came to Dakota county, and took a claim in Rosemount. In 1867, he removed to his present residence on section 11, in this township. He now owns 760 acres of land in this county. Married in 1853 to Bridget Laeman. They have had nine children, eight are living.

Page 371

Asa Fletcher

born in Washington county, Maine, November 17th, 1808. Was brought up as a farmer and lumberman, and moved to St. Anthony, October 15th, 1850. January 9th, 1853, he removed to the west side of the river, where he owned forty acres of land near the city. In the fall of 1867, he came to Empire and opened up the farm he had preempted while living in Minneapolis. Carried on this farm until 1872, then went into business in Farmington, which he continued until March, 1880, when he sold his stock to his sons, and returned to the farm. Married, May 10th, 1836, to Julia A. S. Nash, who died October 5th, 1839, leaving one son and a daughter. Married his second wife, Nancy Howe, June 6th, 1845. She died December 4th, 1865, having borne him eight children. His living children are: F. M., Albert C,, W. D., Eliza E. and W. J.

Page 371

William Gibbons was born in Ireland in 1808. Came to America in 1849, and located in Massachusetts. May 4th, 1855, he came to Eagan and preempted one hundred and sixty acres of land, afterwards purchased forty acres more. October 25th, 1868, he purchased the present property on which he has made all the improvements. Married Mary Burns, September, 1839. They have nine children: David, John, Walter, Austin, Thomas, Kate, Mary, Nora, William. Bridget died.

Page 371

D. Gibbons

a native of Ireland, was born September 3d, 1840. Came to America with his parents when nine years old. In May, 1855,they came to Minnesota, where young Gibbons acquired his education. In 1866, he, with his brother, purchased a farm, which they run until 1870, when hepurchased one hundred and sixty acres where henow lives, to this adding one hundred and twenty acres in 1880. He married Catherine Welch September 1st, 1867. They have seven children: William, James, Mary, Thomas, Grace, Anna, Emma. Mr. Gibbons is a member of the board of county commissioners.

Page 371

John Gibbons

was born May 5tb, 1842, in Ireland. Coming to America with his parents in 1849, he was in Massachusetts until 1855, when the family came to Eagan township, where his father purchased a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, which John bought in May, 1865, and made all the improvements, building residence, barns and fences the same year. Married, November 13th, 1866, Anna Newell, who was born in Ireland, and came to this country in 1847. They have one son, Walter.

Page 372

William Harrington was born in Highgate, Vermont, April 16th, 1829. In June, 1860, came to Rosemount. In 1868, purchased his present farm in Empire, and made all the improvements. In the fall of 1873, he was elected countv treasurer, and during his term of office lived in Hastings. Married March 27th, 1853, Miranda Hunter, who has borne him one son and three daughters.

Page 372

S. C. Headley

born April 12th, 1833, is a native of Essex county, New Jersey. At the age of seventeen, he began to learn the shoemaker's trade, and worked alternately at his trade, and at farming. In 1855 hewent to Illinois, and after farming for a time, worked at drilling artesian wells. Came to Hastings in 1857, and until 1866 was in the well business. Then purchased the property in Empire he now owns, of one hundred and sixty acres and began to improve it, and has since attended to raising and dealing in stock. Married Jennie V. Wiggins.

Page 372

A. J. Irving

was born December 1st, 1830, in Washington county, New York. After working in a store for some time hecame to Illinois in the fall of 1853, and started in trade. He came to St. Anthony in 1855, and soon after his arrival came to Empire township and took a claim of one hundred and sixty acres. Mr. Irving has always taken an active part in the affairs of the town; was the first justice of the peace in the township, and performed the second marriage service celebrated in the place. Married June 6th, 1854, to Esther H. Evans, of Bainbridge, Chenango county, New York. They have had four children, two of whom are living, Elmer L. and Edgar L. Edward E. and Percy L. deceased.

Page 372

Michael Johnston was born in Mayo county, Ireland, September 21st, 1823. Attended school until twelve years of age and then went to work upon a farm. In 1846 he came to America and located in Rhode Island, where he remained seven years. In 1851 he made a visit to McGregor, Iowa, and in 1858, went to Chicago, and for a year worked in car-shops. In April, 1854, came to St. Paul on the boat, War Eagle, and during the summer made a claim near Lake Crystal in Lakeville. In the summer of 1863, hepurchased his present farm and erected a log shanty on it, occupying it in the spring of 1865. Besides his farms in this county, Mr. Johnston has three hundred and twenty acres under cultivation in Stevens county. The first mass celebrated in Lakeville township was in Mr. Johnston's house, by Rev. John McMahon, in April, 1855. Married January 3d, 1853, Mary Newell, who has borne him eleven children, eight of whom are living: James C., Ellen, Frank, John, Mary J., Steven E., Anna and Martha.

Page 372

J. Lockwood

a native of Sullivan county, New York, was born October 15th, 1830. At the age of sixteen, he began to learn the tailor's trade in Unionville, Orange county. Coming to St. Paul the 23d of April, 1855, the same day took a claim in Eureka township. This he sold in 1865, and purchased eighty acres in Empire, sold this two years later, and, purchased his present farm of one hundred and sixty acres, broke most of it, made the improvements and has since been engaged in farming and stock raising. In the winter of 1865, he enlisted in the First Minnesota Artillery, under Colonel Baxter, and served until the close of the war. Married October, 1863, Mrs. Brisbin, a native of Massachusetts. They have two sons: Arthur R. and T. J.

Page 372

Porter Martin

was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, July 12th, 1827. When seven years old, his parents took him to Williamstown, Orange county, Vermont, and in 1844, brought him to Chicago, Illinois. His father made a claim in Cook county, and resided there until 1849, and then Peter went to Waukegan, Wisconsin, and until 1851, was engaged in teaming. Next went to Will county, and for a time speculated in land and live stock. In the summer of 1856, hecame to Hampton and settled on a claim, which his father had previously selected. Married in the fall of 1858, Sarah Archer, daughter of Richard Archer, one of the early settlers of Chicago. Their children are: Rossie L., Louie P., Richard A. and Guy C.

Page 372

R. Peters

born October 26th, 1823, is a native Vermont. In 1832 he accompanied his parents to Macomb county, Michigan, and there was employed on a farm. In 1848 he went to Chicago, and after remaining there a short time took a drove of horses to Mississippi. In 1844, went to New Orleans and until the winter of 1856-7 was engaged in flat-boating. Then came to Minneapolis, and for a time dealt in timber and lands. The next winter he went back to Vermont, and in 1859 returned to Minneapolis and worked on a farm near that city. In 1860 he moved upon his present place, on section nine, where he has five hundred acres of land. Married February, 1859, to Sarah E. Soule of Vermont. Richard H., Salmon J., Eugene W., Franklin, and Helen S. are their children.

Page 373

E. A. Rice

farmer and stock raiser, was born in Washington county. Vermont, March 8th, 1836. He remained on his father's farm until April 17th, 1860, when he came to Hastings, and in the fall purchased a share in a threshing machine and operated it for ten consecutive seasons. For about two years he was in the well-digging business. In 1863 he purchased a farm in Empire, which he worked for a time. In 1872 he improved his present farm, erecting the buildings and fences. Married February 13th, 1873, Louisa Milliken, who has borne him two children; Albert L. and Sarah L. .

Page 373

Nathan Seeley

was born in Schoharie county, New York, April 15th, 1820. Was raised as a farmer, residing on his father's farm until April 5th, 1868, when he came to Empire and purchased his present place of one hundred and sixty acres, and has since been engaged in raising Cotswold sheep, and farming and dairying. Married October 26th, 1846, Nancy C. Slack. They have one son and three daughters: Belle, Hattie, Howard N. and Katie.

Page 373

Thomas Ward was born September,1818, in Ireland. He was engaged herding until 1849,when he came to America and located in Massachusetts, where he was engaged in farming. In April, 1855, arrived in St. Paul on the famous War Eagle, and went to work for Dr. Borup and other parties. In 1868, came to Eagan township and purchased forty acres of land on which he lived until he bought his present farm of one hundred acres in Empire township. Married in April, 1857, Kate Devitt, a native of Ireland, by whom he has had two sons, Andrew and John.

Page 373

Albert Whittier

farmer and stock raiser, was born April 17th, 1828, in Grafton county, New Hampshire. Worked on a farm and learned the tanner's trade. March 23d, 1852, went to Ohio and worked on railroads for a time. May 29th, 1866, came to St. Anthony, where he worked as contractor and builder until November 17th, 1860. He then came to this township and rented a farm for one year, then purchased a portion of his present property. Married June 24th, 1851, Lucy A. Wellington. They have four children: Addie B., Helen A.. Frank A., and Lucy E.

Page 380

Alexander A. Barclay

was born in Hartford, Connecticut, 1843. Came to Minnesota with his brother at the age of twelve years and settled in Scott county. In 1861, he enlisted in Company C, First Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, and at the expiration of the ninety day's term, re-enlisted in Company C, Fourth Minnesota, serving in the army of the Tennessee through the war, participated in the leading battles of that army, among which were the siege at Vicksburg, Atlanta, and on the "March to the sea." His command took part in the grand review at Washington in June, 1866, and was finally mustered out at Louisville, Kentucky, in July of that year. Mr. Barclay returned to Scott county, and in 1872, removed to his present home in Eureka township.

Page 381

Emily Bennett

is a native of Hillsborough, New Hampshire, born 1812. When a child, her parents removed to Newport, same state, where she was reared and educated. At the age of sixteen years, she married Luke Atwood, of Newport, and after a residence there many years, came west and settled at Elgin, Illinois, where they lived six years. Here Mr. Atwood died and his widow remarried, to J. Bennett. They removed to Michigan, thence in 1861 removed to Eureka township. Mrs. Bennett has now been a widow several years. Her children by her first husband numbered twelve, only five of whom are living. Amos Atwood, aged fifty-one years, lives with his mother and is farming. He married Miss Helen L. Peabody and has one adopted daughter, Bessie. Mary L. is the wife of W. Bunnell of Troy, Winona county; Fannie S. is the wife of H. B. Johnson son of Farmington, Emma is the wife of George Perry of Fulton, Illinois, Louisa J. is the wife of George Bunnell of Minneapolis.

Page 381

David Burton

was born in Hampton county, Massachusetts, July 31st, 1830, of old New England ancestry. Here he was raised and educated at the public schools. On attaining majority removed to Maine and lived two years. During the spring of 1855 he and wife, as two of a colony of eight, started for the far distant falls of St. Anthony. Joining the corps of government surveyors, he was away about three months surveying about Fort Ridgely and north of Anoka. During October of the same year he came to the present town of Eureka and preempted one hundred and sixty acres. Returning to Minneapolis in 1856 he worked in a shingle mill, remaining until July, 1857, then returned to his claim. Remaining on his farm until 1866 he then sold and returned to Massachusetts for two years, thence to New Auburn, Minnesota, seven years, then back to Eureka where he has since lived. Enlisted in 1863 in the Second Minnesota Volunteer Cavalry, being mustered out of service in December, 1865, at Fort Snelling. Mr. Burton has served in town offices at different times. Married in 1853, Miss Elmira E. Davis. Laura E., Forest W., Martha A., Addie B., Minnie E., Lydia A. and David L., are their children.

Page 381

Christopher H. Gulbrandson

was born in Norway, in 1853, and at the age of twenty-four came to America, and settled in Rice county, Minnesota. Here he learned the trades of wagon-maker and blacksmith. In 1876 he purchased the shop at Christiana, where he located and still remains. He is deputy postmaster at Christiana and attends to the business of the office.

Page 381

Cyrus M. Kingsley

a native of the old "Bay State," was born in Hampshire county, March 8th, 1831. His ancestors date their lineage back to the pilgrim fathers. He was reared and received a liberal education in his native land, in the meantime learning the trade of carpenter and builder. Coming to Port Jervis he worked at his trade until June, 1852, then came west, arriving at St. Paul in September of that year, thence to Traverse des Sioux, where he passed the winter. During the spring of 1853 he was engaged in the construction of the old "Dodd" road, for which service it happens he never received his pay. Returning to St. Paul, he worked in the sash and door factory until winter, then entered a foundry. Mr. Kingsley constructed the first foundry buildings in that city. In 1868 he made a claim in section 8, where he has since lived, now having one of the prettiest homes and finest improved estates in the county. He has taken a prominent part in the interests of the township, having held many of the town offices. Married in Goshen, Hampshire county, Massachusetts, to Miss Susan Pynchon, a lady of accomplishment and education. Lillie A. and John are their children.

Page 381

Quartus Kingsley

was born on Staten Island, December 6th, 1829, and while yet a child his parents removed to Hampshire county, Massachusetts. Here his youth was passed, also the knowledge of brass and iron moulding was acquired. Worked at his trade in his native state, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. In 1860, he came west and located in Eureka, near his brother, where he still lives, having a desirable farm with first-class improvements. An enterprising and accommodating citizen, heis highly esteemed throughout the whole community. Married in 1858, to Miss Elmira Shippy, who has borne him three children, Effie, Walter C. and Nellie.

Page 381

T. N. Lillemo

was born in Norway, 1847, where he was reared and received his education, also learned the blacksmith's trade. Came to the United States in 1870 and settled in Wisconsin, where heworked at his trade and farming one year, then located at Castle Rock, Minnesota, and ran a blacksmith's shop. During June, of 1879, moved to his present farm, has some finely bred horses, and is a farmer of enterprise and intelligence. July 6th, 1872, he married Miss Annie Olson, of Iowa. They have six children: Oscar, Olena, Carl, Ida and Hannah, twins, and Tilda.

Page 382

Phineas Morton

deceased, was born in Hardwick, Massachusetts, October 12th., 1805, and was reared at the place of his nativity. In consequence of declining health hecame west in 1858, and preempted land in what is now section 5, Eureka townsbip. Here he passed the remainder of his life, having a fine estate of two hundred and forty acres. He passed away in August, 1874, esteemed and respected by all who knew him. His widow, Sarah E. Morton, nee Brimhall, was born in Pownal, Vermont.. November 5th, 1819. When a child of two years her parents removed to Hardwick, Massachusetts, where she grew to maturity. March 10th, 1846, she was united in marriage with Pbineas Morton. Her four children born to her during this marriage, are all living. George L., Frank A., Harriet A. and Stephen P., the youngest, is attending college at St. Paul.

Page 382

Alexander Pryor

deceased, was born in Canada East, in 1809,and when a young man removed to New Brunswick, remaining there in business until 1855. He then migrated westward, coming to the territory of Minnesota, and preempted a claim in Green Vale township. Here he made his home until 1861; then settled in Eureka in section 36, living there till his death, which occurred December 6th, 1880. He was possessed of a fine landed estate of two hundred and forty acres, and was an honored and respected citizens His widow, Ann Pryor, nee Smith, is a native of New Brunswick, born September 4th, 1817. She grew to maturity at her native place, and married Mr. Pryor in 1836. She remained his life long companion, and bore him eleven children, all of whom are living. John, William and Alexander are residents of Clay county; Guilford has charge of the old farm; Henry resides in Castle Rock township; Susan is the wife of Charles Plumber of Clay county; Annie, wife of Walter Tanner of same county; Eliza J., wife of John Costian of same county; Lizzie, wife of Mr. Ewers of Amherst county, Virginia; Charlotte, wife of Mr. Merwin of Oakland, California. Mrs. Pryor has thirty grand-children and two great-grand-children.

Page 382

Rev. Nels A. Quammen

was born in Bergen district, Norway, March 13tb, 1839. When a child of eight years, came to America with his parents and settled in Dane county, Wisconsin. Here hewas reared and first attended the public school, afterward pursued his studies at the Madison high school, then in the Lutheran college at Decorah, Iowa, flnally completed his course at Concordia college at St. Louis, Missouri, from which he graduated with honors in the class of 1866, and was ordained in 1866, at Manitowoc, Wisconsin. He at once accepted his present charge at Eureka, where hehas since made his home, has now the charge of his original church, the Christian Lutheran church, the Valley Grove congregation at Wheeling, Rice county, the Zion church at Faribault, the Fox Lake congregation of Rice county, and visits others when time and opportunity Permit. Rev. Quammen preaches in Scandinavian, German and English, and is also thoroughly conversant with the dead languages. Married in 1866, to Miss Margaret L. Bolstad. Their children are: Maria J., Ingelborg L., Albert G. and Clara M., all of whom are at home.

Page 382

Peter Thompson

is a native of Northern Norway, born in 1836. Came to the United States at the age of sixteen years and settled in Dane county, Wisconsin, resided there three years. His education was acquired in Norway and Wisconsin. Coming to Minnesota in 1857, he took a claim on the site of his present farm, and has since made it his home. Has held the office of town supervisor, and has been re-elected town treasurer since 1878. Married at Eureka in 1858, to Miss Barbara Oleson, of Hastings. Seven children, four boys and three girls have been born to them. Mr. Thompson enlisted in 1864, in the Second Minnesota Light Artillery, and served until the close of hostilities; was discharged at Fort Snelling in August, 1865.

Page 382

Rev. Nels E. Wikie

was born in Norway, December 8th, 1842. His home was in his native land until 1865. Acquired in the meantime a good education, then immigrated to America. After his arrival he pursued his studies at the Augustana college of Paxton Illinois and was ordained minister at Moline, Illinois in 1869. The same year took charge of the Norwegian Evangelical church of Christiana, at Eureka, of which he is still pastor; also presides over the congregations of Rice and Goodhue counties. Married, 1865, in Norway, and has one adopted child. Rev. Wikie is an accomplished scholar, and much esteemed by his parishioners and friends.

Page 388

T. Aslaksen

a native of Norway, was born in 1825. His youth was passed in his native country, and in 1851 he came to America and settled in Wisconsin where he lived for five years. He then came to Green Vale, locating on his present farm. Married in 1857 to Miss Dorotha Cardals, a native of Norway. Six children have been born to them; the living are Alak, Eli, Karl, Orlak and Adolf.

Page 388

Jackson Baird

born March 14th, 1834, in Ireland. Coming to America in 1849, he made his home in Wisconsin two years; then went to Canada and learned the carpenter's trade. Following that pursuit eight years he removed thence to Green Bay, Wisconsin, remaining two years; then to the south in the employ of the government. In 1866 he came to Green Vale after a visit to Northfield. He located on a farm, which he purchased in 1873. Married, July 3d, 1865, Miss Nellie Swerdfefegr. James, Nancy E., Mary E., John J., Franklin B., Ella F. Jacob Van A. and Freddie are their children.

Page 388

J. P. Campbell

was born in Washington county, New York, in 1817. Here was his home until 1830, when he went to Oneida county, and seven years later to Illinois. Going to California in 1853, he remained two years, returning thence to Minnesota and settled at Faribault where he tarried only a short time. He then came to Green Vale and preempted a farm on which he lived five years, then went to Eureka township, remaining until the spring of 1880. At that time he purchased his present farm in Green Vale. Has been supervisor one term and constable in Eureka two years. Married Miss Melissa Mott, in 1843. Their children are: Maria, who is the wife of R. Hickey, of Big Stone City, Dakota; Emma, wife of AY. Johnson, of Califonila; Nellie, Ruth. and John live at home.

Page 388

Franklin Church

was born in Cortland county, New York, February 28th, 1815. Here he lived until April, 1862, at which time he came to Green Vale. After renting a farm three years, he purchased his present estate. Mr. Church has taken an active part in the interests of the town, and has won the esteem of the citizens about him: has been honored by all the offices of importance; justice of the peace sixteen years, and town clerk fourteen years. Married in 1838, Miss Mary J. Scofield, who died in 1845, leaving two children, Irvin and Mills. His present wife was Mrs. Sarah Parker, who was a sister of his first wife. Elmer, Mary J. and Sarah F. are their children.

Page 389

William Carroll

a native of Ireland, was born in 1829. Coming to America in 1851, he settled in Troy, New York, thence to Albany, remaining in that city ten years and followed his trade as engineer. In 1863, he came to Minnesota and followed his trade in Hastings three years, came to Green Vale and purchased the farm on which he now lives. He his been engineer in the elevator at Northfield, continuously until two years ago, since which time he has been a tiller of the soil. Miss Bridget Doogan, a native of Ireland, became his wife in 1836. John, Mary, Ellen, Patrick, Rosanna, William J., Bridget A. and Thomas B. are their children.

Page 389

John Clague

is a native of the Isle of Man, born in 1808. Learning the blacksmith's trade, he worked at it some time, but at the age of twenty-two went to sea and for twenty years led a sailor's life. He was married on the Isle of Man, to Miss Elwor Moore, in l839. Coming to America in 1854, they proceeded to Illinois, where Mrs. Clague remained while he, in company with four others came to Minnesota seeking a home, bringing with them eighty head of cattle. They stopped at Green Vale the same fall and erected a shanty, in which they all lived until the spring following. Mr. Clague made a claim, on which he still lives, and built a shanty, then returned to Illinois for his family. They have five children: Ann, Elizabeth, Sage, Louisa and Phillip.

Page 389

James Cox

a native of England, was born in 1844. There learned the milling business, serving an apprenticeship of seven years. In 1869 came to America and settled at Rockford, Illinois, where, after farming a short time he began working in the mills at that place, remaining until 1872. Coming to Minnesota at that time he was first employed in a mill at Dundas, Rice county, has also worked in the mills at Minneapolis and New London, and in 1879, came to Northfield. Here he is still engaged in the Ames mill, but lives on his farm in Green Vale, which he purchased in 1880. He was married in England and is the father of nine children, seven of whom are still living.

Page 389

Michael Cratty

a native of Ireland, was born in 1833 and came to America when eight years old, locating in Massachusetts. In 1866 hecame to Green Vale and purchased the farm on which his family now resides. Remaining only a short time he at first went to Rockford, Illinois, thence to Cleveland, Ohio, for eight years, and in 1878 returned to Green Vale. Mr.Cratty is a moulder by trade and is at present engaged in that pursuit, leaving the farm in care of his son and wife. Miss Sarah B. Needham became his wife in 1855 and has home him four children: William A., married in 1880,to Miss Sarah Manhart, lives with his parents; Georgia A., Eddie H. and Luman A. still remaining at home.

Page 389

Thomas Fox

is a native of the "Emerald Isle," born 1846. His youth was passed in the land of his nativity, and in 1864 he came to America, settling on his present farm in Green Vale township. Has been one of the supervisors of the town three years also clerk of school district No. 76 for three years past. His marriage with Miss Margaret McCabe of Ireland, took place in 1865. They have had ten children, the living are Mary L., Martin, Edmon, John, Rosa A., Maggie, Josephine and Charles J.

Page 389

Thomas Finn

was born in 1835, and is of Irish birth. At the age of twenty he immigrated to America, proceeding direct to Minnesota, and preempted the farm on which he now lives. He did not locate on it until 1865. His wife was Miss Catherine O'Brien, married at St. Paul in 1861. Mary, James, Elizabeth, William, Julia, Ellen, Margaret, Thomas, Catherine and Abbie, are their children.

Page 389

John Fishback

was born in Luxemburg, Germany, 1832. When twenty-two years old he came to America and settled in Wisconsin, where he lived three years. During the year 1861 he came to Minnesota, and purchased a farm in Green Vale, on which he now lives. Miss Anna Rupert became his wife in 1860, but two years later died, leaving one son, Joseph. Mr. Fishback again married in 1864, Miss Theresa Hammond. Mary M., George J., Caroline K,, Albert C., Lizzie A., Minnie B., Frank L., Anna M. and Gertie S. are their children.

Page 390

William Fletcher

was born in England, September 11th, 1825, and came to America with his parents when six years old, and settled with them in St. Lawrence county, New York. Here helived until 1855, then came to Bridgewater, Rice county, and preempted the northeast quarter of section 32, on which farm he has since lived. Erected his barn in 1875, and his house three years subsequently, both of which cost $3,000. Married in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1850, to Miss A. Waffle. They have five children: William J., Joseph A., Alrunena M., who is a teacher at Waterford, educated at Carlton college; J. Willard, and Ella M.

Page 390

Van. R. Gifford

was, born in Putnam county, New York, in 1837. Here hepassed his youthful days, and in 1862, came to Dakota county. Enlisted in Company K, Eighth Minnesota Regiment, and served until the close of the war, being mustered out July 18, 1865, then returned to Dakota county. He was elected constable for one year, in 1880, and now holds the office of chairman of board of supervisors. Married in 1861, to Miss Mary A. Bennett. Frank B. is the only child.

Page 390

Patrick Gilligan

was born in 1832, in Ireland. At the age of fourteen he came to America, and after tarrying a short time in New York city, removed to Massachusetts, and worked in the cotton mills, also in Rhode Island and Connecticut, then came to Ohio. Here for three years he was employed in the gas works. In 1858 he came to Minnesota, settling in Northfield, Rice county, and in 1866 came to Green Vale, purchasing the farm on wbich he now lives. During the civil war he served one year, enlisting in 1864. His wife was Miss Ann Kennedy, a native of Ireland, married in 1852. Kate A., Owen A., Julia A., Louis, John, Mary J., James, T. Francis, Joseph O., Mark and Theresa M. are their children.

Page 390

John E. Hendricks

was born in Canada, in 1845, and came with his parents to the United States in 1852, locating in St. Paul. After a residence of two years at this city, he removed to Lakeville for one year, and in 1855, came to Green Vale and settled on section 8. Here his father resided until his death. In 1863, hepurchased the place on which he now lives. Was one of the town supervisors for a number of years, constable for two years, and is treasurer of school district number 75.

Page 390

Michael Hendricks

deceased, a native of Ireland, was born in 1815. Coming to Canada in 1842, he came ten years later to the United States and lived in St. Paul, Minnesota, two years, thence to Lakeville one year, and in 1855, located at Green Vale. He preempted the farm on which his widow now lives. Mr. Hendricks was twice married, the second time to Margaret Rowan in 1848. He departed this life in 1873. The children living are: Mary, Bridget, Kate, Peter, Mike, Dominick, Maggie, James, Francis, and William.

Page 390

Patrick Hendricks

was born in Canada, in 1844, and came to Minnesota at the age of eight years. He settled in St. Paul, and two years later went to Lakeville, thence, in 1855 to Green Vale. In 1861, he enlisted and served in Company I, Fifth Minnesota until receiving his discharge in 1865. Returning to his home, he has since lived on the farm, engaged in the quiet pursuit of agriculture. Married in 1866 to Miss Kate Cosgrove. Mike, Thomas, Patrick, Francis., James, Maria and Alice are their children.

Page 390

Thomas Hodgson

a native of England, born in 1800. Here his life was passed until 1844, then he came to America, and settled in Illinois. Making this state his home until 1855, came to Green Vale and preempted a farm, on which he lived until his death, which occurred in 1874. His widow, who was Miss Charlotte Curren, born in England in 1813; he married in 1840; still resides on the farm. Their children are: Edward, an attorney in St. Paul; Thomas, Kate, William, an attorney at Hastings; James, an attorney at Benson, Susie, now the wife of Charles Fing, of Herman, Minnesota, and Joseph.

Page 390

Joseph P. Holt

was born at Willington, Connecticut, in July, 1807. Lived at his native place until coming to Green Vale in 1858, where he has since lived. Married at Willington, Connecticut, in 1838, Miss Julia Cushman. They have had five children, two of whom died in infancy. The living are: Charles H., Jennie M., wife of Samuel A. Taft, and Georgia, wife of Edward E. Needham, of Farmington.

Page 390

Charles H. Holt

son of Joseph and Julia Holt, was born in April, 1839, at Stafford, Connecticut. Came to Green Vale in 1858, with his parents, and settled on the farm where he still resides. Enlisting in 1862, in Company A, Seventh Minnesota, he served until the close of the war, then returned to his farm. He has been clerk of school district No. 76 twelve years, also one of the town supervisors. Married at Northfield, Minnesota, in 1868, to Miss Maretta Alexander. Lydia M. and Susie are their children.

Page 391

William F. How

a native of Nova Scotia, was born in August, 1822. Here he passed his youth and made his home until coming, in 1864, to Green Vale. He at once purchased his present desirable firm, where he still lives. His wife Miss Ellen Totten, a native of Nova Scotia, was born in 1832, whom he married in 1868. Their children are: Jane, James W., Thomas P., Eben, William W., Charles L., Kate L., Nellie M. and Arthur L.

Page 391

Francis Howard

was born in Orange county, Vermont, in 1827. At the of ten years he went to Franklin county, New York. During childhood his educational advantages were some what limited, and on attaining his majority he decided to strive earnestly for more knowledge. He accordingly

began attendance at the high school at Malone, Franklin county, and graduated at the age of twenty-five, having fitted himself for the ministry. He was pastor of a Baptist church in St. Lawrence county five years, then went to Brandon, Vermont, as teacher in the graded school, occupying that position five years. In 1866 he came to Minnesota and invested in the farm on which he now lives. Has taught school a number of terms at Green Vale and in that vicinity. For nine years hehis been town supervisor, and assessor two years. Married, in 1855, Miss Elizabeth Carr, who died in 1876, her remains being interred at Nortlifield.

Page 391

S. C. Howell

was born January 2d, 1813, in Ohio. Here He lived until 1855, then came to Waterford and preempted a farm. His marriage with Mrs. Radcliff, nee Philbrick, took place in 1849. He departed this life January 26th, 1873. Jennie, the eldest daughter, is now the wife of Ellis B. Gibson, living in Grant county, Dakota territory. Mrs. P. Howell was born in Ohio in 1820. Her maiden name was Parmelie Philbrick, and in 1835 she was united in marriage with Stephen Radcliff who died in 1847. They were the parents of three children, all of whom have been claimed by death. Mrs. Howell relates many incidents regarding pioneer life in Minnesota, and the hardships she endured through her journey, being obliged to travel five hundred miles by ox team.

Page 391

William F. Ingham

was born at Groton, Connecticut, December 29th, 1830. When seven years old he removed to Ohio with his parents and there lived until 1854, then came to Cottage Grove, Washington county, Minnesota. After a residence there of six years, he removed to Wisconsin where he lived until 1862. Enlisted in Company B, Third Wisconsin Regiment, serving until the close of the war. Married in 1870,in Green Vale, to Mrs. Alma Mattocks. E. A., Edwin, Justice and U. Francis are their living children.

Page 391

Patrick Jeffers

was born in Ireland, April 16th, 1842. Coming to America in 1854, he remained one year in Albany, New York, thence to Northfield, Minnesota, where he lived twelve years. After a residence of eleven years at Alexandria, Minnesota, he located on a farm at Green Vale, where he still resides. Miss Sarah Ross became his wife at Northfield, in 1862. Seven children have been born to them; the living are, Martha J., Thomas, George, Mary, Sherman and Franklin.

Page 391

William Kegg

was born on the Isle of Man in 1811. Coming to America in 1841, he settled in Illinois, where his home was until 1855. He then came to Green Vale and opened a farm, which has since been his dwelling place. Married in Illinois to Mrs. Ann Simmonds, a native of England. Her children by her first husband are Julia A., Elizabeth J., Susan, Laura, Mary and Joseph. Her children by her present husband are John, Margaret and William S. Margaret, the first daughter, Willie and Edith died early in life.

Page 391

Patrick Kennedy

a native of Ireland, was born March 17th, 1846. While yet a child, he came to America with his parents. In 1858 they came to Minnesota and settled on the farm, on which he still lives. His wife was Bridget Bresslau, also a native of Ireland, and came to America in 1874. They were married in 1878. One child, Mary Ann, was born to them in August, 1880.

Page 391

Uriah Manhart

was born in Canada in 1830. His childhood was passed in his native country, and in 1865, he came to Rice county, Minnesota, where he resided one and one-half years. In 1867 he came to Green Vale and purchased his fine farm, where he now lives. His commodious dwelling was erected in 1878, at a cost of one thousand dollars. His marriage with Miss Mary A. Heberly took place in Canada in 1851. George, who is at present town clerk, William M., Simon L. and Sarah are their children.

Page 392

Richard P. McAndrews

was born in 1845, in Ireland. In 1847, he went to England and to America, accompanied by his parents in 1856. Coming direct to Green Vale, they located on their present farm. He was one of the town supervisors three years, justice of the peace three years, and in the fall of 1880, elected to represent his district in the legislature. He was married during the winter of 1869, to Miss Hannah Major. John, Patrick Henry, Thomas, George F. and Richard are their children.

Page 392

Robert Moore

was born on the Isle of Man, in 1827. There he lived until 1849, then came to America and settled in Illinois, where he worked in the mines six years. In 1855, he came to Minnesota and pre-empted a farm in Green Vale, which has since been his home. He was accompanied by four others, J. Clague, W. Kegg, T. Gill and T. Hodgson, who were the first to settle here, all of whom are living on the claims made at that time, except T. Hodgson who is deceased. Mr. Moore enlisted in 1862, in Company F, Eighth Minnesota, serving until the close of the war, then returned to his farm. Married in 1853, to Julia A. Simmonds, who has borne him eight children. The living are William H., Thomas E., the first white child born in this town. Emma J., Robert N. and an infant.

Page 392

David Muckey

is a native of New York state, born December 28tb, 1824. When a child, he went to Cortland county, and there lived until 1855, then came to Green Vale and preempted a farm which he still owns. His house, which was one of the finest in the town at that time, was a small frame structure, and is now used as a store room. In 1878, his present dwelling was erected at a cost of $1,500. He was drafted in 1862, but in consequence of declining health, furnished a substitute, paying $500. Miss Elizabeth Scofield became his wife in 1851. Three children have been born to them: Euretta D., Charles A. and Clara E.

Page 392

Michael O'Donnell

was born in 1821, in Ireland. Coming to America in 1853, he remained in New York two years, thence to Cottage Grove, Washington county, Minnesota, for one and one-half years. He then came to Green Vale, and settled on his farm, where he still lives. At Hastings in 1860, he married Miss Lavina Boyle. They have four children living: John, William H., George and Frank. Eugene and May died.

Page 392

Andro Pederson

born in Sweden, April 25th, 1825. His youth was passed in his native country, and in 1851, he came to America, settling in Illinois, where he resided four years. Returned to Sweden for four years, then crossed the Atlantic once more, locating at Green Vale. In 1877, he purchased his present estate. His marriage with Miss Anna Johnson occurred in 1853. She died nine years later, leaving two daughters, Eliza and Ida. Married for second wife, Mary Anderson, who died in 1874, leaving four children. His present wife was Miss I. Halmser. Ole, Ulus and Elula are their children.

Page 392

Thomas Phare

was born in England in 1825, and while yet a babe came to Nova Scotia with his parents. There, he remained until 1851, then came to the states; passing about three years in Rhode Island, Pennsylvania and Ohio, he settled in Wisconsin. In 1856, came to Green Vale, and after, making a claim, returned to his former home, remaining until 1858, then returned to his farm in Green Vale, where he has since lived. He was married at River Falls, Wisconsin, in 1856, to Miss Ellen R. Hoar, a native of Nova Scotia. Wilbert D. and Lila H. are their children. Mr. Phare enlisted in Company C,, Second Minnesota regiment, and was mustered out July 18th, 1865.

Page 392

A. G. Ruby

was born at Stafford Springs, Tolland county, Connecticut, in 1822. At twenty years of age, he went to Springfield, Massachusetts, and engaged in the hotels two years; then was employed as baggage-master on the Springfield and New Haven railway for five years. After a stay of one and one-half years in California, he returned to his former trust, remaining in that position seven years. Coming, in 1856, to Green Vale, he began agricultural pursuits, which he has since followed. His farm and buildings are among the finest in the township. His wife was Miss Laura Cushman, married in 1851. Their two children passed away in infancy, their only daughter, an adopted one, is Lillie B., now the wife of S. Andrews, of Lyon county, Minnesota.

Page 393

Thomas Rush

a citizen of Green Vale township, was born in Ireland in 1831. Came across to the new world in 1850, and after a residence of ten years in different parts of the Union, located on a farm in Green Vale township. Here he has since resided as a tiller of the soil. Married, in 1854, to Miss Mary Rowan, who died three years later, having borne him three children. His present wife was Miss Mary Gunderson, married in 1859. Frank, George, Annie and Ellen are their children.

Page 393

W. G. Sawyer was born in Ohio, in 1847. He came to Iowa when seven years of age, and there lived until 1874, then came to Minnesota and settled in Minneapolis, and was a dealer in agricultural implements for five years. In the mean time he purchased a farm in Green Vale, which he rents. In 1880 he bought an addition near the Northfield line, on which he is erecting some fine buildings. Being engaged in the Minneapolis Harvester Works as traveling agent, his wife oversees the farm during his absence. His marriage with Miss Celestia T. Mott took place in 1874. Walter M. and Barton W. are their children.

Page 393

Thomas Scollard

is a son of the late John Scollard, who was born in Ireland in 1838. He came to America when a child and settled in Canada, coming to the United States in 1858. Locating first at Faribault, Minnesota, and two years later at Green Vale. A few years subsequently he removed to Farmington, where his death occurred in July 1874. His widow, who was Miss Catherine Carr, has eight children living: Eliza, Hannah, Daniel, Mike, Thomas, Mary, Katie and Willie.

Page 393

F. J. Stewart

was born November 19th, 1836, at Danbury, Connecticut. He came west to Minnesota in 1865, and for five years was a resident of Washington county, then removed to Green Vale. He has since been a tiller of the soil, and lives with his mother who is a widow.

Page 393

Samuel Taft

was born at Pittsford, Vermont in 1830. Going to Brandon, Vermont, in 1850, he remained two years, thence to Raymondville, New York, where he worked at the sash, door and blind business, and in 1857, came to Minneapolis, Minnesota, and worked for Rogers, Stimson and Kent one year. He then purchased a farm in Bridgewater, on which he has since lived. In 1860, he was married to Miss Jennie M. Holt, who has borne him one child, Emma J.

Page 393

Harry Thomas

was born in Addison county, Vermont, in 1815. This state was his home until 1865, when he came to Minnesota, locating at Green Vale, where he has resided since. He has been three times married. His present wife was Mrs. Lucretia Stafford. Olive S., Nathan C., A. M., Emma E., Horace H., Franklin C., Anna E., Alice A. and Minnie E. are his children by his second wife.

Page 393

J. E. Van Slyke

was born in Herkimer county, New York, in 1827. When eight years old he went to Oswego county with his parents, making his home there nine years, then returned to his native county. On reaching man's estate he came west to Wisconsin and engaged in agriculture until coming to Minnesota in 1854. The following year settled on a farm in Green Vale. Married in 1863 to Mrs. Sophia, widow of the late James Clague. She has borne him four children, three of whom are still living: Josephine, Katie and George L.

Page 393

A. A. Westcott

was born in 1840, in St. Lawrence county, New York. Here he passed his boyhood and received his education. He came to Minnesota in 1878 and located on the farm he now occupies in Bridgewater. In 1862 he enlisted in Company A, one hundred and sixth New York Regiment, and served until the close of hostilities. Has been supervisor of the town of Bridgewater for two years. Miss Jane Lawrence became his wife in 1860. Their only child is Charles, born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1860.

Page 393

R. W. Woodville

was born at West Springfleld, Massachusetts, in 1828. His parents moved to Maine, and after a residence there of nine years, to Vermont. They finally located in Chicopee, Massachusetts, where R. W. learned the trade of joiner. Went to Springfield, in l862, and worked for the government in the manufacture of arms. In 1863, came to Rice county, Minnesota, bought a farm, and has since been a resident of this state.

Page 398

Eli Ballard

was born in Erie county, New York, May 24th, 1837. At the age of twelve years he moved with his parents to Otto, Cataraugus county, and received a liberal education. In 1865 came to Minnesota and settled on his present place. Three years later, he went for a short time to Waseca county, Minnesota. While there, February 20th, hewas captured, through mistake, by the Winnebago Indians. They supposing him to be the man "Alcott," whom they were dispatched by the agent to capture, for the offense of selling liquor to the Indians. They started with him for the agency about 4 o'clock in the after-noon, and after going sixteen miles stopped for "refreshments" and for the night at a little Indian village, called "Little Thunder Town." Having stolen About twenty gallons of whisky, they soon became quarrelsome, and before morning all were more or less drunken. One, however, in the morning, separated himself from the company and conducted Mr. Ballard to the agency, where he was thrust into an open log calaboose, being obliged to remain eight hours, at which time he was rescued by one of the neighborhood. His hands and feet were frozen, and he was sleeping, which slumber would have been his last, had it not been for his timely rescue. In August, 1862, enlisted in Company F, First Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, until the fall of 1864; was in the Indian campaign, then went south, serving until honorably discharged in August 1865, at Fort Snelling. Returning home, he in 1872, went to Redwood county and took a homestead on which he lived two years., then returned to his former home in Hampton. Married Nettie McCune in 1861, who died three years later. Married his present wife, Miss Julia Cain, in 1866. One daughter Fannie S. blessed this union.

Page 399

Henry M. Bean

farmer ,and stock-raiser, was born in Livingston county, New York, January 30th, 1830. Here he grew to manhood and received a good education, remaining on his father's farm until 1856, then came to Hampton and pre-empted one hundred and sixty acres. Here is still his home, and by industry and economy, he has been enabled to add three hundred and twenty acres to the original farm, also made many improvements. Married in 1856 to Miss Jane E. Sherd, who has borne him four children: Libbie H., Frank E., Mary E., and Alta S. It is thought that Libbie H. is the first child born in this county who is living at the present time.

Page 399

Stephen D. Bell

was born in Halifax, Vermont, July 30th, 1822. He grew to manhood in his native place, having the advantages of the district schools. In 1852, he started for the west, and after a residence of two years at Union City, Michigan, he made a prospecting trip to Minnesota, visiting during the time, Hastings, Dakota county, there being but two houses. Having left his family at Ottawa, Illinois, he returned for them, and the next spring, 1855, moved to Hampton, pre-empting a farm of one hundred and sixty acres. His only neighbors at that time were Sioux Indians, who were quite numerous. By good management and perseverance, he has a fine farm of one hundred and ninety acres, well cultivated and stocked; blooded Jersey's being his specialty. Mr. Bell, being an old settler, has become well known, and has the respect and confidence of all who know him. At Worcester, Massachusetts, May 18th, 1846, he married Miss Princess A. Gilbert. Of the seven children born to them, four are living: Stephen G., John M., Ethel A. and Lillie A.

Page 399

Philip Doffing

a native of Prussia, was born in 1844. When a child of two years, his parents brought him with them to America and located in Wisconsin. Here they lived until 1856, then removed to Dakota county, Minnesota. The farm on which Mr. Doffing now lives was taken as a claim by his fattier, in 1857. Miss Mary Biddinger became his wife in 1867. Seven children have been born to them, all now living. Mary, Nicholas, Mathew, John, Frides, Kate and Philip. Mr. Doffing was a pupil at the first school taught in Hampton, with N. F. W. Kranz as instructor.

Page 399

James Duff

was born at Buffalo, New York, March 26th, 1836. When a small child, his parents removed to near Columbus, Indiana, where he received his early education and lived until reaching the age of twenty-five years. He then came to Minnesota and passed his first year in hunting and trapping. In 1862, he enlisted in Company F, Eighth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, and was for two years on duty on the frontier; was sent to New Ulm during the Indian hostilities there. The company was sent on so short notice that they were not properly equipped, being obliged to carry ammunition in their pockets. Subsequently they were ordered south, and were finally discharged at Fort Snelling. He then proceeded to Hampton township, and the following year, purchased his present farm. Married September 6th, 1867, to Miss Nellie Johnson, who has borne him four children: Edith M., Mable L., Helen T. and Fred M.

Page 399

Nathan Emerson

was born at Concord, New Hampshire, November 19th, 1834. Here he grew to manhood, completing his education at the high school at Concord. He learned the trade of cabinet maker from his father, but declining health compelled him to seek more open employment. Coming west in 181860, he visited Hastings, Minnesota, thence to Hampton. Locating on a farm in this township, he has since made it his home. Enlisted in the spring of 1865, in the topographical corps and was discharged at Nashville, Tennessee, September 28th, 1865. He has given considerable attention to the improvement of his farm, having the finest display of forest and fruit trees in the township, consisting of European larch, maple, and thirty-six varieties of apple; has about two hundred apple trees, one hundred and sixty of them in bearing. Miss Clara Haselton became his wife in 1853, at Concord, New Hampshire. Henry N. and Hattie C., twins, George A., Minnie M. and Carrie E. are their children.

Page 399

John H. Ferris

was born at Otto., Cattaraugus county, New York, August 25th, 1849. When a lad of twelve years, he accompanied his parents to Minnesota, locating at Hampton. Enlisted in Company D, Second Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, at the age of sixteen, February 28th, 1865, and joined his regiment at Goldsborough, North Carolina, on "Sherman's March to the Sea." Was discharged at Fort Snelling, July 21st, 1865. He had the advantages of the common school at Hampton, but finished his studies at the Minnesota State University in 1870, then returned to agricultural pursuits, teaching during the winter months. Married Miss Jennie E. Jones in 1872. Two children have been born to them, Emmons A. and Roy R.

Page 400

Francis Gores

was born in Prussia, province of Rhine, in 1826. He was a tiller of the soil in his native place, and in 1855, came to America. Coming to Minnesota, he located at Hampton in 1858, making a claim of one hundred and sixty acres of land, and still retains the eighty acres on which he lives. Mr. Gores held the office of town clerk about seven years, and when New Trier was incorporated, he was appointed postmaster, and held the position eight years. He was instrumental in the erection of the first church in New Trier, Father Keller being its pastor. He is also engaged in the general merchandise business in the town of Hampton. Married Miss Margaret Wolf, a native of Luxemburg. They have five children, Nicholas, Frank, Barbara, Rosa and Susie.

Page 400

John Gores

a native of Germany, was born in 1827. Here he passed his time until coming to America in 1854. His location in Hampton township, was the next year, where he preempted a claim of timber land which he has since sold. In 1857 he purchased his present farm of 120 acres, and has made all the improvements to be seen. Being an old settler, he has by his honesty and integrity made himself respected by all who know him. He has been twice married; his present wife was Miss Veronika. Maggie, Nicholas, Lena, Christopher and Clara are their children; Frank and Joseph by his first wife.

Page 400

George Hoffman

is a native of Hesse, Germany, and was born January 1st, 1835. When sixteen years old he came to America, accompanied by his parents and located in Cleveland, Ohio. Here he learned the carpenter's trade, and in 1858 removed to Galena, Illinois, where he worked at his trade one year. Coming to Hastings, hefound but one log house; remaining two years hecontinued at his trade and built the first frame house in the city. Purchasing forty acres of land in Hampton, hemoved to it, assisted in the erection of the first Catholic church in the county, at New Trier, and in 1860, assisted in building the first Evangelical churqh near New Trier; he has since been a supporter of the church. Has been prospered, and now owns a farm of three hundred and five acres, with pleasant surroundings. Married at St. Paul, October 3d, 1856, to Miss Susan Becker. Dora, Kate, John, George W., Christopher, Mary E., Annie S., Louisa, Martin and Amelia are their children.

Page 400

Henry Hoffman

was born in Prussia, March 19th, 1827. He received his early education in his native place, and learned the weaver's trade. In 1852 he came to America, locating near Detroit, Michigan, and assisted in digging the Welland canal. He passed a short time in North Carolina, one year near Duluth, Minnesota, three years in northern Wisconsin, and in 1859 came to Hampton and settled on his present farm. Married, in 1861, Miss Augusta Otte, a native of Germany. Charles, Herman, Emma, Henry, Julia, Lydia, Dora and Rosa are their children.

Page 400

John F. Knowles

was born in Niagara county, New York, November 20th, 1839. His father died in 1846, and the next year he moved with his mother to Chicago, where he acquired his education. Coming to Minnesota in 1861, he located in Douglass township. Enlisted August 22d, 1862, in Company K, Eighth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, under Colonel Thomas, was on duty on the frontier one and one-half years, then went south, was mustered out July 11th, 1865, at Charleston, South Carolina, and discharged at Fort Snelling, July 31st. Subsequently he lived three years at Hastings, and in 1872 went to Redwood county, Minnesota, locating a homestead which he exchanged for his present farm in Hampton township in 1875. Married in 1870, to Miss Charlotte Shepherdson, who has borne him two children: Vey L. and Louisa.

Page 400

Gregory Koering

parish priest of New Trier, was born in Westphalia, Prussia, 1833. He came to America in 1861, and attended the St. Vincent's college, at Milwaukee; was ordained at St. Paul, in Minnesota, in 1865, and went to Wright county, as priest of St. Michael's church. There being at that time no Church building, he held mass in his private rooms. He was instrumental in building what is now known as St. Michael's church, finished in 1866. Under his charge were eight missions, which he attended twice each month. He also built the church at Maple Plain, Hennepin county, in 1866, and the same year completed the structure at Maple Lake. About the year 1869, he removed to Shakopee, finding the church property deeply indebted, and in 1876, left it in a flourishing condition. In March, 1878, he removed to New Trier; the church there having flourished under his charge, the congregation numbering 1,000 souls.

Page 401

Charles Kranz

a native of Prussia, was born April 4th, 1828. He received the advantages of a common school, also learned the blacksmith's trade in his native country. Going to France in 1847 heworked at his trade three years, then joined the Prussian army. In 1851, came to America with his father, they locating at Hastings-upon-Hudson, New York, where, early in 1854, Charles opened a shop for himself. Two years later, in company with mother, sister and two brothers, came to Dakota county, Minnesota, his father having preceded them. In 1857, he located in Empire, also started the first shop in Hampton, which he run for four years. His present farm was secured, in part, in 1856. Married Miss Kate Able, at New Trier, in 1868. Susan E., Nicholas C., Peter M., John B. and Theresa, are their living children.

Page 401

John Kranz

was born in Prussia, February 27tli, 1832. He resided with his parents on a farm until seventeen years of age, then removed to America with them, landing in New York city in 1850, remaining five years. Coming at that time to Minnesota he located on his present farm in Hampton township, having since added to it by purchase, until henow has two hundred acres. Has been justice of the peace two or three terms, town treasurer two years, and for nine years past has been assessor. Married at New Trier, Miss Abbie Stumpf, an early settler of the county. Their children living are: Lizzie, Charles H., Nicholas J., Catherine, Joseph S., Ferdinand P., Mary, Annie, John B. and Albert. Two died in infancy.

Page 401

Gilbert McKay

was born in Steuben county, New York, August 20th, 1828. Here he was reared to manhood on a farm and acquired his early education. In 1845, moved to Walworth county, Wisconsin, and Finished learning the trade of carpenter and joiner, here remaining in the pursuit of his trade until 1854, removing thence to Prescott, Wisconsin. The same year located on a claim in Hampton township, he being one of the first to make improvements. During the spring of 1855 moved with is family to the claim. For several years Mr. McKay has been justice of the peace, was chairman of the first board of supervisors, and has also held nearly all the town offices. Miss H. Hodgson became his wife in Rock county, Wisconsin, in 1848. Gilbert E., Almira A., Lucinda I., William S. and Elizabeth H., are their children.

Page 401

John Moes

was born in the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg, in 1827. Came to America in 1851, settling near Dubuque, Iowa, on a farm. Purchased a farm on which he now lives, in Hampton, in 1860. He was district clerk by appointment in 1876, and has since filled that position; has also been postmaster at New Trier, since 1873. The Catholic church has received his liberal support in both its construction and present maintenance. His wife was Margaret Erthum, married in 1854. They are the parents of two sons and six daughters living.

Page 401

John A. Schaffer

a native of Germany, was born June 8th, 1820. For several years he worked on the railroad and three years in a woolen factory. Came to Dakota county, Minnesota, in 1851, locating nine miles from Hastings and purchased 140 acres; three years later, made a claim in Hampton township of one hundred and sixty acres, to which he since added, owning now over one thousand acres. In 1860, his stone residence was erected, which is the largest in the township. Mr. Schaffer was instrumental in the building of the German Catholic church, also prominent in promoting the interests of the first school at New Trier. Married in Germany, in 1841, to Miss Catherine Mitz. George, Henry, Conrad, Nicholas, Adam, Mary, Margaret, Catherine and Cillie ire their children.

Page 401

William Schweitzer was born in Prussia, near the river Rhine, April 20th, 1829. While there, engaged in farming and was also a blacksmith. Came to America in 1847, locating in what is now Calumet county, Wisconsin. Six years subsequently he came to Dakota county. Minnesota, and located on a farm in Hampton, engaging in agricultural pursuits until 1874, then embarked in the hotel business, having since continued. His wife was Miss Matilda Groil, a native of Prussia, married in 1852. They have three sons and three daughters: Arnold, Hubbard, Lizzie, Leborious, Theodore and Anna.

Page 402

Charles E. Sherd

was born at Naples, Ontario county, NewYork, April 4th, 1847. He lived on the farm with his parents until 1865, when they came west and he resided with his grandmother until her death in 1860, then came west, proceeding to Hampton. Enlisted in 1863, in Hatch's Independent Battalion, and while in service was twice in the hospital afflicted with inflamation of the lungs, and was once injured while riding, by the horse falling; was discharged in 1866, and returned to Dakota county, his old home. He now resides on a farm of eighty acres. Married Miss Alice Roath in 1873. Mary E., Don D. and Alonzo L. are their children.

Page 402

William Smith

was born in Ontario, Canada, February 5th, 1839. When seventeen years old his parents removed to Minnesota, his father pre-empting one hundred and sixty acres in Hampton, where he resided with his family until his death in 1874. William enlisted in January, 1865, in Company D, First Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, serving until discharged at Fort Snelling, July 3lst 1865. He then returned to the old homestead; in 1878, started a meat market at Cannon Falls, but two years later returned to Hampton, where he now lives.

Page 402

J. H. Whitford

Was born in Ohio, January 27th, 1831. When five years old, removed with his parents to Michigan, residing there until 1865, then went to California, and engaged in mining three years. Returning to his former home in Michigan for a brief visit., he then located on a farm in Miami county, Kansas. Came to Dakota county, Minnesota, in 1861, and the next year located in Hampton, having at present a very desirable farm of 213 acres. In 1865, was elected chairman of the board of supervisors, which office heheld several years. Miss M. C. Luddy became his wife in 1864. James H., Edmund A., Ellen E. and Carrie J. are their children.

Page 402

Julius Wille

a native of Minnesota, was born in Hastings, February 9th, 1859. When nine years old, he moved with his father to Hampton township. He purchased a farm in 1875, on which he now lives. His father's death occurred August 20th, 1879. Married at New Trier, November 6th, 1879, to Miss Mary Kurth, of Hampton. They are the parents of one child, Charles A.

Page 408

Patrick Brennan

was born March 17th, 1806, in Ireland and learned boot and shoe making. In 1836, came to America; was shipwrecked off the coast of Newfoundland, but finally reached Quebec, and proceeded direct to the United States. He made a brief stay in New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, and worked at his trade three years in Cincinnati. In 1843, visited St. Louis, next year at New Orleans, then returned to the former place, making his home there eleven years, eight years of the time being in government employ, in the arsenal at that city. In 1852, came to Minnesota, and made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Ramsey county, then returned to St. Louis, and two years later to this state with his family. During the fall of 1854, he made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, in Inver Grove township, where he has since lived. Married in Ireland, in 1834, to Ellen McGuire. By her he has had seventeen children, six of whom are living: Patrick J., Thomas M., Mary M., Catherine, Charles E. and Frank. Two sons were in the late war: Patrick enlisted in the Fifth Minnesota as orderly sergeant, and served through the whole war. John, his third son, enlisted in Company K, Eighth Minnesota, and was discharged in 1865, but died in 1870 from disease contracted during the service.

Page 409

George Clark

was born at Rochester, New York, July 8th, 1855. He engaged as cabin boy, in 1867, on an ocean steamer, running from New York to Liverpool; this vocation he pursued three years. Removing later to Dakota he lived four years, and in the meantime learned the blacksmith's trade. In 1864 he came to Minnesota, and settled in St. Paul, and became a resident of lnver Grove, in 1877. He opened a black- smith and repair shop, and is doing a good business. Married June 4th, 1879, to Miss Ellen Hanlon; they have one son, George.

Page 409

George W. Coates

was born in Greene, Trumbull county, Ohio, March 11th, 1844. When eleven rears old he removed to Wisconsin with an aunt, where he lived two years. In 1857, came to Hastings, Dakota county, Minnesota. Enlisted in Company F, Eighth Minnesota Infantry, and was with that regiment in all its engagements against the Indians; went south in 1864, and was wounded in the battle of Murfreesboro; was discharged July 4th, 1865. Returning to Hastings, he resided there until 1869, and after a residence of two years in Hampton, he engaged mercantile pursuits in Hastings. In 1872, became a resident of Inver Grove, and opened a store at Pine Bend in company with J. C. Sanborn, whose interest he purchased in 1873, then sold all to Isaac Gibbs the next year. In l875, purchased the warehouse he now owns, and has since been a wheat buyer, Miss Almira Thompson, a native of Maine, became his wife in 1869. George A., Nellie A., Fred H. and Edith A. are their living children.

Page 409

Casper Dehrer

was born in Saxony, September 17th, 1817. Came to America in 1848, and resided in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, seven years. During the month of April, 1855, he came to Minnesota and lived in St. Paul seven years. Located in this township in 1862, and made a claim of eighty acres, now owned by his fattier. He purchased his present farm of one hundred and sixty-six acres, in 1870, for the sum of $2,500, which estate has since been his home. Married in 1845, Margaret Schilet, in Germany, by whom he had eight children, three of whom are Uving Henry, Edward and Eliza.

Page 409

Mrs. Bridget Eagan

a native of Ireland, was born in Queen's county, June 2d, 1833. She came to America with her mother in 1834, locating first in Galena, Illinois, thence to St. Paul, and in 1856, came to Inver Grove. Here she met and was united in marriage with John Eagan, March 25th, 1856. He was a native of Ireland, born in Kings county, in April, 1826. He made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, where his widow now resides, in 1854. He died April 15th, 1873. Mary J., John, Martin H., Michael, Nellie C., Julia and Patrick are the children born to them.

Page 409

Wilhelm Franzmeier

was born in Prussia, March 17th, 1834. Came across the waters to America in 1849, and settled in Indiana, where heand his brother purchased a farm. In 1856, he sold his interest to his, brother and came to Minnesota. At that time he purchased a farm and has since prospered and kept adding to it, having now three hundred and eighty-eight acres, two hundred of which are under good cultivation. Married at Inver Grove, to Miss Margaret Schindeldecker, a native of Germany, by whom he has had thirteen children. George, William, Christiana, Louisa, Margaret, Frederick, Sarah, Herman, Henry, Jacob, Amelia, Mena and Edward.

Page 409

Patrick Grace

was born in Gowron, Kilkenny Ireland, in 1818. Came to the United States in 1850, and located in Massachusetts. Two years later he went to Chicago where he was employed as a stonemason two years, then came west to the "North Star" state, and made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Inver Grove, on which he has since resided. March 7th, 1859, he married Miss Catherine Walsh, of Ireland. Three children have been born to them: Mary, John and Williarn.

Page 410

William Korfhage

was born September 16th, 1833. When a lad of fourteen years he came to this county and spent five years in New Jersey, and in 1852, came west to Minnesota, locating in Ramsey county. His father rented a farm between Minneapolis and St. Paul, where the half-way house now stands. In 1853 his parents came to Inver Grove and made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, where William now lives. He enlisted in March, 1865, in Company D, First Minnesota, and went south to Virginia; was at Richmond at the surrender of Lee; discharged at Jeffersonville, Indiana, July 4th, 1865. Married in 1857, to Miss Emily Kasa, a native of Prussia, who died in 1863, leaving two children, Louisa and August. His present wife was Miss Emma Rolfing, married in 1867. Their children are, Henry, Frederick W. A. and Mary A.

Page 410

Michael Lynch

a native of Kilkenny county, Ireland, was born September 29tb, 1832. Coming to America in 1852, he resided a short at West Point then removed to Illinois and engaged in agricultural pursuits two and one-half years. He came to St. Paul, Minnesota, during the spring of 1854, and made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Inver Grove township and for three years afterward he lived and labored in St. Paul; the remainder of the time has been passed on his farm. Miss Hannah Lahon, a native of Ireland, became his wife in 1857. Mary, Patrick, Michael, James. Margaret, John, Joseph, Anastasia and Ellen, are their children.

Page 410

Frederick C. Maltby

is a native of New York state, born August 7th, 1885. While yet a little child his parents removed with him to Kentucky, where he lived until ten years old, then went to Oxford, Butler county, Ohio. Here he acquired an education, graduating from Miami university in 1853. He commenced reaching school when eighteen years old, which vocation he followed three years in Ohio, Indiana and Kentucky. Coming to Minnesota in 1855, he practiced law in St. Paul, and in 1862, purchased a farm, on which he lived seven years. Returning to the city he resided there four years, and in 1873, came to Inver Grove township and bought a farm, and four years later opened a general store, being at the same time appointed postmaster. Married at Oxford, Ohio, June 3d, 1856, to Miss Mary C. Guy, a native of that state. Five children were born to them: Henry, Frederick, Guy, Mary and Alexandria.

Page 410

Edward McDermott

was born in Ireland, in 1832. He was reared on a farm and came to America in 1850. The first five years on American soil were passed in various vocations, in Delaware, New York and Illinois, and in 1855, came to Dakota county, Minnesota. He made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in what is now Inver Grove township, on which he has since lived. Although Mr. McDermott could not get a team to do his breaking he has by diligence and perseverance seventy-five acres under cultivation. Married in 1875, at St. Paul, Miss Bridget Daley. Six children have been born to them: James J., Hugh P., Kate A., Margaret J., Mary E. and John.

Page 410

John McGroarty

was born in Inver parish, Ireland, in 1824. Came to America in 1848 and landed at New York, where he purchased a stock of Irish linen and peddled from that city to Minnesota, which occupied his time until 1853. During the spring of that year he arrived at St. Paul, and in August came to Inver Grove, making a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, on which hehas since lived. He is the oldest living settler in the township on which he bestowed the name of Inver, in honor of his native place. In 1844, in Ireland, he married Miss Bridget McNellis, by whom he had one son, Barnard. He is working his father's farm in partnership; was married in 1879 to Miss Ellen Dalton, a native of this state; John is their only son.

Page 410

Henry Mettler

was born March 26th, 1823, in Germany. Came to America in 1853, and lived two years in Cincinnati, then came to Minnesota, and made a claim of forty acres in Inver Grove township, remaining on it ten years. In 1865, moved to Washington county, and two years later purchased forty acres of timber land, which he cleared, furnishing the steamers with fuel. In 1875, purchased his present farm, owning now 242 acres, 100 of which are under cultivation. Married in May, 1861, to Barbara Klutz, a native of Germany. Frederick, Joseph, Julia and Annie are their living children.

Page 411

Jacob Whittemore

was born in Stark, Somerset county, Maine, June 13th,1808. When about one year old, his parents removed to what is now Franklin county, residing there until attaining majority, in the meantime learning the carpenter's trade. In 1851, removed to Townsend, Massachusetts, where he lived three years in the coopering business. Coming thence to Minnesota, he preempted 160 acres, in sections 32 and 33, in Inver Grove, which he still owns. Married May 8th, 1881, to Miss Betsy Dunsmore, by whom he has had three children. John D., born in Temple, Maine, in 1843, and enlisted in First Minnesota regiment, being killed in the retreat of McClellan's army by some of their own men, who fired on them by mistake. James A., born in Temple, Maine, November 8th, 1845.

Page 415

Incident - MURDER OF EGAN - Lakeville

In the spring of 1858, a Mr. Egan was murdered in Lakeville, and his murderer, whoever he was, escaped. When last seen, Mr. Egan was going toward his home in company with one John Whalen. It was election day, and both men had been drinking intemperately and had quarreled. Nothing was heard of them any further until news was brought the following morning that Egan had been found dead in the road with his skull crushed. A party, with Dr. Horace Phelps at its head, started in company with Whalen to the scene of the crime. Whalen's conduct was deemed to be suspicious and hewas accordingly arrested. He was examined before Justices James Curry and John Houts, who after deciding him to be guilty, granted him a release on $500 bail. Whalen immediately left the country, and has always been considered as guilty, beyond doubt.

Page 421

G. F. Ackley

was born in Jefferson County, New York, in 1823. When thirteen years of age he learned the tailor's trade, continuing seven years after the completion of his trade. In 1850 hewent to California and three years later returned to his native state. He opened a dry goods store, in which he continued until 1855, then sold and came west to Lakeville, Minnesota. He owned a farm of 240 acres for three years, then sold and invested in a hotel and store. For eight years hecarried on these enterprises then sold and came to where Lakeville now is. Since his removal he has been in the mercantile business, is also town treasurer. Mr. Ackley has been twice married and is now a widower, having four children.

Page 421

Daniel F. Akin

was born in New York, in 1828. He received rare educational advantages, having completed his education by a course of two years at the academy and three years at Yale college, graduating from that institution of learning in 1851. He went to Virginia in 1863, and was there employed on the railroad about three years. Coming to St. Paul, Minnesota, in 1856, he finally located at Lakeville, which place has since been his home. In 1855 he married Miss Elizabeth Forte. Five children have been born to them, three of whom are still living.

Page 421

F. K. Balch

was born in New Hampshire, in 1847. He came with his parents to St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1855, and on reaching the age of twenty years, was given his time by his father. Three years he gave his attention to lumbering, then to agricultural pursuits; afterwards worked at railroad grading for different parties until locating at Lakeville, Dakota county, in 1875. Purchasing a one-half interest in the elevator with Mr. Perkins, he has since continued in that business. In 1880, he and Miss Etta M. Perkins were united in marriage.

Page 421

John Battin

was born in Ohio in 1809. When quite young, he went to Indiana with his parents. On leaving home, he was employed by the farmers until reaching the age of twenty-four years. He then went to Illinois, and four years later to Indiana; in 1853, came to Minnesota and purchased 360 acres in Scott county. In 1861, he sold his property and came to Lakeville, Dakota county, having since made this place his home. Married Miss Matilda Maxwell in 1830. They have five children living.

Page 422

Alfred C. Bean

was born in West Newton, Massachusetts, in 1836. During the time he was at his father's home, he worked two years at the machinists' trade, and in 1856, came to St. Paul, Minnesota, thence to Lakeville, Dakota county, and made a claim of 160 acres. This farm he sold in 1865, and went to Colorado. After a visit of three years' duration, he returned to Faribault, Minnesota. Here he purchased one-half interest in the Polar Star flouring mill, which was destroyed by fire in 1877. Subsequently, he moved on his present farm, which he had secured in 1856. Married in 1874 to Miss Ada Newton, who has borne him one child, Georgia M.

Page 422

M. Berres

a native of Germany, was born in 1821. After reaching man's estate he came to America. proceeding from Quebec to Buffalo, New York, thence to Washington county, Wisconsin. Here he engaged in agricultural pursuits eleven years. Coming to Lakeville, Dakota ,county, Minnesota, he purchased a farm on which he lived about seven years, then bought property in the village where he now lives. His wife was Miss Elizabeth Hammes, married in 1852. They have nine children living.

Page 422

Casper Berres

was born in Germany, in 1844. The family came to Quebec, thence to Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Casper lived at his parental home until after attaining majority, then came to Minnesota. In 1873, he came to Lakeville, and purchased a farm on which he still lives. His marriage with Miss Margaret Barton, took place in 1873. Mathias, Elizabeth, Jacob, Nicholas and Josephine are their offspring.

Page 422

John Berres

was born in Wisconsin, in 1853. When a lad of twelve years he moved with his parents to Owatonna, Minnesota, and soon after to Lakeville. After attaining man's estate he purchased a farm from his father, and has sine continued in agricultural pursuits. In 1876, hewas married to Miss Mary Simons. Mary B., Catherine and Lena are their children.

Page 422

Thomas Berres

was born in Prussia, in 1832. Coming to this continent, he landed at Quebec, in 1847, thence to Port Washington, Wis., and bought eighty acres of land. In 1871, he came to Minnesota, and has since resided at Lakeville, having a farm of one hundred and ninety acres. Married January 31, 1856, A. Bendel. Elizabeth, Jacob, Michael and Catherine are their children.

Page 422

Joseph J. Brackett

was born in Livingston, York county, Maine, February 8th, 1814. He was reared as a farmer, and when reaching majority removed to Westbrook, Cumberland county, where he followed farming until 1847. He came to Minnesota in 1852, and remained one year at St. Paul; while there built and put in operation the first mill for shaving shingles in the state. In 1853, came to Lakeville, and took a claim of three hundred and twenty acres, for a townsite at Prairie Lake, and still owns two hundred and seventy acres of it. Married in 1840 to Miss Ann M. Fluent of Westbrook, Maine.

Page 422

John Brennan

a native of Ireland, was born in 1826. When nineteen years old, he came across to Canada, thence to Lewiston, New York, where hemade his home five years. He then came to Lakeville, Dakota county, and made a claim of 160 acres, where he still lives. He holds the office of town supervisor and clerk of school district No. 45. Married in 1851, to Miss Bridget Sheridan: Nine children have been born to them, seven of whom are living.

Page 422

Nicholas Brost

was born in Prussia, in 1822. Coming to America in 1843, hewent to Milwaukee, and soon after located in Sheboygan on a farm of 140 acres. There he lived nineteen years, then sold, and, on coming westward, invested in 200 acres of land in Lakeville, where he has since resided. Married in 1847, to Miss V. Ackermann, who has borne him twelve children. The living are: Mary, John, Baltes, Josephine, Charles, Peter, Lena and Catherine.

Page 422

Patrick Casey

was born in Ireland in 1821, and remained in his native place until 1849. Came to America, and passed two years in New Jersey, two years in Rhode Island, three years in Wisconsin, one year in Chicago, Illinois, then located at Lakeville, Dakota county, Minnesota. He now resides on his farm, which he took at that time as a claim. Married, in 1851, to Miss Ann Managan. They have had nine children, eight still live. Mary Ann, their oldest daughter, was the first white child born in the town.

Page 422

Isaac Coburn

a native of Ireland, was born in 1830. When fifteen years of age, he embarked for America, and landed at Philadelphia. The following your, came westward to St. Paul, Minnesota. He pursued agriculture in Lebanon township four years, and in 1862, enlisted in Company F, Second Minnesota Volunteers; served two years and ten months. Returning to civil life, he bought a farm of 160 acres in Lakeville township, on which he still lives. His marriage with Miss Ann Finnegan occurred in 1868. They are the parents of one child.

Page 423

Isaac C. Curry

was born in Ohio in 1830. When ten years old, he removed to Indiana with his parents, and lived with them on the farm until 1855, then came to Minnesota, locating at Lakeville. Here he made a claim, and two years subsequently welcomed his parents to his new home. Married, January 24th, 1858, to Ann E. Sayers, who has borne him three children, two of whom are living. In 1869 they went to Missouri, and remained one year in consequence of the declining health of Mrs. Curry.

Page 423

James Dawson

whose native land is Ireland, was born in l823. His youthful days were passed in the country of his nativity. In 1851 he crossed the waters to America, and from New York went to Cincinnati, Ohio, making that city his home for one and one-half years. Coming at that time to Minnesota, he located at Lakeville on a farm. Having added to his original estate by purchase, he now has 240 acres. Joanna McMullen became his wife in 1854. They have seven children living.

Page 423

Preston Day

was born in Carroll county, Illinois, in 1854. Having nearly attained his majority, he began for himself, and the first season worked his father's farm on shares. With the proceeds he acquired a knowledge of telegraphy, then removed to Independence, Wisconsin, where he was employed as telegraph operator three months. Until 1879 he engaged in the pursuit of his art in different places, and at that time located at Lakeville, having since been operator at this place. His wife was Miss Amanda Morgan, whom he married March 10th, 1880. They have one child.

Page 423

John Devitt

a native of Ireland was born in 1826. About the year 1852, he came to this continent, and for five years worked in Littleton, Massachusetts. He then came to Minnesota and made his home in St. Paul about seven years; thence to Washington county, where he engaged in agriculture until 1877. Disposing of his estate he came to Lakeville, and has since lived on his farm. Married Margaret Connell in 1858. She has borne him eleven children; eight are living.

Page 423

Horace Donaldson

is a native of this state, and of Lakeville; he was born in 1859. His childhood was passed under his parents' care, and when nineteen years of age he rented his father's farm, which he carried on successfully four seasons. His home is still on the farm, while he is now engaged in the sale of agricultural implements.

Page 423

P. Donovan

was born in County Cork, Ireland, March 23d, 1827. Came to America in 1853, landing at New York city. Soon after he went to Sussex county, New Jersey, remaining three years, thence in 1856 to St. Paul, which place was his home one year. Came to Lakeville at that time and followed farming until 1877, then engaged in the mercantile trade at Lakeville.

Page 423

Thomas Dwyer

a native of Ireland, was born in 1836. His childhood days were passed in his native country and when seventeen years of age came to America. He remained three years in Maryland, four years in Virginia, one year in Kentucky, two years in Pennsylvania and four years in Tennessee, then removed to Lakeville and purchased his present farm, which comprises 160 acres. Miss Margaret Herwood became his wife in 1852. She died February 7th, 1874, leaving eight children: James, Mary, Bridget, Patrick, Mchael, John, Margaret and Thomas.

Page 423

John Finnegan

was born in Ireland in 1815. He was reared to manhood in his native country, and about 1843 came across the waters to America. He made his home in Rhode Island five years, employed as a stone-mason. Subsequently he removed to Southport, Wisconsin, thence to Chicago, remaining four years. Coming farther west to the capital city of the "North Star" state, he tarried only a brief time, then made a claim in Lakeville township. This he tilled until 1874, then sold and purchased his present home. Married in 1841, to Bridget Finnegan, who has borne him twelve children, ten are now living.

Page 423

Edward Fitzgerald

a native of Ireland, born in 1824. Came to America, landing in New York in 1849. Remaining in that state one year, thence to Clark county, Ohio, and rented land on which he lived fourteen years. In 1856, came to Lakeville and purchased 126 acres, on which hehas since resided. Mr. Fitzgerald is treasurer of school district number 46. Married in 1853 to Hannah Ryan. Mary, John and Catherine are their children.

Page 424

John Hyland

Was born in Ireland, in 1826. He was reared to manhood in his native land, and when twenty-five years of and came to America, New York being the first city he visited. He remained in New York two years, then came west to Minnesota and made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Lakeville, which is still his home. His farm now comprises two hundred and eighty acres. Married in 1856, to Miss Mary Varley. They have four children living.

Page 424

Thomas Hyland

born in 1827, is a native of Ireland. In 1848, he came to America. For eight years his home was on a farm at Saratoga. Having disposed of his estate, he came to St. Paul, Minnesota, in 1855. The same year, he located in Lakeville on a claim. He afterward bought eighty acres in Rosemount, one hundred and twenty acres in Vermillion, forty acres adjoining the homestead, one hundred and sixty acres in Lakeville, one hundred and thirty acres in Lebanon, three hundred and twenty acres in Traverse county, and one hundred and sixty acres in Empire. Having since sold two hundred acres, he now owns nine hundred and seventy acres. Miss Mary Mahony became his wife in 1854. They have five children living.

Page 424

D. C. Johnson

was born in Ohio, in 1816. He was early thrown upon his own responsibility in consequence of his father's death. When twelve years old, he began working for a farmer for the small sum of $6 per month. In 1852, he went to Pennsylvania, remaining two years in the match-making business. Started a hotel in St. Paul, in 1854; two years later came to Lakeville and purchased a block in the old townsite, then erected a store and hotel. From 1870, till 1880, he engaged in farming, then opened a hard ware store in Lakeville. Mr. Johnson is justice of the peace. Has been twice married; his present wife was Harriet Cleveland, married in 1862.

Page 424

Henry T. Johnson

was born in Connecticut, in 1839. After reaching man's estate, he came to Lakeville and invested in a farm of one hundred and sixty acres. He and his brother afterward traded the old homestead for their present place, which comprises two hundred and forty acres. In 1864, he enlisted in Company D, Eleventh Minnesota, and served one year. His wife was Harriet Hart, married in 1862: Edwin, Jennie, Frederick, William and Louis are their children.

Page 424

William Kean

was born in Ireland in 1814. When eleven years of age, he went to England, making his home in that country until 1850. For eleven years, he served on the police force. In 1850, he came to America. Was employed as a weaver in a cotton factory at Fall River, Massachusetts, for two years. He then went to New York, rented a cotton factory, and employed 500 hands. In 1855, he removed to Lakeville, and entered the claim where he still lives. Married in 1832, to Mary A. Inglesby, who died January 4th, 1880. There is one child living.

Page 424

Daniel Keegan

a native of Ireland, was born in 1818. Attended school during his younger days in his native country. Came to America, accompanied by his father and six brothers, arriving at New Brunswick, August 18th, 1846. Soon after, hewent to Pennsylvania, thence to New York city, where he was married to Miss Catherine Dalay in 1848. He afterward traveled through the western states, and in 1864, came to Minnesota. Made a claim in Rosemount; he lived on it until 1859, then purchased his present farm in Lakeville township. His farm now comprises 200 acres. Michael, Bernard, Daniel, John, Ann and Katie are their children.

Page 424

Timothy Kelly, born in 1808, is a native of Ireland. Here his life was passed until coming to America in 1848. In 1840, he married Miss Sarah McNally, who accompanied him to this continent. Remaining a brief time in St. Louis, he then proceeded to Illinois, where he lived seven years. Came thence to St. Paul, Minnesota; finally located at Lakeville on his farm. Mary, Sarah, Catherine, James, Jane, Ellen and Nettie are the surviving children.

Page 424

M. J. Lenihan

was born in Lakeville, Dakota county, Minnesota, in 1857. He attended the Lakeville schools, and completed his studies at St. Paul college. He then worked for a notion house of St. Paul one year, then worked in a general merchandise store at Benson, Swift county, nine months. His home is now in his native place, he having purchased one-half interest with Mr. Donovan in the mercantile business. Mr. Lenihan's fattier was born in Ireland in 1812, his mother in 1826. The latter died in May, 1880.

Page 425

John Loftus

was born in Ireland in 1832. Came to America in 1854, landing in New York, and remained in the state two years, thence to St. Paul and soon after to Lakeville. He made a claim of 160 acres. Returning to St. Paul, he remained four years, but since then has resided on his farm. Married in 1862 to Mary McCue. They have seven children living.

Page 425

Jerome Maher

was born in County Carlow, Ireland, in 1848, and is of pure Irish descent. Received his early education in the national schools and later in the college in his native county. Came to America in 1874, and in order to become better acquainted with the customs of the American people he attended Bryant and Stratton's college for one year. He was afterward connected with the American express office three years. Came to Minnesota in 1878, and began teaching school in Dakota county, also began the study of medicine with Doctor Brundage of Lakeville. Attended the Rush Medical college during the winter of 1879-80, and expects to graduate in 1882. He is one of a family of thirteen children, having two brothers who are Catholic priests.

Page 425

Margaret Moran

was born in Ireland, April 28th, 1810. She came to Canada in 1827, and four years later went to Oswego, New York, thence to Tompkins county, where she met and married Mr. Moran, August 6th, 1832. They then removed to Pennsylvania, remaining three years, afterward bought a farm in Illinois, on which they lived until 1865. Coming to Lakeville, they made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, where his widow and family still live. Mr. Moran died January 16th, 1879, at the advanced age of seventy-nine years. Of their twelve children, eight are living.

Page 425

Ralph E. Morris

is a native of the Empire state, born in 1844. After attaining majority he spent three years in travel, then came to Hastings, and on to Lakeville. He has been somewhat interested in real estate, having bought and sold considerable land at different times. He now resides on a farm at Lakeville.

Page 425

Dennis Moylan

is a native of Ireland, born in 1926. Came to America when eighteen years of age, and made his home in Massachusetts two years, then spent one year in Troy, New York, and three years in Washington. Coming west he lived three years in St. Anthony, Minnesota, then purchased a farm in Scott county, on which he resided fourteen years. Subsequently he sold and located in Lakeville on a farm. Married Miss Alice Grady in 1858, who has borne him nine children; the living number eight.

Page 425

John Murphy

born in 1820, is a native of Ireland. Came to this continent in 1849. Until 1855 his time was chiefly passed in Illinois, then for three years, in Iowa. In 1858, came to Lakeville and made a claim, on which he still resides. His wife was Miss Mary Burns, whom he married in 1855. Margaret and John are their children.

Page 425

James Myers

was born in Ireland, in 1831. When a lad of fourteen years he came to America; lived one year in Massachusetts, six years in Utica, New York, six years in Chicago, thence to Lakeville in 1857. During the time, he learned wagon-making, and is now located on his farm of one hundred and sixty acres. Mr. Myers is chairman of the town board and clerk of school district number 102. Married in 1856 to Mary A. Byrnes. They are the parents of seven children.

Page 425

Timothy O'Leary

a native of the Emerald Isle, was born in 1839. His father died when he was only ten years old, compelling him at an early age to earn his own livelihood. In 1861he landed in America and for some time made his home in New Hampshire, from which state he enlisted, in 1862, in Company H, Twelfth Regiment Now Hampshire Volunteers; was actively engaged in the battles of Fredericksburg, Chancelorsville, Gettysburg, Cold Harbor, Petersburg and capture of Richmond; was discharged from service June 21st, 1865. After returning to civil life he came to Hastings, Minnesota, thence to Faribault, remaining four years, and in 1869, located at Lakeville. Two years subsequently he purchased lots and constructed a hotel, in which he still remains. Has been section boss on the Hastings and Dakota railway eleven years; is at present alderman in Lakeville and school director of district number 100. Married Mary F. Murphy in 1865. They have seven children.

Page 425

Bridget O'Connell

born in 1816, is a native of Ireland. In 1847, came to this continent and for two years her home was at Lowell, Massachusetts. From that city she removed to Cincinnati, Ohio, where she met and was united in marriage with John O'Connell. After spending one year in Maryland and. a few months in Kentucky, they purchased a farm of one hundred acres in West Virginia, on which they lived sixteen years. In 1870 they disposed of their property and came to Minnesota and lived in Lakeville until Mr. O'Connell's death, which happened February 11th, 1878. He leaves his widow with seven children.

Page 426

Irenus Perkins

was born in New Hampshire in 1817. On attaining majority, he purchased a farm, which he carried on until 1847, then embarked in the mercantile trade, continuing six years. Disposing of his interests, he came to Minneapolis, Minnesota, and in company with three associates, erected a sawmill, ran it two years, then came to Lakeville. He engaged in farming until 1877, and in 1874, built an elevator at Lakeville. Is county commissioner of the Fifth district. Mr. Perkins has been twice married, to his present wife in 1847. He has six children - two by first wife and four by present one.

Page 426

S. A. Perkins

was born in Massachusetts in 1831. At the age of eighteen years, heapprenticed to the carpenters' trade, and served three years. Engaged chiefly in the pursuit of his trade until 1868, then came to Dakota county, Minnesota, and pursued agriculture three years. Moving at that time to Lakeville, he has since made the township his home. Married in 1852, to Miss Lucina Dole, who has borne him four children.

Page 426

Thomas Quinn

a native of Ireland, was born in 1834. His father died in 1844. When at the age of eighteen, he and his mother came to America, and for five years made his home in Maryland. He then came to Eagan, Dakota county, Minnesota, and made a claim, on which he lived fifteen years. In 1880, settled in Lakeville, where he still lives. Married in 1860, to Miss Rosa Rone. They have ten children living.

Page 426

Michael Rowan

was born in Ireland in 1839. Accompanied the family to America in 1847 and remained in New York two years. Going thence to Illinois, he made it his home two and one-half years, then came to Minnesota, and after staying one winter in St. Paul, removed to Lakeville, he still lives on his claim of 160 acres. Married in 1862, to Miss Sarah Nelas. Thomas, Mary, Ellen, John, Dominick, Edward, Kate, Maggie and Michael are their children.

Page 426

Mary Shaughnessy

a native of Ireland, was born in 1838. When fifteen years of age, she came across the waters to America and lived in .New York two years, then came to St. Paul, where she met, and was united in married with Mr. Shaughnessy. Remaining in the capital city one and one-half years, they then came to Lakeville, and in 1856, made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres. Her husband died December 18th, 1879. She has nine children living.

Page 426

Nicholas Simons

whose native state is Ohio, was born in 1854. His childhood was passed under the care and guidance of his parents. When fourteen years old, he accompanied them to Rice county, Minnesota. His father purchased a farm on which he lived with his family eight years. At that time he removed to Lakeville and invested in a farm, where he still lives. His wife was Margaret Berres, married in 1876: Elizabeth, Catherine and Anna, are their children.

Page 426

E. C. Smith

was born in Litchfield, Connecticut, in 1807. His home was with his parents until man's estate was attained, during which time he received a good education, being fitted for a teacher. After teaching district schools a few terms, he studied medicine, also attended Yale college four years. He practiced medicine a short time, then went to Kentucky, remained two and one-half years, engaged principally in teaching. Going thence to Indiana, he was a practitioner, teacher and farmer for twelve years. In 1857, he came to St. Paul, Minnesota, and the year following, to Lakeville where he has since given his attention to agriculture. Mr. Smith has been twice married. His present wife was Elizabeth Osborn. They have two children.

Page 426

Joel E. Turney

was born in Henry county, Iowa, in 1847. On reaching the age of twenty-one years, he rented a farm which he cultivated until 1872. He enlisted in 1864, in Company E, Forty-fifth Regiment Iowa Infantry, and served five months. In 1878, heentered three hundred and twenty acres in Dakota, which he now owns. Mary J. Donaldson became his wife in 1879. They have one child.

Page 426

W. H. Watson

was born in York county, Maine, in 1824. Here he lived until eighteen years of age. Served two years as an apprentice at the blacksmith's trade, and in 1846, went to Lowell, Massachusetts, remaining two years in the Merrimac repair shops. He then went to Maine and remained until 1856, coming thence to Lakeville. He now has a farm of one hundred and sixty acres. Was drafted during the war but furnished a substitute, which cost him $600. Married in 1850, Miss M. S. Thompson. They are the parents of two living children.

Page 427

Wells L. Wescott

was born in Maine in 1826. He learned the shoemaker's trade at the age of sixteen years and continued in it until 1855. Came to St. Paul at that time, thence to Eagan, Dakota county, and erected a hotel, which he run five years. He then purchased eighty acres in Lakeville, where he has since lived. He is school director of district No. 42. Married in 1849 to Miss Amanda Hale, who has borne him six children, five of whom are living.

Page 427

J. W. Wheeler

was born in Indiana, in 1858. He accompanied the family to Le Sueur county, Minnesota, when only two years old. Eight years subsequently they removed to Hastings, remaining two years, thence to Red Wing for three and a half years. During this time Mr. Wheeler learned the harness-making trade. After roaming about for four years, he finally located in Lakeville as a harness-maker. Married in 1877 to Lena Aby, who has borne him two children. Susie and William.

Page 427

Patrick White

was born in Ireland in 1816. Passed his days at the old home until 1848, then came to America and worked in New York until 1857. He came at that time to New Market, Scott county, Minnesota, and bought a farm, on which he lived as a tiller of the soil about twenty years. He then sold his farm and purchased three houses and two and a half acres of land, where he now lives. Married in 1847 to Anna E. Lyons.

Page 427

S. M. Wright

was born in Grafton county, New Hampshire, 1839. Here he received his education, and in 1862 was elected register of deeds of that county. Was messenger to the sergeant-at-arms of the United States senate in 1866-7; weigher in the New York custom house in 1868-70, and inspector of customs of New York from 1870 to 1877. During that year heremoved to Lakeville and engaged in the elevator business. Although Mr. Wright is a comparatively recent arrival among the citizens of Lakeville, he has, by his attention to business, and strict integrity, won the confidence and esteem of all who know him.

Page 431

Michael Farrell

a native of Ireland, was born in Queens county in 1842. When seven years of age he came with his father's family to America, landing in New York. Proceeding thence to New Jersey they remained until June, 1861. He then came to Dakota county, Minnesota, and purchased eighty acres of land in Lebanon. He has since added to his original estate by purchase, until he now has a landed estate of seven hundred acres. Is now town clerk and justice of the peace. Married July 31st, 1871, to Miss Mary Devitt, who has borne him eight children.

Page 431

Rachel Good

was born in Virginia in 1835. When a small child she accompanied her parents to Ohio and lived with them until nineteen years of age. She was then married to Thomas Campbell, and about two years later removed to St. Louis, Missouri, thence to St. Paul, Minnesota. While here her husband received a severe cut from an ax, which caused his death by excessive bleeding. In 1861, Mrs. Campbell married to Mr. George Good. They then moved to his place in Lebanon, Dakota county, where the family still live. Mr. Good departed this life September 17th, 1877.

Page 432

John Lester

was born in Massachusetts in 1843. Came west with his parents to Illinois, when about ten years of age, and remained one year. Locating next in Wisconsin, he remained until coming to Minnesota, and settled in Lebanon township, Dakota county, in 1860. He has a farm of eighty acres of land. Enlisted in 1865, in Hatch's Battallion, and was discharged the following year at Fort Snelling. Married in 1865 to Victorine A. Potter, who is a native of Jackson county, Iowa. They have one child.

Page 432

Daniel Sullivan

was born in Ireland in 1820. Here he grew to manhood and came to America about 1854. After living in Massachusetts seven years heremoved to Washington county. Minnesota, and purchased a farm of forty acres. This hetilled thirteen years, then sold and came to Lebanon. He with his family now live on a well cultivated farm of one hundred and sixty acres. Married in 1858 to Bridget Feely. Annie, Dennis, and Mary are their living children. Mr. Sullivan is school director of district No. 18.

Page 436

Michael Caneff

was born in Welland county, Canada, June 22d, 1847. Here he lived until thirteen years old, receiving in the meantime the advantages of the common schools. In 1860, he removed with his parents to Dakota county and purchased their present place of one hundred acres in section 22, in Marshan. Was elected town treasurer in 1874, and still holds the position. Miss Mary Ryan became his wife, June 13th, 1880, at Northfield, that city being her native place.

Page 436

E. L. Ferry

was born near Boston, Massachusetts, December 15th, 1852. He removed with his parents to Illinois, when but three years old, thence in 1856, to their farm in Dakota county. Four years later they removed to his present farm in Marshan. He acquired his education at Hastings, and since 1874, has resided on his farm. November 29th, 1875, at Hastings, his marriage with Miss Emma Twichell occurred. She is a native of this state, born at Point Douglas. Two children have been born to them: Edith C. and Arthur L.

Page 437

Peter Harvey

a native of Ireland, was born April 25th, 1812. Removed to England when fourteen years old and engaged in mining until coming to America in 1850. He resided at Zanesville, Ohio, three years, then moved to Schuykill county, Pennsylvania. Here he worked in the mines until coming to Dakota county, Minnesota, in 1856. He purchased the same year ten acres of his present farm, but has added to it until he now possesses one hundred and sixty acres. Married in London, England, in August, 1880, Elizabeth Phillips, a native of that place. One son, Charles, has been born to them. They have also one adopted daughter, Elizabeth.

Page 437

James Keetley

was born in Lincolnshire, England, December, 7th, 1827. He lived on a farm until coming to America, then worked one and one-half years in Michigan. Coming to Minnesota, he located a claim in Douglass township, and in 1880, sold and invested in one hundred and sixty acres in Marshan. Married at Hastings in 1860, to Mrs. Rosanna Larimer, who died in August, 1870, leaving one son, Franklin J. His present wife was Francis T. Tiner, of Douglass. Six children have been born to them; the living are: Mary D., Cora H., Walter R. and an unnamed infant.

Page 437

Paul Kingston

was born March 19th, 1832, in Ireland. Came to America in 1847, and located in New York. Six years later he visited his native country, but returned in two years to Canada, where he remained a contractor and builder until 1859, then came to Minnesota. He purchased his present farm that year, and the next year built his dwelling. In the fill of 1874, he visited the British Isles, for the purpose of benefitting his health, but returned after a two month's visit. Married in 1853, to Miss Ann Young. They have fourteen children, thirteen now at home.

Page 437

William Lyon

was born June 15th, 1815, in Readville, Kennebec county, Maine. Here he received the advantages of a common school, and finished his studies at the Wesleyan Seminary. In 1840 he moved to Plymouth, in that state, and remained ten years; engaged in teaching school and farming. He worked three years at ship-building in Savannah, Georgia, and came to Minnesota in the spring of 1856, locating a claim in Goodhue county. His home was in Hampton township, Dakota county, until 1860; he then made a claim in Marshan on which he has since resided. Mr. Lyon has been twice married; his present wife was Miss Jane L. Ball, married at Hastings in 1860. Blanche and Horace B. are their children.

Page 437

William R. Mather

a native of England, was born in 1886. Came to America in 1852, and located first in Virginia, then to Indiana until 1855, coming at that time to Hastings, Minnesota. Enlisted in the Second Minnesota Cavalry, and was in service in the south two years. Returning to Hastings, his former home, he worked for others some time, then rented a farm in Vermillion where he remained until 1868. He now has a farm of 128 acres in Marshan, with a comfortable house and other improvements. He was married in 1861 to Miss Mary A. McLaughlin, a native of Ireland. William R., Henrietta A., Frank O., Mary A. and Lillie A. are their children. Mr. Mather has been supervisor two years, town clerk seven years and treasurer eight years.

Page 437

Nicholas McGree

was born March 25th, 1827, in County Kilkenny, Ireland. He received the advantages of the common schools, and engaged in farming until 1853. Coming directly to Minnesota from New York city, he located in St. Paul, and for one year was employed as a farmer by Edmund Rice. In 1855 he located 160 acres in Marshan township, of which ninety acres are under improvement. Was a member of the first town board, and has served three years as its chairman. Mr. McGree has been twice married. His present wife was Miss Mary Collins, a native of Ireland. He was married in 1860. Mary, Bridget, Cornelius, Katie, Hannora, Ann, Malachi, Nicholas and Stephen are their children.

Page 437

John McNamara

was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, September 2d, 1844. When nineteen years old, he came with his parents to Dakota county, Minnesota, and purchased a farm of 320 acres in Douglass township, residing there eleven years, six years of the time occupying the office of town treasurer. In 1874, moved to Marshan and for three years lived on a rented farm, then bought 280 acres, to which he has added by purchase, making a farm of 320 acres. Has been town treasurer three years, supervisor two years, and is at present chairman of town board. Married in 1872, Miss Maggie Shaw, of Red Wing. Charlotte A., Ida M., Margaret E., John H. and James are their children.

Page 438

Tracy H. Poor

was born in Chautauqua county, New York, in 1826. Moved to Pennsylvania in 1851, and made that state his home until coming to Marshan in 1863. The first year, purchased eighty acres, and has since added 160, having now a desirable farm of 240 acres. He has served several years in different town offices. In 1849, he married Miss Sarah A. Frank. Monroe, Lewis, Daniel and George are their children. Monroe owns a farm of eighty acres in section 19.

Page 438

Daniel Ryan

was born August 28th, 1843, in Michigan. Was reared as a farmer and came to Minnesota in 1861, locating in Point Douglas. Here he engaged in agricultural pursuits until about 1867, when he sold and came to Marshan. He rented land and continued farming until 1870, then purchased his present farm. This he has improved, and on it is situated the town hall, which is his property. He has held the office of assessor since 1869, and represented his district in the legislature in 1875. Miss Susan Bradley, a native of Ireland, became his wife. Mr. Ryan was the first of a company who went out from Marshan, Douglass and Ravenna to the late civil war.

Page 444

James A. Case

son of James R. Case, was born in Rhode Island, in 1838, and came to Nininger with his father in 1856. For many years he was chairman of the town board. In 1862, he married Mary A. Bottomly, and in 1879, removed to the western part of the state, and now resides at Montevideo.

Page 444

Matthew A. Miller

the chairman of the first town board, was a native of Chambersburg, Pennsylvania. He was a civil engineer, and among other work, surveyed and platted Donnelly, Case, Burns and Goldsmith's addition to Nininger city. In 1859, he located at Vicksburg, Mississippi, and was afterward prominent, as a Confederate engineer, in planning and constructing the defenses of that city. On the fall of that city he became a prisoner of war, and was seen by some Minnesotians at Camp Douglas, since which time nothing is known of him.

Page 444

Anthony Reed

whose name was prominent in the political affairs of the township, was a native of Massachusetts, and came to Nininger in 1856. He died at Hastings in 1879.

Page 444

Charles Yeager

member of the first town board, was born in Germany in 1820, and settled in Pennsylvania in 1838. Came to Nininger in 1856, and started the "Western" hotel, which he run until 1868. Is now a citizen of Hastings, where he runs the American house.

Page 444

Charles E. Clarke

first recorder of Nininger city, came from the East in 1856, and opened a real estate agency. He did a thriving business during the prosperity of the city, and left about 1860.

Page 444

George H. Mowry

was born in Rhode Island in 1808. In 1840, moved to New Brunswick and came to Nininger in 1856. He still lives on the original village site, and is town clerk and clerk of school district No. 37. He married Miss Annie E. Gardner in 1829, and in 1879, this couple celebrated their golden wedding.

Page 444

John Ahern

was born in New York in 1856. He was raised on a farm, and has since followed agricultural pursuits. His mother now owns a farm in Nininger of 100 acres, of which he has charge.

Page 444

William Bracht

was born in 1837, in Germany. He lived on the farm with his parents until reaching manhood's estate, then came across the waters to America, proceeding from New York directly to Minnesota. He made his home in Nininger one year, then moved to Chop creek and took a claim of eighty acres, on which he lived, as a tiller of the soil, two years. Returning to Nininger, in 1862, he rented the farm where he now lives. His wife was Miss Jane Paul, whom he married in 1864. She is a native of Kentucky; has borne him seven children, three of whom are living: William A., Lizzie A. and Herman P.

Page 444

H. M. Brownell

farmer and breeder of shorthorn cattle from imported stock, was born at Hoosick Falls, New York, February 21st, 1851. He attended school until coming west to Dakota county, Minnesota, in 1863. For five years, he was farming with his father, then they opened a flour and feed store in Hastings, in which they continued until 1872. Coming to St. Paul, they engaged in the picture frame business, and in 1879, purchased their present farm in Nininger. Mr. Brownell was united in marriage with Miss Mary Shaft, May 8th, 1872. They have one daughter, Maud, born October 11th, 1874.

Page 444

J. R. Case

was born in Simsbury, Hartford county, Connecticut, October 10th, 1812. He was a farmer until going to New York city in 1835, where he engaged in mercantile trade four years. On account of declining health was again compelled to seek open air pursuits, and accordingly farmed in Rhode Island twelve years. Returning to New York city, he gave his attention to dealing in provisions, and in 1854, went to Indiana, where he was in the pork packing business. Coming to Minnesota in 1856, he erected a large saw-mill, but soon after sold it, and in 1872, started his sons in the mercantile trade at Montevideo. Mr. Case purchased a farm in Nininger and has added to it, now having three hundred and thirty acres, and one of the best farms in the township. Married in 1837, Elizabeth A. Wilkinson, of Rhode Island, who has home him eleven children, three of whom are living. The Wilkinson name dates back two hundred and fifty years; Mrs., Case's grandfather made the first wire and nails made in America, she also has a spoon made by her grandfather one hundred years ago.

Page 445

P. F. Countryman

was born in Jefferson county, New York, in 1829. When sixteen years of age, began farming and teaching school, which he continued eight years. Coming to Minnesota in 1855, he located at Hastings in the mercantile trade four years. He also made a claim of one hundred and twenty acres in Nininger, and has added to it by purchase, having at present a farm of three hundred acres. Moved to his farm in the fall of 1880. Married in 1849 to Miss E. Gleason, a native of St. Lawrence county, New York. Eleven children have been born to them, nine of whom are living. Mr. Countryman enlisted in the Second Minnesota Infantry, and was discharged on account of sickness, from the hospital at Alexandria, Virginia.

Page 445

J. J. Sill

born in 1847, in Illinois. Was reared on a farm, and when twenty years of age moved to Waseca county. Minnesota, and engaged in the milling business seven years. He was obliged to leave the business just before completing his trade in consequence of ill-health. He came to Nininger in 1871, and purchased his present farm, and is engaged in agricultural pursuits, also in milling, occasionally. Married in 1878 to Florence Cobb, a native of Maine. When living in the vicinity of the Winnebagoes they often listened to their yells and whoops during their scalp dances.

Page 449

Dr. J. L. Armington

was born at Stillwater, Saratoga county, New York, August 20th, 1818. He removed with his parents to Wayne county in 1831, and five years later removed to Indiana. Graduated at Louisville, Kentucky, in medicine, in 1841, and commenced his practice in Switzerland county, Indiana. In 1848 he went to Decatur county, where he resided until coming to Dakota county, Minnesota, in 1857. Dr. Armington was instrumental in the organization of the town of Randolph, he being the first town clerk, and held the office four years. Was surgeon in the army, and for some time in Hatch's Battalion on the frontier, and in 1866 resigned. Returning to civil life, he located at Northileld, Minnesota, where he practiced his profession until 1880; then came to Cannon Falls and is now practicing in that place. He was married in 1841 to Miss E. B. Lee. Charles L. and Alice are their children.

Page 449

L. L. Ellsworth

was bom in Farmersville, Cattaraugus county, New York, April 29th, 1846. Came with his parents to Cannon Falls, Minnesota, in 1855, his father being one of the oldest settlers of the town. He also built what is now known as the Ellsworth house, at Cannon Falls, in 1856. Mr. Ellsworth went to Decorah, Iowa, in 1860, to attend school, returning two years later. Going thence to Chicago, he was, for a short time, in a commission house; then entered the employ of J. V. Farwell and Company, remaining with them until 1872. After the Chicago fire hetraveled for the firm of Frank Brothers. During the fall of 1872 he came to his present place, having four hundred and eighty acres, with the best of improvements. He deals quite extensively in live stock, raising, buying and shipping cattle and hogs. Mr. Ellsworth was married in 1876 to Miss C. L. Hitching, a native of Maine. Chester H. and Dighten B. are their children.

Page 450

Michael Ford

a native of Ireland, was born in 1826. Here hegrew to manhood, and in 1853, came to America, landing in New York city. He lived in the state two years, then came to Minnesota and located at Hastings. Here he gained his livelihood as teamster until 1871, removing thence to Cannon Falls, following the same line of business. Purchased his present farm, in the town of Randolph, in 1878. Mr. Ford has been twice married, first in Ireland, to Miss O'Neil, who died, leaving one son, Thomas. Married to his present wife, at Hastings, in 1861. She was Miss C. Brennan, and has bome him two children, John M. and Maggie E.

Page 450

John Hurly

was born in Ireland in 1833. At the age of fourteen he went to England, and there resided until 1854, then embarked on the vessel Victoria, for America. He lived in New York city three years, and there worked at brick-laying. Coming thence to Minnesota, he located first in Goodbue county, near Cannon Falls, and in 1873, moved to Randolph township, purchasing his farm in 1880. Miss Mary Kilroy, a native of New York, became his wife in 1863, and in 1874, died. Mary, Anna, James, John and Ellen. are his living children.

Page 450

E. M. McElrath

was born at River Falls, Wisconsin, October 12th, 1857. When eight years old he came to Michigan, thence the next year to Minnesota. Locating in Rice county, he made his home there until 1870, then went to Renville county, and four years later to Council Bluffs, Iowa. In 1877, removed to Randolph township, Minnesota, where he has since resided. Miss Anna Delong, of Council Bluffs, Iowa, became his wife in 1879. Mr. McElrath moved to his present location in 1860.

Page 450

Rosetta M. Morrill

is one of the oldest settlers the town of Randolph. She came with her parents in December 1854. The first winter they lived in a dug-out and it was five months before she saw a white man or woman. She had four brothers in the civil war; one died the service, another soon after his return. Mrs. Morrill, nee Richmond, was united in marriage with David Morrill, in March. 1858. Eight children have been born to them. Ella, Forrest, Daisy and Vally are living. Twins were born November 5th, 1861, dying only five days apart. Albert and Royal also have passed away. Mr. Morrill departed this life April 24th, 1874.

Page 450

William Otte

is a native of Germany, born 1846. He removed to America in 1858, accompanied by his parents. Proceeding westward from New York, he located first in Hampton township. In 1869 Mr. Otte bought one hundred and sixty acres and has since added to it, having now two hundred and sixty acres. He has made many improvements, having good buildings and a finely cultivated farm. In 1875, was elected to the office of town supervisor, which hehas since hold. He has been three times married; his present wife, who was Miss Kate Engles, he married in 1876. Martha, Edwin, William and Anna are his children.

Page 454

C. L. Barnum

was born at Dunkirk, New York, May 12th, 1846. When six years old he removed with his parents to Pennsylvania, and two years later to Hancock county, Illinois, making that his home seven years, and finally settled in Madison, lowa. Enlisted in 1861, in Company E, Fifteenth Infantry, and served one year and nine months when he received his honorable discharge. Re-Enlisted in Company L, First Iowa Cavalry, serving until honorably discharged at Memphis, Tennessee, in 1865. He then came to Hastings, Minnesota, and in 1877, moved to his present residence in Ravenna. Married, in 1876, Miss Emily Behrmann who has borne him three children, all living.

Page 454

Elijah Burch

was born in October, 1836, in Putnam county, New York. Here was his home for many years. Enlisted in Company 1, Eighth New York Cavalry in 1862, and was honorably discharged at Clouds Mills, Virginia, in 1865. He was taken prisoner in the early part of 1865 at Stony Creek, and remained in Andersonville prison eight months. Came to Hastings in 1869, remained one year, and has since been farming in this county. In 1873 he settled on section 8, of Ravenna, and bought one hundred and sixty acres, having since resided on it. Married, in 1866, to Miss P. Varney, a native of New York. They have had three children, all living.

Page 454

P. W. Elliott

was born in Kentucky in 1814. He first came to Minnesota in 1853, and the next year located at Ravenna, being at that time one of the four or five white settlers of the town. An Indian encampment was near his house, and their dances and rejoicings often rendered rest at night impossible and the darkness hideous. Mr. Elliott married in 1840 Miss Elizabeth Taylor who has home him two children. She died a few years later. In 1850 he married Mrs. Matilda Poole who has borne him four sons.

Page 454

H. C. Lovejoy

is a successful farmer and stock- raiser. He was born in New Hampshire in 1830 and reared as a farmer. At the age of sixteen he began work as a carpenter. Coming to Minnesota in 1850, he stopped first at Fort Snelling, and two years later made the claim on which he now lives. Married, in 1857, to Miss Harriet Elliott by whom he has seven children, three sons and four daughters. Mr. Lovejoy has made the breeding of fine stock a specialty, and has the only Norman breeding stock in town.

Page 454

Isaac Lyttle

is a native of New York, born in St. Lawrence county, in 1837. Came to Minnesota in 1857, and for three years was employed in loading wood on boats and barges. In 1861, he purchased a farm of one hundred and twenty acres and improved it; bought his present farm in 1871. He enlisted in 1863, in Hatch's Battalion and served until the close of the war; entered as corporal and was promoted to sergeant. Was stationed at Fort Snelling one year and at a place near Duluth one year. Mr.Lyttle and Elizabeth Elliott were united in marriage in 1860. They are the parents of six children.

Page 454

Joseph McCoy

was born at Fort Snelling in 1834. He removed to Dakota county in 1871, and located at Ravenna in 1876. His wife was Miss Mary Mosher, whom he married in 1859. Four children have been born to them: two sons and two daughters.

Page 454

Hugh Sherry

a native of Ireland, was born in 1815. Came to America in l846, and first settled in Rhode Island, where he was employed at an iron manufactory four years. He came to Minnesota from Galena in 1850, and located at Point Douglas, and the next year preempted one hundred and sixty acres of land in Ravenna township; at this time there were only two settlers in the town besides himself. He attended the first town election, which was in 1858. He has been twice married; his first wife was Miss Mary McKanna, of Ireland. She bore him four sons and two daughters, and died February, 1861. Felix, born in 1854,was the first child born in Ravenna township, and died in 1880. Mr. Sherry's second wife was Miss Mary Brown, married in 1863. She is a native of Ireland, and has borne him five sons and three daughters, all living.

Page 454

Owen Sherry

oldest settler in Ravenna, is a native of Ireland, born in May, 1815. Coming to America in 1846, he proceeded to Boston, thence to Providence, Rhode Island, where he was engaged as a laborer. He arrived at Point Douglas in 1849, and two years later pre-empted one hundred and fifty acres of land in Ravenna. He built the first habitation which was only a shanty. His marriage with Miss Ellen McCannor was the first in the town, taking place in June, 1855. Five children have been born to them, all sons.

Page 455

Corbin Speakes

deceased, was one of the early settlers of Ravenna, born in Virginia, October 10th, 1821. His early life was passed in Ohio, where he learned the cabinet trade. In 1841, he went to Davis county, Missouri, and there married Miss Eliza Jane Breeden, a native of Kentucky. Coming to Ravenna, he made a claim, and in 1856 died, leaving his widow with three little children. Mrs. Speakes carried on the farm some time, then removed to Hastings, thence five years later, to Austin, Minnesota, remaining three years. Since then, she has resided on the farm. She married in 1858, to A. Ackers, who died in 1876. One child, Emma J. was the result of this union. Her children by her first husband were: Hester A., who died at the age of twenty-three; Charles W. and George W. are both married. The latter married in 1869, Mary Nesbitt.

Page 462

Incident - Rosemount Township

In 1863, a Mr. Arnold of Cannon Falls, at that time a member of a cavalry company stationed at Fort Snelling, received information that there was sickness in his family at home. In order to visit them he obtained a furlough, and in company with two others, S. W. Mattison and another whose name does not appear, started out on foot. At noon they stopped for dinner at the Willoughby house, on the St. Pall and Cannon Falls road, in the town of Inver Grove, about half a mile north of the line between that town and Rosemount. A number of farmers from the neighborhood were collected at the hotel and considerable drinking was going on. It was not long before a quarrel arose as the result of a political discussion and a general row ensued, the crowd against the three soldiers, or rather two, for Arnold took the part of peacemaker, and the two soldiers were soon worsted. They succeeded in getting away and concealing themselves. While the excited crowd were looking for them Arnold started down the road on his way home.

The crowd failing to discover the other two, started after him in a wagon, driving at full speed. He jumped the fence and endeavored to escape through the field, but they overtook him and sprang upon him, beating and stamping him until life was extinct. About an hour later, Mr. Whittemore and others living near, went to him and found him terribly mangled. Although it was "town meeting" day, but a few were aware of the crime committed in their midst until the next day.

Great excitement prevailed, and the three most active participants in the crime were forced to hide for a time. Patrick Mehan fled to Iowa and escaped altogether. Thomas Eagan and Michael McHugh were arrested and taken to Hastings. Eagan was tried first and by the aid of a packed jury was acquitted, The prosecution seeing it was useless to try the cases in the vicinity, secured a change of venue to Stillwater and there McHugh was tried, convicted, and sentenced to the state prison for a term of years.

Mrs. Arnold, the widow of the murdered man, brought suit against Eagan for damages, and secured a verdict for a large sum. Eagan being apprised of the result in advance, was enabled to dispose of his property. He soon after left the country, and so far as known has not been seen in the county since.

Page 462

Mathew Butler

of the firm of Hogan, Butler and Geiger, blacksmiths and carriage-makers, was born in Michigan, October 1st, 1854. When two years old, he came with his parents to Minnesota, who settled in Dakota county, in Lakeville township. At the age of seventeen years, he began learning the trade of blacksmithing in Hamilton, Scott county. In 1877, he removed to Rosemount and entered into partnership with Mr. Hogan, and three years later, Mr. Geiger was , added to the firm. Married June 22d, 1880, to Miss Anna Fehan, a native of St. Paul.

Page 463

Michael Cahill

is a native of Queen's county, Ireland, born March 1st, 1829. Here he lived until twenty years old, then came to America, landing in New York, and for seven years made is home near Patterson, New Jersey. In August, 1855, he came to Rosemount township and made a claim of one hundred and twenty acres, There he has since resided. Enlisted in 1865, in Company D, First Minnesota Infantry, and served five months. Miss Margaret Keegan became his wife in November, 1861, and has borne him one son, Joseph.

Page 463

Phillip Caron

was born in Mississippi, March 8th, 1844. In 1862, he removed to New Orleans and there acquired a knowledge of the carpenter's trade. Enlisted in 1863, in the First Louisiana regiment, and served three years, participating in the engagements at Indian Bend, Fort Hudson and Vicksburg. On being mustered out, he returned to New Orleans, and in the spring of 1874, he came to Minnesota, locating his home in Rosemount. He has since followed his trada of carpentering and contracting. Married January 2d, 1868, to Miss Kate Larkin: Mary, Catherine, Carolina and Phillip are their children.

Page 463

Thomas Clark

was born February 28th., 1822, in Penobscot county, Maine, and after receiving such advantages as his native town afforded, he entered Newport academy, and here completed is studies. In 1846, he moved to Boston, residing five years, then returned to Maine and in 1851received the appointment of postmaster at Newport, occupying that position four years. In July, 1856, he came to Minnesota and settled on claim of one hundred and sixty acres, which is till his home. He was elected one of the first justices of the peace in 1856, and in 1859, was elected town clerk, continuing as such until 1876. The second winter school in 1858-9, was taught by him; an old granary in section 24, owned by T. Raker, served for a schoolhouse. Was appointed in 1863, enrolling officer for the provost marshal, Captain Keith, enrolling recruits from Rosemount, Empire, Lakeville, Castle Rock, Eureka, Green Vale, Waterford and Sciota. Enlisted in 1865, in First Minnesota Volunteers, and was with his regiment at the surrender of Lee. Has held the offices of assessor and census enumerator. Mr. Clark has been twice married, his present wife was Miss A. Louis, married in 185l. Their living children are: Willis G., Thomas L., Edward F., Lewis H., Benjamin H. and Mary R., twins, and Arvesta L.

Page 463

Michael Cunniff

a farmer in Rosemount township, was born December 23d, 1860. His father, who was born in Ireland, came to this township and made a claim of 120 acres in 1855. He died February 13th, 1878, leaving his farm for Michael, on which hewas born and has since resided.

Page 463

John Davis

is a native of Ireland, born in 1820. He was reared to manhood in his native country, and in 1860, came across the waters to America. His home for five years was in New York, then coming to Minnesota, made a claim n section 17, in Rosemount, which is his present home. Married in New York, in 1853, to Miss Bridget Flannigan. by whom he has had nine children, six now living: Thomas, Mary, Catherine, Walter, James and John.

Page 463

Hugh Derham

born May 7th, 1829, is a native of Ireland. On reaching manhood, he came to America, and the first year in his adopted country was passed in New York at work on the Hudson canal. Moving to Wisconsin in 1850, he resided in that state five years, thence to Minnesota, and located in Rosemount on a claim of 160 acres. Was elected to the legislature in 1872; has also been county commissioner three years. Mr. Derham is one of the most successful farmers n the township, having 900 acres of land, 320 being cultivated under his supervision, the remainder being rented on shares. Has an elegant residence, fine orchard, and numerous shade and Ornamental trees. Miss Mary Herly became his wife in 1858, and has borne him six children. The living are: Catherine A., Mary A., Emma and Bridget.

Page 463

Patrick Diffley

is a life-long resident of this Township, having been born on his father's farm. His father, James Diffley, pre-empted his farm in 1855, and at his death, which occurred in 1877, left his farm to be divided between his four children, Patrick being the oldest. January 20th, 1880, hewas united in marriage with Miss Johanna Hogan, who was born in Ireland in 1861. They have one son, James.

Page 464

Patrick Doyle

is a native of Carlow county, Ireland, born in 1828. He went to England in 1846, and two years later came to this continent, landing at St. John's, Now Brunswick. He remained one year at Portland, Maine, and about seven years in New York. Coming to Minnesota in 1856, he located at St. Paul, where he was employed in the construction of the Catholic cathedral. Removed to rosemount in 1860, and purchased one hundred and twenty acres of school lands, where he has since resided. His marriage, with Miss Mary Lyons, a native of Ireland, took place in 1862. Their children are, Bridget, James, Daniel, Patrick, Mary, Michael and Ann.

Page 464

William Ennis

a native of Ireland, was born in 1834. Came to this country with his father in 1849, and served as clerk in a drug store in New York about one year, then removed to Delaware county, of that state, where he gave his attention to hotel business. In 1855, he went to Canada, thence to Illinois, and during the fall of that year arrived in Rosemount, Minnesota. He pre-empted one hundred and sixty acres, a portion of which hehas since sold to his brother. Married in 1855, Miss Mary Wilson, a native of Ireland. Six children have been born to them: Wilson, Matilda, Robert, Sarah, Elizabeth and Mary.

Page 464

William Flanagan

was born in Addison county, Vermont, April 3d, 1832. He received the advantages of the common schools, and when eighteen years old removed to Saratoga county, New York, remaining live years. In 1856, came to Dakota county and settled on a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Rosemount. This claim he held five years, then bought a farm in Lebanon. The next year he purchased two hundred and twelve acres in this township, on which he has since resided. September 4th, 1860, his marriage with Miss Eliza Nason occurred. She is a native of Ohio. Martha J., Alice M., George Francis Train, and William C., are their children.

Page 464

Joseph Geiger

a native of Germany, was born May 11th, 1844. Came to America in 1866, proceeding to Scott county, Minnesota, where he worked at the blacksmith's trade. He worked at his trade one year in St. Paul, and in 1869 opened a shop in Rosemount, continuing alone until 1880, then became a partner in the firm of Hogan, Butler and Geiger, blacksmiths and carriage makers. His wife was Anna Casey, married February 17th, 1873. Their living children are Mary, Annie, Joseph and Frank.

Page 464

J. C. Geraghty

was born in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, May 15th, 1849. When two years old his parents removed to Ireland, where he lived until attaining his majority. Returning to America in 1870, he proceeded directly to Minnesota and settled in the village of Rosemount, engaging as clerk for F. Gollon. In 1875 he returned to Ireland and married Miss Bridget Corcoran, and with his bride came again to Rosemount. In 1877 he formed a partnership with his employer, but soon after purchased his interests, being now sole proprietor of the establishment. They have four children living: John, Thomas, Joseph and Mary. Mr. Geraghty has been village treasurer nearly six years, and trustee of the parish.

Page 464

William Geilland

is a native of Prussia, born September 27th, 1842. Here he was reared to manhood, and in 1863 came to America. He located first in Eagan township, Minnesota, and purchased a farm of eighty acres. In September 1880, he removed to Rosemount and purchased his present farm. Married, October 6th, 1870, to Miss Johanna Warweg, a native of Prussia. Five children have been born to them: .Louisa S., Caroline J., William P., Martha E. and Laum M.

Page 464

John Gilman

was born in Livingston county, .New York, April 19th, 1834. He lived in his native place until reaching man's estate, then, in 1855, came to Minnesota and made his home in St. Paul two years. He went to Stillwater in 1857, remaining one year, and in 1859, came to .Dakota county, locating on a claim in Lebanon. Removing to this township in 1864, hepurchased one hundred and sixty acres on which his dwelling now stands. He has since added another quarter section to his farm. Married November 5th, 1856, in New York, to Miss Helen M. Stoddard. They are the parents of eight children, four of whom are living: Mary L., John P., Fred H. and Gertrude K.

Page 464

Drury Hilderd

is a native of Lincolnshire, England, born August 30th, 1834. Came to this continent in 1855, and lived in Michigan two years. During the fall of 1886, came to Minnesota and remained about one year; then returned to Michigan. In 1862 he went to England, and three years later returned to the United States, coming direct to Rosemount, and settled on his present farm. Married in England, May 16th, 1865, to Miss Alice Hill, who has borne him four children. Charles B., Frederick F., Cora and Lena.

Page 465

Dennis Hogan

a native of Tipperary, Ireland, was born in 1843. When sixteen years old hewent to Wales, and there lived three and one-half years, working at the blacksmith's trade. He then went to Ashton, in northern England, for one year, and there met and married Miss J. Stevens, in 1864. The next year he came to America, and for four years worked at his trade in New York City; also spent four years in Ohio, in the employ of Morgan and Hunter. He came to Minnesota, May 7th, 1874, and settled in Rosemount, taking as a partner in 1877, Mr. Butler, and in 1880. Mr. Geiger, the firm now known as, Hogan, Butler and Geiger.

Page 465

Mark Holle

was born in East Kent, England, April 23d, 1805. He served three and one-half years in the British navy, and in 1840, came to America. Landing in New York he made it his Home until 1864, then came to Minnesota, and settled in Rosemount township. At that time purchased his farm, and has since sold eighty acres to his son, having now eighty left. In l866, received the appointment of postmaster of Rich Valley, which he has since held, Married in 1834, to Miss Mary Nash. Fifteen children have been born to them; the living are, Richard, Mary, Thomas, Ellen, Mark, Jr., Juliet, Alice, Leonard, Clara and Annie.

Page 465

Henry Keeffe

was born in Now York, April 8th, 1856. His parents, John and Bridget Keeffe, natives of Ireland, came to America in 1852 and lived in New York fourteen years. They then came to Minnesota, arriving in Dakota county in 1866, and bought a farm which they deeded to their son Henry. In 1874 he began the improvement of his farm, but June 17th, 1877, the house, barn and contents were totally destroyed and carried away by a hurricane. Only the stone foundations were left, Mr. Keeffe and family barely escaped with their lives. He estimated his loss at $3,000. In 1878 he came to Rosemount and embarked in the hotel business, in which he is still engaged. Miss Mary Gorman, a native of New Jersey, became his wife in 1875. Four children have been born to them; the living am, John and Annie A.

Page 465

Andrew Keegan

a native of Ireland, was born December 15th, 1814. He learned and followed surveying, and in 1848, came to America and lived six years in New York. He came to Minnesota in 1854 and settled in Rosemount, being one of the first settlers. His claim was made near the lake now bearing his name. In 1855 he was appointed postmaster, which position he held two years. He built the first house in the village; gave the village its name, in honor of one in his native country; was appointed justice of the peace in 1856 and has since held the position; was elected member of the constitutional convention in 1857, and has been county surveyor twelve years. In 1875, was elected to the legislature. Married November 24th, 1864, to Mrs. Kearney a native of Ireland. Maggie and Alice are their children.

Page 465

Patrick Kelley

was born in Mayo county, Ireland, March 15th, 1823. Came to America in 1847, landing at Quebec, then spent a few years traveling through from Maine to Virginia. In 1868 he came to Minnesota and bought a farm of one hundred and twenty acres in section 16, where he has since resided. Married in 1843, to Miss Margaret Twelleyn, who died in July, 1879, leaving five children: Michael, William, Patrick, John and Edward.

Page 465

Frederick Kloepping

was born in Germany, May 27tb, 1845. He learned and worked at the carpenter's trade, and in 1870, came across to America. Locating in Rosemount he began the business of contracting and building, which he followed three years. He then purchased the hardware business of Mr. Merrill and entered into partnership with Louis Warweg, under the firm name of Kloepping and Company. They carry a stock of $3,000, and their annual sales are from seven to eight thousand dollars. In 1875 he received the appointment of postmaster, which position he has since hold. November 17th, 1874, he was married to Johanna Sprute, daughter of Fred Sprute of this township.

Page 465

Daniel McGinley

was born in Donegal county, Ireland, in 1836. Came to America in 1851, and lived two years in New York city with his parents. Removing to St. Louis, he remained three years, then came to Minnesota, settled in this township, and made a claim of 160 acres in section 22. In 1878, he purchased his present farm, consisting of 160 acres, it having been pre-empted by his father in 1866. Miss Sarah Devlin, a native of Liverpool, England, became his wife May 14th, 1866. Elizabeth, John, Margaret, James and Mary are their children.

Page 466

Mrs. Anastasia Mulrooney

was born in Queen's county, Ireland, January 27th, 1825. Came to America in 1850, and located in Patterson, New Jersey, where she lived five years. Was married to Dennis Mulrooney, a native of Queen's county, Ireland, in 1853. During the spring of 1855, they came to Minnesota, and the following fall located in Rosemount township. Her husband purchased 160 acres, and has since added until the farm now comprises 306 acres. Mr. Mulrooney passed away April 20th, 1879, leaving his widow and five children to mourn their loss. Mary, James, Sarah, Joseph, and Anastasia are the children. The eldest son, James, completed his education at St. John's college, and is now employed as clerk in Mr. Geraghty's store in Rosemount.

Page 466

James Murphy

was born in Kilkenny county, Ireland, in 1820. His childhood days were passed in his native country, and in 1848, came to America, and lived some time in Patterson, New Jersey, employed as clerk in a locomotive establishment. In 1853,went to Chicago and the next year to Rosemount. Here he made a claim of 160 acres, which he still owns. Miss Bridget Burns became his wife in 1861. She has borne him seven children, four of whom are living: Joseph E., John C., Mary E. and Bridget A. Mr. Murphy has been town clerk, town treasurer and chairman of the board of supervisors.

Page 466

William Murphy

was born in Queen's county, Ireland, in April, 1822. Coming to this continent in 1849, helocated at Patterson, New Jersey, where he was employed as weigh-master and time-keeper in the Ivanhoe paper mills four years. In 1854, came to Minnesota, located in St. Paul, and engaged as clerk for the firm of Nicols and Burke, iron merchants. Was messenger in the territorial legislature, and was twice elected assessor of the city of St. Paul; was also clerk for the register of deeds. In 1861, he came to Rosemount and purchased 160 acres in section 28, which he sold for $3,000, then returned to St. Paul, in order to advance the education of his children. He now owns 466 acres, and moved his family to his farm in 1870, where he has since resided. His attention is now given principally to stock-raising, in which he dealt quite extensively. In 1852, he married Miss Charlotte Mulholland, a native of Ireland. Kegan M., Bridget M., Jennie, Sarah and William are the living children.

Page 466

James O'Brien

merchant, was born in Kilkenny county, Ireland, August 20th, 1841. Here he lived until twenty-four years of age, then came to America and settled in Lakeville, Minnesota, remaining two years in agricultural pursuits. In 1867, he went to Arkansas, and two years later to Renville county, Minnesota, and made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, which he still owns. He clerked in a store for Mrs. McMenomy, remaining until he purchased her interests in 1880. Married Miss Kate McMenomy, February 14th, 1876, by whom he has two children: Stephen J. and Annie.

Page 466

B. H. Pettingill, Jr.

mail carrier and farmer was born in Boston, Massachusetts, May 4th, 1858. When a lad of ten years, he came to Minnesota, and in 1878, made a brief visit to Dakota territory. He has been mail carrier between Rich Valley and Hastings for the past two years. His home is with his father in section 19, Rosemount township.

Page 466

Rev. Father Michael Quinn

pastor of Rosemount and Farmington parishes, was born at Lockford, Ireland, April 6th, 1855. After receiving such instruction as his native place afforded, he went to Dublin and finished his theological studies in All Hallows college, and was there ordained in June, 1878. During September of that year, he was sent to America, arriving at Rosemount after a short voyage, and assumed charge of the parish.

Page 466

J. C. Rea

was born on the Atlantic ocean, December 1st, 1846, while his parents were on their way to America, and is of Scottish descent. In 1848, his parents went to Canada, and two years later returned to the United States and located near Milwaukee for five years. Their son J. C. enlisted in the First Chicago Board of Trade Company in 1864, and went south; was detailed as clerk in the quarter-master's department with Colonel S. H. Stephen. Received his discharge in 1866, and went to Madison, Wisconsin, where he embarked in the contracting and building business. In 1873, came to Minnesota, and settled at Blooming Prairie, engaged in wheat speculation. Came to Dakota county, in 1878, and was placed in charge of the elevator in Rosemount, which position he still holds. March, 1876, he married Miss Carrie Fuller, a native of Vermont.

Page 467

Michael O'Rourke

was born in Ireland, in September 1828. Came to America in 1848, and lived in New York nearly two years, removing thence to Ohio. He came to Minnesota in 1855, and settled in Rosemount township, where he made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres in section 21. He has subsequently added to it until he now has four hundred and eighty-three acres. Married in 1852, Miss Mary McKinney. Twelve children have been born to them: Thomas, Margaret, John B.. Patrick S., Francis J., Mary T., Annie J., Bridget E., Eliza J., Monica A. and Felix J. Mr. O'Rourke has held all the town offices of trust.

Page 467

John Russell

is a native of Limerick county, Ireland, born in 1820. Coming to America in 1849, he

landed at New Orleans, and for two years made his home in St. Louis, removing at that time to Alton, Illinois, and engaged while there, in railroad work. He came to Minnesota, and became a resident of Rosemount in 1861, and has since been engaged in agricultural pursuits. His farm now comprises four hundred acres, all under good cultivation. At St. Louis, October 26th, 1857, he was united in marriage with Margaret McMahon, a native of Ireland, by whom he has had even children. The living are, William, Mary A., John and Ann J.

Page 467

Gottlieb Schmid

a native of Germany, was born January 28th, 1843. Here helearned the boot and shoe trade, and served five years in the German army. Came to America, in 1869, and for one and one-half years lived in Philadelphia, then in 1870, proceeded to Minnesota, and embarked in the boot and shoe trade at Rosemount, which business he still continues. Married June 22d, 1871, to Miss Anna Kachel, a native of Germany. Henry, Edward, Samuel, George and William are their children.

Page 467

Frederick Sprute

was born in Germany, September 11th,1824. He lived in his native country until 1870, and was a tiller of the soil. Coming to America, and to Minnesota in 1870, he settled in Rosemount township, where he has since followed agricultural pursuits, owning a farm of one hundred and sixty acres. Miss Sophie Warweg became his wife in 1850, and has borne him five children, four of whom now survive: Johanna, Frederick, Caroline and August.

Page 467

Walter Strathern

was born in Scotland, February 21st, 1832. He crossed the waters to this continent in 1851 and worked as a sawyer two years in New York. Came to Minnesota in 1853 and settled in Rosemount township, he and his brother being the oldest living settlers. The next year he made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, where he now resides, having since added to it by purchase. Enlisted in August, 1862, in Company P, Eighth Minnesota Volunteers, and first served on the frontier against the Indians, under Gen. Sibley. He participated in the skirmishes and battles in which his regiment engaged; was wounded and disabled for further service at the battle of the "Cedars." Received his discharge at Fort Snelling and returned to this township, where he has since lived. Married to Miss Mary Tracey, March 2d, 1860. Seven children are living., John, Walter, Paul, Thomas, Moses; Roland and Rose May, who are twins.

Page 467

William Strathern

was born in Scotland, April 5th, 1829. He learned the trade of sawyer, and after attaining majority came to America. He visited New Jersey, Elmira, New York, and the principal cities of Canada, in the pursuit of his trade. In 180 he came to Minnesota and settled in Rosemount township, in company with W. Senescall, making a claim of one hundred and sixty acres. They were among the earliest, if not the earliest settlers in the township. The farm now occupied by him, he purchased in 1861, his sister Mrs. Wallace owning his former farm. He has held all the offices of trust and has been town treasurer about nine years. Married in New Jersey, to Miss Margaret Hastie, a native of Scotland. James, Maggie B., Sarah M., Agnes H., Samuel W., Charles R. and Willis J. are their children.

Page 467

W. M. Sommerfield

was born at Watertown, Wisconsin, July 21st, 1859. After receiving a common school education in his native place, he completed his studies at Racine college. When eighteen years of age, he began learning telegraphy,, and in 1878 was employed as night operator at Austin, Minnesota, for the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railway. In April, 1880, he took charge of the station at Rosemount, where he still remains.

Page 468

James Thompson

was born August 29th, 1815. He served as an apprentice in the dry-goods trade five years, then went to Dublin, and for twelve years engaged, in that business. Coming to America in 1846, he lived in New York city until 1866, and that spring came west to Iowa. He opened a large dry-goods store in Davenport, which was totally destroyed by fire the next year. Making a prospecting tour through Minnesota, he finally located on a farm in Burnsville township, Dakota county, which he occupied only one year, but retained until 1876. Settling in Rosemount in 1876, he was appointed justice of the peace and recorder, which office he still holds. Married in Dublin, in 1836, to Miss Dalton, of that city. Ten children have been born to them, five of whom are living. Four sons took active part in the late war, two of them being killed. His wife departed this life February 14th, 1876.

Page 468

Elias Tompkins

was born in Saratoga county, New York, January 22d, 1835. Coming to Minnesota in 1857. He remained a short time in Glencoe, McLeod county, and during the summer removed to this township. He purchased forty acres of his present farm at that time, having since added eighty more. Enlisted in the First Minnesota Regiment,Company A, in March, 1865, serving six months. Was discharged at Fort Snelling. He has held all the offices of trust in the township, and was elected representative in 1878-79. Married Miss Sarah A. Woodworth in 1858. Their living children are: Fred., Sydney J., Mary F., Alfred and Florence.

Page 468

Obadiah B. Velie

is a native of New York state, born March 28th, 1834. He grew to manhood in his native place, and there learned die carpenters' trade. Came to If Minnesota in 1855, and settled in Dakota county. Enlisted, in 1862, in the Seventh Minnesota Volunteers, Company F, and was engaged in the campaign against the Indians, then went south in 1863. Received his discharge in 1865, after a three years' service. On his return, he came to Rosemount and located on the farm he had purchased previous to the war, and on which he has since lived. Married in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, to Annie E. Cook, in 1859. Nine children have been born to them, three of whom are living: Charles H., Sarah E. and Minnie O.

Page 468

John Volkert

a native of Missouri, was born in Cook county, December 15th, 1855. When he was eight or nine years old, was brought by his parents to Minnesota, and until the age of fifteen years lived in Corcoran township, and while there attended the district schools. In 1879, he came to Dakota county, and, in company with George Franzmeier, purchased of George Senescall his present farm, which he has since operated. On the 15th of October, 1879, Mr. Volkert married Miss Christiana Franzmeier, a native of Minnesota. They have one child. Margaret M.

Page 468

Louis Warweg

of the firm of Kloepping and Company, was born in Jefferson county, Wisconsin, April 8th, 1851. When seventeen years old he left the parental roof and after prospecting through Illinois, settled in Rosemount township, where his parents bought a farm of one hundred and sixty acres. His father died December 22d, 1872. He purchased the hardware business of H. G. Merrill in 1875, in company with his present partner. Mr. Kloepping received the appointment of postmaster with Mr. Warweg as assistant. He is also a member of the village council.

Page 468

William T. Wiley

was born in Maine, October 28th, 1823. His home was in his native state until 1868, then coming to Minnesota, settled in Rosemount. He invested in a farm of one hundred and sixty acres, with only forty acres under cultivation. Married in Washington county, Maine, in 1847, to Miss Harriet A. Coulton. They have bad eight children, five of whom are living: George, Oscar, Charles, Alice and Laura.

Page 468

Mary J. Woodfill

is a native of Warwickshire, England, born January 13th, 1825. She married Thomas Wood fill, a native of Leicestershire, England, in her native place. In 1855 they came to America, landing in Philadelphia, where they lived one year. Removing to Minnesota they settled in Pine Bend, and in 1866, purchased a farm in Rosemount. Her husband died in 1871, leaving his widow eight children: Sarah, William, George, Joseph, Thomas, Joshua, Mary and Leonard.

Page 473

O. J. Austin

was born at Waltham, Vermont, November 4th, 1840. He moved to Wisconsin, thence in 1860, to Minnesota. Locating at Sciota, he purchased at that time his present farm. Enlisted in Company P, Eighth Minnesota Regiment, serving until the close of the war, being mustered out July 17th, 1865. Miss Mary E. Bullock became his wife, November 28th, 1865, and has borne him two children: Jay and Frank.

Page 473

Olof Benson

a native of Sweden, was born in 1834. On attaining majority, crossed the waters to America; after remaining a short time in Illinois, he came to Red Wing, Minnesota, and pre-empted a claim on which he lived one year, then visited St. Paul, Prescott, Wisconsin, Cannon Falls, and in 1858, went to Northfield. Here he worked at blacksmithing until 1872, then came to Sciota and purchased the farm on which hehas since lived. In 1859, he married Miss Betsey Johnson, a native of Sweden. Six children have been born to them. Nelson B., a student at Carleton college; Amanda G., Anna C., Theodore J., Ellen M. and Oscar E.

Page 473

E. D. Bowe

was born in Ohio, in 1850. When a child of five years, he accompanied his parents to Nortlifield, Minnesota, where they still reside. In 1877, he came to Sciota and purchased his present farm, it being preempted by his grandfather, S. Lord, in 1856. His wife was Miss Mary Phillips, a native of N. Y. state, married in 1876. They have three children, Lucius D., Dott, and Laura.

Page 474

Alfred E. Bullock

was born in New York, January 16th, 1848. When a lad of twelve years came to Minnesota with his father, Samuel Bullock. His father was born hi New York in 1818, and there lived until 1860, then came west and bought the farm in Sciota, Dakota county, Minnesota, now owned by Alfred. Samuel Bullock married in 1841, Miss Amanda M. Waling, who has borne him eight children. The living are: Mary B., now wife of O. J. Austin; Addie L., wife of R. W. Whitson; Alice A., wife of Charles Foster; Frank E., Clara B. and Cora E., the last two named being in attendance at Carleton college.

Page 474

C. B. Bullock

was born in Herkimer county, New York, in 1819. Here his childhood and youth were passed and in 1855, came to Minnesota and settled in Sciota, taking as a claim a portion of section 24, on which he lived several years, then moved to Northfield, where he now lives. He and Miss Melvira Serviss were united in marriage October 26th, 1842. Their living children are, M. A., now wife of Edgar Lockeby of Northfield, and Ida F., who lives with her parents.

Page 474

J. C. Couper

was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1830. On reaching the age of twenty-one years he went to Michigan for one year, thence to California for two years, and in 1855, came to Sciota and took as a claim the northeast quarter of section 14, making it his home until 1866, then sold and removed to Northfield. He was the first justice of the peace in what was then called the "precinct" which included Sciota, also served as justice in the town for several years; was second town clerk, also supervisor, and occupied other offices of less importance. In l862, was elected to the legislature. Enlisted in Company F, Eighth Minnesota Regiment, of which he was orderly sergeant and was mustered out in July, 1865,retuming to Sciota. During l878,was made manager of the Granville, Goodhue county, mill, which is owned by the Cannon River Manufacturing Company, of which heis also a member. Married in 1856, to Miss H. Johnson, who has borne him seven children. The living are: Joseph E., a graduate of Hahnemann college of Philadelphia, also the St. Louis Medical college, and is practicing medicine; Charles S., now at Carleton college; F. J., Eva L., George B. and Hattie.

Page 474

George Daniels

a native of Vermont, was born at Rochester in 1820. When six years old went to Cattaraugus county, New York, and lived until 1850, then came to Minnesota, went shortly after to Ohio. Residing two years in that state, he then removed to Iowa for two years, and in 1854 preempted a farm in Sciota, on which he has since lived. Miss Celestia Slocum became his wife in 1842. They are the parents of five children: Jane, now wife of John E. Wilson; Charles, a graduate from Bennett Medical college of Chicago, practicing medicine at Montevideo, Minnesota; M. A., Sarah L. and Estella. Mr. Daniels served about four years in the late civil war.

Page 474

Margaret Denny

a native of Ireland, was born in 1820. She crossed the waters to Canada in 1831, and nine years later married William Denny, her maiden name was Margaret McWaters. In 1851, they came to the United States, settling in Wisconsin, afterwards lived in Iowa, and in 1857, came to Goodhue county. She still owns the farm on which they lived, but resides with her son Thomas in Sciota. Her husband met a sad and painful death, being killed by a runaway team. Elizabeth, now wife of Henry Baker, John, Thomas and Alex. residents of Minneapolis, and Mary, are her living children. David, born in 1843, enlisted in Company D, Eleventh Minnesota Regiment, and died while in service.

Page 474

Matthew Doyle

was born in Canada in 1845. Coming to the United States in 1866, he settled in Michigan, where he resided four years. Thence to Minnesota and settled in Goodhue county, and to McLeod county for five years. During the fall of 1880, located at Sciota. Married in 1870, Miss Ellen Murphy, of Goodhue county. Four children have been born to them John, Abbie, Willie and Georgia.

Page 474

James Freeland

was born in Ireland in 1821. While yet a child came to Canada, living there until 1865, then came to Minnesota and settled in Sciota on the farm, where he still lives. In 1836 he married Miss Ann Errington, who has borne him six children: John C., living in Canada; Mary, wife of Henry McCune; Sarah wife of Nelson Nicholas; Gordon, Albert and James W.

Page 475

George Grant

is a native of Scotland, born 1823. His youth was passed in his native land, and in 1854, embarked for America, arriving at New York, after a tedious voyage of thirteen weeks. Remaining in that city about fifteen months, he then came to Hastings, Dakota county, Minnesota, thence to Nininger for eighteen months. During the fall of 1857, came to Waterford, making his home there until 1863, then came to Sciota and purchased his present farm. Married in 1854, in Scotland, Miss Ellen Howie, who was born in 1832.

Page 475

Mary A. Hunt

was born in New York in 1830, and was the daughter of J. Sherwood. Married A. G. Hunt in 1857; he was born in New York in 1832, and came to Minnesota in 1853. Six years later he purchased a farm in Sciota, where his widow still lives. He enlisted in Company B, Third Minnesota Regiment, in 1861, in which he served until 1864, but died in the south only nine days after his discharge. Three children were born to them; the living are I. May and George B.

Page 475

M. M. Huntress

was born in Vermont in 1835. Came to Minnesota in 1860, and settled in Sciota. He was united in marriage, in 1858, to Miss M. E. Fredendell, who was born in New York in 1840. Their living children are: George H., Frank H., William W., Edward F., Florence V. and Nellie L.

Page 475

W. B. Jack

was born in Canada, September 9th, 1830. Came to the United States in 1878, and settled in Cannon Falls, to Sciota the next year, and purchased the farm on which he lives. Married in Canada, March 26th, 1863, to Miss Mary Cocker, who has borne him five children: Charles A., James M., William J., Maud E. and Mary M.

Page 475

T W. Johnson

was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1833. He resided in his native place until reaching majority, then went to Connecticut for one and one-half years. During the fall of 1855, came to Minnesota and settled in Morrison county. Three years later, he returned to his native state, but, in 1861, came again to the state of Minnesota, locating in Northfield. He followed the carpenters' trade at that place until 1870, then invested in his present farm in Sciota. Married, in 1866, in Northfield, to Miss Mary E. Basley, who was born in Illinois in 1845. They have one child, Ida May, born in Northfield.

Page 475

A. J. Kibbe

was born at Otis, Massachusetts, in 1816. When four years old, went to New York, remaining until the age of seventeen, then returned to his native state. In 1852, came west to Wisconsin, thence to Minnesota three years later. He located at that time a claim in Sciota, on which he has since resided. Mr. Kibbe has been three times married; his first wife was Miss Melinda Braymer, who died, leaving him five children: Delia, Olive, Franklin, Wallace and John. His second was Miss Lucinda Jayne, married in 1852, and four years later she passed away. Mrs. Martha Amsden, widow of G. A. Amsden, became his wife in 1857, she being the parent of four children.

Page 475

Hiram P. Kleeberger was born in Illinois in 1851, and moved, with his parents, to Sciota when four years old. In 1876, he purchased his present farm. His wife was Miss Georgia Van Voras, of Red Wing, whom he married in 1878. Two children have been born to them. Olive M. and Josephine.

Page 475

James Law

a native of Scotland, was born in 1836, and came across the ocean to Canada in 1843, proceeding to the states the next year. He located at Sciota, then preempted a farm on which his mother lives, he, however, owns one adjoining. Engaging in agricultural pursuits until 1873, he then removed to Northfield and opened a general merchandise store, where he still continues in business. Married at Sciota, in 1865, to Miss Elizabeth Mason, of Castle Rock, Dakota county. She is a native of Belleville, Canada, born in 1840. They have one child, George.

Page 475

R. Madigan

was born in Ireland in 1831, and came to America in 1844, settling in Massachusetts. In 1861 he came to Minnesota, and purchased his present farm in Sciota, in 1875. His wife was Miss Mary Murphy, whom he married in 1856. Nine children have been born to them, Mary A., Margaret, Johanna, Matthew J., Edward B., Patrick Henry and Jane A. Agnes died at the age of nine years, and is buried in Minneapolis. A. C. has also passed away.

Page 476

Alex. McCulloch

Was born in Scotland, in 1817. Came to Canada in 1834, and two years subsequently to Wisconsin, living there six years. Thence to Iowa for five years, and came to Minnesota in 1855. Locating in Sciota, he pre-empted the farm on whichhie now lives. In Wisconsin, in 1849, he Married Miss Sarah A. McWaters. They have had nine children; the living are: John F., of Yellow Medicine county, Minnesota; James, Mary, wife of James Hunter; Sarah, wife of Alvin Miller, Isabelle, Alex. and Annie. David and Ellen have passed away.

Page 476

A. W. Riddell

was born in Canada, June 6th, 1837. When eighteen years old, he visited different cities in the province, then went to Chicago where he lived four years, following his trade as engineer and machinist. In April, 1857, he came to Hastings, Dakota county, and during the next winter, in company with his cousin went to Faribault county, with a portable steam saw-mill, remaining until the spring of 1859. During the first three months their only food was potatoes, pork and turnips, as nothing else could be obtained there at that time. Returning to Canada, in 1859, he married Miss Jane Rankin of Prescott, Ontario. In 1863 he returned to Minnesota, bringing his family with him, and settled in Sciota on his present fine farm. Has been justice of the peace four years, chairman of board of supervisors four years, and a member of the school board ten years. His wife died at their home in Sciota, May 13th, 1878. Their children are, Laura, born in Merrickville, Canada, now wife of M. C. Black, of Waterford, and M. Ella, who lives at home. Married his present wife Miss A. M. Heard in 1880.

Page 476

Ebenezer Slocum

is a native of the "Empire" state, born in 1832. He lived there until 1855, then came to Sciota and preempted the farm on which he now lives. Married in 1854 to Miss L. Sackett, who was born in New York in 1836. Two children have been born to them, William K., now of Minneapolis and Sarah M.

Page 476

E. M. Walbridge

was born in 1856 in Wisconsin, and came to Minnesota with his parents. They lived in Sciota ten years, then went to Goodhue county. Mr. Walbridge purchased his present desirable farm in 1873. Married Miss Emma Whitson, a native of Canada, in 1873. They have two children, Vance and Leo T.

Page 476

Job W. Wallace

Was born in Canada in 1847. Here he passed his childhood days, and in 1879, came to the United States, locating in Sciota. At that time he purchased a farm, and has since continued in agricultural pursuits. Miss Anna E. Booth, born in Canada in 1852, became his wife in 1871. Ethel E. I. and Charlotte M. W. are their children.

Page 476

R. W. Whitson

a native of Canada, was born in 1860. Came to Granville, Goodhue county, Minnesota, in 1867, and was engaged with his father in the Granville mill until 1877. He then removed to Hampton, Dakota county, remaining three years, coming thence to Sciota. Married in 1873. Miss Ida Bullock, who has borne him two children, D. A. and Minnie M.

Page 476

John E. Wilson

was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1840. Here he remained until reaching the age of eighteen, then came to Minnesota and located on his present farm in Sciota, which he bought at that time. Married August 31st, 1865, Jennie M. Daniels, daughter of George Daniels of Sciota. They have no children. Mr. Wilson enlisted in Cornpany P, Eighth Minnesota Regiment, in 1861, serving until mustered out in 1865. He was a member of the board of supervisors two years, also justice of the peace two years.

Page 476

Thomas Wilson

was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1831, and lived there until coming to Minnesota in 1855. He first settled in Rice county, but in 1857 removed to Sciota. Remaining until 1864, he returned to Rice county and purchased a farm just across the Sciota line, where he still lives. Married in 1867, Miss Ann Couper, who was born in St. Lawrence county, New York. Five children have been born to them: Herbert C., now in the Cincinnati observatory; Elma Y. and Edna B., twins, now at Carleton college; John W. and Elizabeth M.

Page 476

I. D. Wilson

was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1849. In 1859, came with parents to Sciota township, and settled on section 11, where I. D. now lives. He was married in 1872, Miss Emma R. Wheeler, of Indiana. She died June 18th, 1880, and was buried in Waterford. They had two children, Laura B. and Ida May. Mr. Wilson was a member of the town board for two years, a county commissioner three years, and is at present justice of the peace.

Page 481

County Poor Farm - town of Vermillion

In 1880 the County Commissioners decided to locate the county poor farm in the town of Vermillion, and accordingly purchased of William Thompson, of Hastings, a farm of eighty acres, … This farm is in the northwest quarter of section 30, and has a substantial two-story frame building … When first occupied there were but three inmates; there are now thirteen, among them an old English woman, Maria Nightingale, who has reached the age of 105 and is still able to be about.Page 481

Incident - The Murder of Thomas Callaghan

On the evening of Saturday, August 26th, 1876, occurred a most atrocious crime, one that startled the people of Vermillion. This was the murder of Thomas Callaghan, a well known citizen and prosperous farmer. The crime was committed on the line between Vermillion and Rosemount, on what is known as the Hastings and Crystal lake road. Callaghan was engaged in running a thresher, and had in his employ two brothers, John and Joseph Bird; wishing to reduce his force of workmen hedischarged these two. In settlement with them hedisplayed a considerable sum of money, which hecarried on his person, and thus aroused their cupidity. They resolved to possess the money and accordingly lay in wait for him as hewas going to his home in the evening. His workmen, with the horses, excepting the team he drove, preceded him some time. His family were not much concerned at his not reaching home, as they supposed he bad gone to Rose- mount, as be frequently did. As hedid not come, a search was instituted and he was found in the road, about one and one-half miles from his home, near the residence of his brother, John Callaghan, with a ballet hole in his forehead and other marks of violence. They carried him to his brother's house, where he died in the afternoon, remaining unconscious from the time he was discovered.

An inquest was held, and the jury returned a verdict that the decreased came to his death at the hands of parties unknown. He was buried in Inver Grove cemetery the following day, his funeral cortege being the largest ever known in the county. Search was at once commenced for the perpetrators of the crime, and the Bird brothers were arrested in Minneapolis and taken to Hastings, where one of them confessed the deed. The elder brother died in jail be fore the trial, and the other, pleading guilty, escaped the gallows, and was sentenced to the penitentiary for life, where he is now serving a just punishment for the atrocious crime.

Page 482

General Charles Powell Adams, M. D.

is of Scotch-English and German descent. His family can be trued back to the days of William the Conquerer. In 1643, one of his paternal ancestors came over to Virginia from England. His grandfather on his father's side served in the war of the revolution, under Washington, and lived till past ninety years old. General Adams paternal grand-mother was of an old German family. On the maternal side, General Adams' grandfather was a Scotchman. The family were soon scattered after coming to America. His parents are William and Nancy Adams, both of whom are living, he being their oldest son. The general was born in Rainsburgh, Bedford county, Pennsylvania, March 3d, 1831. After receiving a liberal education at the public schools, and at Bedford Academy, in Coshoeton county, Ohio, when eighteen years of age, he commenced the study of medicine with Dr. W. R. Waddell of West Bedford. After remaining with Dr. Waddell one year, he became a student of Drs. Conneley and Pierce, in Amity, Knox county, Ohio, and then took a course in the Ohio Medical college, graduating in 1851. The next year, he began the practice of medicine in Waymansville, Bartholomew county, Indiana. His health becoming injured from over-work and the malaria of the climate, being compelled to seek a healthier residence, he removed to Hastings, Minnesota. This city was for many years his residence, and is yet his head- quarters, though for some time past he has made his home on a fine farm in Vermillion township. In 1856. although but twenty-five years of age, General Adams was elected a member of the territorial legislature, and was appointed chairman of the committee on corporations, which, on account of the rapidly increasing railroad legislation and the extensive government grants of land, was made an important part of the legislature. In addition to his professional duties, the doctor assumed editorship of the Hastings Democrat, and continued it until the filing on Fort Sumter, April 14th, 1861, when he at once enlisted as a private, but in the choice of officers was elected captain of Company R, First Regiment Minnesota Volunteers, which was mustered into service on the 29th of the same month. He was in every battle, from the first Bull Run to Gettysburg, and was an unusual sufferer from wounds. His first wound was a slight one in the left arm, was received July 21st, 1861; the next, a severe one in the left groin, at Malvern Hill, July 1st, 1862; at Antietam, September 17tb, 1862, severely, in the left shoulder; at Gettysburg, July 2d, 1863, six times, through the left cheek and left lung, in the groin, in the left thigh, breaking the femur, and one in the abdomen. He was left for dead on the field, but found and cared for by his comrades. Was at first taken to the hospital at Littlestown, and thence to Baltimore, Maryland. For eighteen months a crutch was necessary to enable him to walk, and, as relies of the conflict, he carries in his body two bullets and one buckshot. September 26th, 1862, he was appointed major, for meritorious conduct on the 6th of Way, 1863, lieutenant-colonel and colonel, March 13th, "for faithful services during the war " He was again promoted to the rank of brevet-major-general, March 13th, 1865, "for meritorous services," which are recounted in the commission. The recommendation to President Lincoln, is signed by every officer of the division in which General Adams served. General George G. Meade, in a personal note to the adjutant-general of the United States, called his "particular attention to the unusually high testimonials in favor of this officer." In his report of the battle of Gettysburg, Major-General Winfield S. Hancock gave the old Minnesota First and their gallant officers, including Lieutenant-Colonel Adams, great credit for their achievements. Afterwards at Cold Harbor, Virginia, June 10th, 1864, General Hancock wrote, referring to General Adams, "I desire to call the attention of the provost marshal-general, to the fact that this is a distinguished officer. He won great renown at Gettysburg, and is so referred to in my official report of that action. "General Adams was in the service after the close of the war, and was placed in command of the third sub-district of Minnesota, with headquarters at Fort Abercrombie, Dakota territory. In January, 1866, he commanded a corps of cavalry an artillery, which was sent against the hostile Sioux; a deep snow covered the ground at the time and the thermometer ranged from thirty to forty-five degrees below zero. Although the command suffered severely from frost, the expedition was a success, and demonstrated the practicability of a winter campaign. The general was mustered out of service July 16th,1866, and at once returned to Hastings, where he has since success-fully engaged in the practice of medicine. In April, 1872, he was elected mayor of the city, but declined re-election. In 1869-70, he was an active associate of Dr. Willey, and others in organizing the Minnesota State Medical Society, and he has been honored with nearly all of the offices within its gift. He was a member of the American Medical Association, San Francisco, in 1871, and at subsequent meetings at Chicago, Buffalo, and New York city; at the latter meeting he was secretary of the section in surgery. General Adams is also a member of the Dakota County Medical Society, and an honorary member of the California State Medical Society, a member and ex-president of the Rocky Mountain Medical Society. In 1878, he was elected a member of the state senate from Dakota county for a term of four years. General Adams was married in February, 1852, at Waymansville, Indiana, to Mary Florence, daughter of Rev. Alvin Buxton, of that town. She died in October, 1858, leaving two children, who are yet living; Flora T. and W. H., who is now a member of the Hastings bar. In November, 1873, the general was married to Mary S. Pettibone, of Vermillion.

Page 483

Charles Barrington

father of Robert Barrington, was born in Catskill county, New York, in 1776. Married to Esther Davis in 1793. He died in 1831. At the good old age of one hundred and three years, she passed away, having retained her youthful appearance to a remarkable degree, as she never wore glasses neither had a decayed tooth. They had thirteen children, two of whom died.

Page 483

Robert Barrington

was born in 1819, in Cayuga county, Now York, and was reared as a fumer. When twenty years of age, he came to Burlington, Calhoun county, Michigan, and there engaged in agricultural pursuits fifteen years. In 1854, came to Hastings and is one of the oldest settlers. He preempted one hundred and sixty acres in Vermillion, living one year in a log shanty 12xl4 feet, which had no floor except that which mother earth afforded, and the moon shone in through the airy roof. He then bought a farm of one hundred and sixty acres in section 11, where he now lives. Married Lydia J. Wetherell in 1839. They have six children living: Lucy, Louisa, Myron, James, Clarissa J., Duane and William. These good people are always kind and hospitable, having many times entertained stranger,. In 1858, Mr. Barrington was elected the first school treasurer.

Page 483

Sarah Bennett

nee Morgan, was born in Ireland, and came to America in 1848. Her husband, Bernard Bennett died in 1854, in Rockland county, New York. Edward Bennett, their son, is a native of Ireland. Came to America with his parents in 1848, to Falls River, Massachusetts, and to Hastings, Minnesota, in 1856. He worked as a carpenter five years and located on the Bennett property in section 9, in 1861. He was town treasurer two years. Married in 1870, to Mary A. Gee, who has home him two children: Sarah and Margaret. Thomas Bennett, also a native of Ireland, is a resident of Traverse county. Owen Bennett, born in lreland, is a resident of Vermillion. Torrence Bennett was born at Fall River, Massachusetts, April 26th, 1848. Removed with his parents to Rockland county, New York, when a small child. With his brothers, he owns the largest farm in Dakota county. The farm consists of over one thousand flve hundred acres, and is all under cultivation, and tilled by the Bennett brothers.

Page 484

Joseph Bottomly

was born in LaFayette county, Wisconsin, in 1843. He was engaged in the lead mines with his father for some time, then came to Minnesota in 1857. Made his home in Nininger four years, engaged in different occupations. Enlisted in Company F, Seventh Minnesota, and after serving in his country's defense three years, was discharged at Fort Snelling. He then gave his attention to lumbering for five years, finally located in Vermillion, and rented a farm in sections 10 and 15, where he has since lived. His wife was Miss Mary Fisher, married in 1870. She is a native of England, and has borne him four children: Sarah E., Mary E., Josephine A. and William E.

Page 484

F. J. Brennan

a native of Ireland, was born in 1858. When a child of seven years, he came across to America, and after a short visit at Baltimore, came west to La Crosse, Wisconsin. Subsequently, he visited the Winnebago valley, then returned to Hastings, remaining five years, and afterward farmed in the Winnebago valley two years. Much of his time since he has had charge of trotting horses, and with them has visited different parts of this and other states. He made a claim of 160 acres near Morris, which he sold soon after, but took another farm of the same number of acres in Traverse county, on which he lived two years, then sold, and returned to Hastings. He now has a saloon in Vermillion, which he opened in 1880. Mr. Brennan is an unmarried man.

Page 484

Samuel Brown

was born in 1823, and is a native of New York. While quite young he moved with his parents to Steuben county. He was early thrown upon his own resources, in consequence of his father's death. Engaging in agricultural pursuits, heremoved with his employer to Genessee county, remaining four years. Coming to Minnesota, in 1854, he pre-empted a claim of 160 acres in Vermillion, in section 20, and built his dwelling in 1869. On arriving at Hastings, there was not a frame house and none to be seen in any direction when at Vermillion. The Indians were traveling about at will, though quite peacable. Married in 1862, to Miss B. Morris, who has borne him two children: Robert and Esther.

Page 484

John Callaghan

was born in Queen's county, Ireland, April 8th, 1837. Came to this continent with his mother in 1848, locating first in Haverstraw, New York, where was his home eight years. In 1856 he came westward to Minnesota, and settled in Nininger township. During youth he attended school and learned the trade of engineer, which he followed two years after coming to this state. In 1865 he moved to his present home in Vermillion, where he has a finely improved farm of three hundred and twelve acres. He has served as county commissioner four years, town supervisor four or five years and school treasurer several terms. Married July 30th,1865, at Hastings. Miss Johanna Murphy. Mary E., Johanna, Kate A., Maggie, William E. and Joseph, are their children.

Page 484

Thomas Callaghan

deceased, was born in Queen's county, Ireland, in June, 1841. His father died when Thomas was five years of age, and in 1848 his mother and her family immigrated to America. They located at Haverstraw. New York and there lived until 1856. The family then came to Minnesota and located in Nininger township. Thomas acquired a practical education and learned the trade of sawyer. During the war hewas attached to the quartermaster's department under Gen. LeDuc. Returning home at the close of hostilities he purchased a tract of unimproved land in section 6, Vermillion, which he moved to and lived on until the event of his tragic death, in 1875, an account of which is given elsewhere in this volume. Married February 7th, 1867, to Miss Rose Hughes, who now lives at the home of her late husband. Eliza, Margaret, George, John H. and Thomas, are their children.

Page 484

William Callaghan

deceased, was born in Queen's county, Ireland, and came to America with the family in 1848. He enlisted in Company F, Third Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, in 1863, and was attached to the army of the Tennessee. His bright and promising career was ended at Jefferson Barracks, Missouri, November 9th, 1864, aged twenty years. He died of illness contracted while in service.

Page 485

Mrs. Catharine Callaghan

mother of John, Thomas and William Callaghan, died at Nininger in 1868, aged about sixty years. She was a most estimable lady and trained her children in the right way. She passed away mourned by many.

Page 485

John Cockbain

was born in Cumberland county, England, in 1830. At the age of twelve years hebegan working for himself, and in 1865, came to America. The same year he came to Hastings and assisted in building a house for Mr. Tripp, one of the oldest settlers there. He and his brother then purchased one hundred and sixty acres in Rosemount in partnership, but owing to a dispute, which arose between them, John withdrew. He then took a claim near the depot at Rosemount; in consequence of sickness and straightened finances hewas unable to retain it. Once more he commenced, and on a very small scale, having one-fourth of an acre with three acres of timber land and in 1857, built a house 16x2O. After this he worked for different patties, and finally purchased seventy-Eight acres in Vermillion, to which he moved in 1864. Has prospered and added to his original farm. Married, in 1855, Miss Ann Nichollsen, a native of England. Mary A., Jane E. and Ellen N. are their children.

Page 485

John Duff

was born in Bartholomew county, Indiana, June 30th, 1840. His early life was passed on a farm, and in October, 1861, enlisted in the Seventh Indiana Battery, serving until honorably discharged at Indianapolis. December 7th, 1864, returning to his native county, he remained until the spring of 1866; then came to Dakota county, Minnesota, since which time he has engaged in farming. Has been twice married; his present wife was Miss Annie E..Kirk, whom he married May 1st, 1878.

Page 485

Larry Dunley

a native of Germany, was born in 1852. He was reared as a farmer, and lived with his father, who owned three hundred acres, twenty years. In 1872 he came to America and shortly after proceeded to Hastings and worked until 1880 on the railroad. He then came to Vermillion and took a situation as section boss on the Hastings and Dakota railroad. April 9th, 1877, he married Miss Kate Yarah of Germany. Two children have been born to them, Mary and Frank.

Page 485

Peter Fishler

was born in Germany in 1853. He came to America and to Guttenburg, Iowa, where he remained four years as a farmer, then went to Wisconsin and learned the blacksmiths trade, which he followed three years. In 1872 he went to Fergus Falls, Otter Tail county, Minnesota, subsequently returning to his home in Wisconsin. He located in Vermillion in 1873, and has here engaged in the pursuit of his trade. Purchased his present residence in 1876. Married Miss Kate Smith in 1878, who has borne him two children, Kittie and Mary.

Page 485

Thomas Fitzgerald

was born in West St. Paul, Minnesota, in 1859. His father, John Fitzgerald, was born in Ireland, in 1831, and came to America in 1857. He married in 1854 to Margaret Conners, who bore him seven children. He has one hundred and sixty-six acres in West St. Paul, where he now is, and in 1880, bought a farm in Vermillion which Thomas now cultivates.

Page 485

H. J. Gasman

was born in Waukesha county, Wisconsin in 1847. He was reared as a farmer, and acquired a common school education. His home was with his grand parents until the age of twenty-two years. He then removed to Pierce county, Wisconsin, and farmed for two years. In 1869 he came to Minnesota and lived one year in Hastings, then came to Vermillion and purchased a farm of one hundred and sixty acres, where he now lives, having a comfortable home. He married, in 1873, Miss Sarah McKay, who was born in Walworth county, Wisconsin, in 1850. Their children are: Lillie, born October 30th, 1875; and Alice, born October 3th, 1877.

Page 485

John N. Girgen

was born in Prussia, in 1836. He attended the schools of his native place, and in 1852, came to America with his parents. Locating at St. Paul, Minnesota, he remained three years, a portion of the time being spent in finishing his studies. After his father's death, in 1854, moved to Dane county, Wisconsin, where he farmed three years. Returning to St. Paul, he rented a farm of sixty acres, and in 1867, located in Vermillion, where he has a comfortable home, and a farm of eighty acres. In 1870, was elected supervisor; has been assessor, and is at present school treasurer. Married Margaret Bolway in 1857. She is a native of Germany, and has home him eight children; the living are: Peter J., John U., Rosa, Alice, Mary and Annie.

Page 486

N. S. Heinen

is a native of Minnesota, and was born in Ramsey county in 1857. His father, a native of Prussia, was born in 1819, and came to America in 1854, purchased a farm of two hundred and ten acres in Vermillion in 1862. He died May 22d, 1869, his widow now having charge of the estate. N. S. Heinen is a farmer, and came to Vermillion with his father. He rents a farm of one hundred and twenty acres, which he tills. Married Miss Mary Henkes, of Prussia, in 1869: John and Maggie, are their children.

Page 486

Michael Kerst

a native of Prussia, was born in 1838. He was reared as a farmer, and in 1848, went to Belgium, where was his home six years, and was mostly engaged in agriculture. In 1858, hecame to America, proceeding forthwith to St. Paul. Continued farming in the locality seven years, then passed two years in Minneapolis. Came to Vermillion in 1865, and located on his present place in 1876. He started the only hotel and now runs it, also a good store. Married in 1868, to Miss Ellen Arth, a native of Germany. Michael, Lena, Beno, Mary, Clara and John are their children.

Page 486

Joseph A. S. Kirk

was born in York county, Pennsylvania, February 2d, 1846. When quite young, moved with his parents to Maryland, and afterward to Delaware. Here he entered the army in October, 1862, as a private in Company C, One Hundredth and Seventy-fifth New York, and was honorably discharged in the spring of 1864, in consequence of disability at Baton Rouge, Louisiana. He returned to Wilmington, Delaware, then re-enlisted in 1864, in the Marine service and served four years, a portion of the time being in the Washington navy yards and on board the steamer "DeSoto." Received his discharge in l868. Two years later he enlisted in the United States Regulars, Company E, Twentieth Infantry for five years; came immediately to Fort Snelling, and two years later to Fort Totten, Dakota. Was honorably discharged at expiration of term. Married Miss Christina S. Johnson, at Fort Totten in 1873. After his discharge, came to Minneapolis, and soon after settled on his farm of eighty acres in section 31, Vermillion.

Page 486

Gilles Krausen

was born in Germany, in 1847. He farmed with his father for some time, and in 1867, came to America. Came to Hastings, thence to New Trier, and farmed four years in Hampton township. He was clerk in the Farmer's hotel at Hastings three years, then went to Wisconsin and clerked in a store two years. He afterward returned to Hastings and located at Vermillion in 1877. At first, he rented his present farm, then bought it; also has a saloon near the depot.

Page 486

John Manners

deceased, born in England in 1783. He married Miss Ann Simpson, a native of England born in 1786. They had nine children. Mr. Manners died January 1st, 1859, and his widow in 1864. Robert Manners, their son, was born in Durham county, England, at a place called Bishop Auckland, in 1817. He received a practical education and learned the engineer's trade. In 1855 he came to America, and the next year came to Nininger, where he remained six years. He purchased forty acres in Vermillion in 1858, and moved there, building his home in 1862. Having been prosperous as a farmer, he has added to his farm until he now has live hundred acres. Has a fine stock of Norman horses and short-horn cattle. Married in 1849, to Annie Burns. George B., Robert S., Annie M., Thomas, John A. and Orlando R. are their children.

Page 486

Henry L. Moses

was born in Maine, July 23d, 1834. When seventeen years of age, he came westward to Hennepin county, and for ten years lived near the city of Minneapolis. He then came to Dakota county, and about eleven years ago, purchased and located on his finely improved farm of one hundred and sixty acres, in Vermillion township. Mr. Moses is a man of much enterprise, and was one of the first to introduce steam threshing machines in the county. Each winter he is largely engaged in lumbering on the headwaters of the Chippewa river. Last season he cut and sold 10,000,000 feet of logs. Married in 1864 to Miss Martha Balch, who has borne him two children: Helen and Eva.

Page 487

Charles E. Oman

was born in Sweden in 1842. He learned the tailors' trade in his native country and followed it eleven years. In 1868, came to this continent, and to Red Wing, Goodhue county, where for one year he engaged in farming. Going to Hastings in 1869, he remained four years in the employ of a merchant. He now lives in Vermillion, having a farm of 160 acres. Married, in 1863, to Miss Mary Swanson, a native of Sweden. Matilda L. and Alfred E. are their children. Andrew Oman, his father, was born in Sweden in 1813. He married Miss Anna Israel, who was born in Sweden in 1815. His death occurred in 1847.

Page 487

Henry Pfeiffer

was born in Germany in 1853. He was reared as a farmer, and when eighteen years old came to America. Made his home in St. Paul two years, Winona one year, and has been a resident of Vermillion six years. Previous to his locating here, he followed agricultural pursuits, and since has been in the liquor trade, having a saloon near the depot. Married to Miss Hattie Kassela in 1878. Two children have been born to them: Peter and John.

Page 487

Jacob Randler

was born in Ohio in 1857. Came to Scott county, Minnesota, with his parents when four years of age, and at the age of fourteen removed to New Trier, and for two years was a farmer in that locality. Returning to Scott county, he learned the blacksmiths' trade, and worked at it there nearly three years. Coming to Vermillion in 1876, he started his trade, and after a few months in St. Paul returned and opened a shop. He now runs two fires, and is doing a good business. Miss Mary Smiths became his wife in 1878. They have two children, one son and one daughter, John and Antoney.

Page 487

Alexander Records

deceased, was born in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, August 14th, 1805. He remained in his native country until about twenty-two years of age, then moved to Crawford county, Pennsylvania, and built a sawmill, following the vocations of farming and milling until 1836. He married Miss Sarah A. Adams in 1880. They moved to Bartholomew county, Indiana, making there their home until 1863. Coming thence to Vermillion, they located on a farm, on which Mrs. Records still resides. Her late husband died May 3d, 1877. Benjamin M., John C., Nancy A. Josiah, Mary I., James, Sarah, Alexander, Albert and Ella are the living children.

Page 487

Thomas J. Redican

was born in Massachusetts, in 1846. Moved with his parents to New York city in 1850, thence to Illinois in 1854, and the next year to Hastings. He, with his parents, settled on the "Barker" place of one hundred and sixty acres in Vermillion. Enlisted in 1865, in First Minnesota Heavy Artillery, served one year, and was honorably discharged at Nashville. Mr. Redican has been town clerk six years and is at present town treasurer. Married in 1870, to Catherine McNamara, who has borne him one son and one daughter: Mary W. and John W.

Page 487

William Ryan

is a native of Tipperary county, Ireland, born in 1841. When about fourteen years old he came to America and settled in Massachusetts, remaining two years, then in 1858, came to Minnesota. About one year after, however, he crossed the continent to California, then went to Oregon. Two years later he retraced his steps to this state, and has since lived in Dakota county. During the spring of 1867, he moved to his present farm in Vermillion. His wife was Miss Maria Loboy, Married at Minneapolis in 1867. They have an interesting family of seven children: Michael J. A., William, Mary J., James J., Morris, Thomas and Lawrence.

Page 487

Frederick Schickling

was born on the Atlantic, August llth, 1841. He came with his parents from Indiana to St. Paul in 1851, the capital of the family being $4. Removing thence to Northfield they made that place their home a short time, then lived eight years in Green Vale. Finally they located where Mr. Schickling now lives. He has an improved place, and built his house in 1867; has planted about three thousand trees. He has been head sawyer in several mills and assessor of the township in 1868. Married in 1873, to Miss Mary Huckanpaler, who has borne him two children: Henry and Frederick J.

Page 487

Mathias Siebenaler

was born in Luxemburg, Germany, in December, 1838. Came to America in 1857, and located at Chicago. In 1861, came to Scott county, Minnesota, and the same year came to Vermillion. In 1865 went to Germany, and brought his father to America. Has a fine farm, and is one of the leading men of the town.

Page 494

Incident - Waterford Township

A melancholy occurrence took place in January, 1866. The circumstances connected with it, as near as we can learn, are as follows: James Bulger had claims against one John Donoghoe, which he refused to pay. An attachment was taken out against his property, and a constable by the name of John Masters, was sent to execute it. When he undertook to levy on some colts that were in a stable, Mr. Donoghoe stood in the door and prevented him from entering, and resisted him to such an extent that he, (the constable), went before justice Church, of Green Vale, and had a warrant issued against Donoghoe for assault and battery. Upon the approach of the party to arrest him, Donoghoe armed himself with a pitchfork. When Mr. Masters stepped up to him, he struck Mr. Masters a heavy blow on the head with the pitchfork, and knocked him down to his knees, and stood in the act of striking him again, when Mr. Masters fired at him with a shot gun, striking him in the lower part of the jaw, killing him instantly. The charge passed downward into his lungs, making a horrible wound. The body was placed in a sleigh and taken to the office of Justice Church. Mr. Masters gave himself up at once. A few necessary legal proceedings were entered into, but he was never indicted, it being apparent to the grand jury that it was a pure case of self defence.

Page 495

J. J. Alexander

was born in Erie county, New York, in 1832. When fifteen years of age, he moved to Rock county, Wiscousin, where he lived seven years, and, in 1854, came to Minnesota and preempted a farm, on which he has since lived, a portion of which is in Northfield, Rice county, the balance in Waterford, Dakota county. He was married in Rock county, Wisconsin, to Miss Mary A. Legg. They have two children. J. P., a Graduate from Carleton college, is practicing law at Cannon Falls; married Miss Addie Chamberlain, of Pennsylvania. James lives at home. Also an adopted daughter, Carrie (Chapin) Alexander, who has been with them three years.

Page 495

Charles J. Borke

a native of Norway, was born in September, 1844. He learned the blacksmiths' trade in his native country, and came to America in 1871, locating first in Lanesboro, Fillmore county, Minnesota. Worked at his trade there a short time, then went to Duluth, remaining one and one-half years, thence to Michigan for one year, and in 1874, came to Waterford and started in business for himself. His shop is 20x24, where he does general black-smithing and wagon repairing. Married at St. Paul, in 1876, Miss Martha Hanson. One child was born to them, who died at the age of nine months.

Page 495

P. J. Beeksted

was born in Canada in 1883, and there lived until 1870. Corning at that time to Sciota, Minnesota, he made it his home six years, then located at Waterford, and purchased the farm on which they now live. Married in 1854, to Aliss C. E. Redick, who was born in Canada in 1836. Annie B., Josephine, Edith, George A., Mary E., Willie, Nellie, Lillie and R. Elma are their children.

Page 495

E. S. Bill

was born in Vermont in 1833. When fourteen years old, he moved to Illinois, and in 1854, came to Waterford. He preempted 160 acres of land, and lived on it until 1862, then enlisted in Company F, Eighth Minnesota Regiment, and served in the Indian war until 1864, when he was ordered south; joined Sherman in his "march to the sea," and participated in many conflicts. Mustered out of service in August, 1865. Returning to Waterford, he purchased the farm on which he now lives. Married in Green Vale in 1858, to Miss Theresa A. Hale, who was born in 1838. They have four children. Luna E., wife of W. M. Lanckton, living in Minneapolis; Maud A., Ella S. and Carl H. When Mr. Bill first located in Waterford there was one log house here,, the only one between Hastings and Faribault.

Page 495

James Boulger

was born in Ireland in 1831. When seventeen years old, came to America, remaining one season at Auburn, New York, thence to Ohio until 1853, employed as railroad contractor, then to Fort Wayne, Indiana in same business. In 1858, came to Minnesota and contracted for work on the railroad which passes through Waterford, for which, however, he has never received full pay. In 1862, he purchased his present farm. Married in 1850, Miss Ellen O'Roark, of Ohio, who died in 1871, at Waterford. They have had twelve children, the living are: Christopher, John, Richard, Alice, Edward, James and Ellen.

Page 495

William Brant, a native of Germany, was born in 1859. Came to America with his parents when only eight years of age and lived in Michigan until 1878, then came to Waterford. Miss Mary A., eldest daughter of Thomas T. Cowell, became his wife, October 23d, 1880.

Page 495

Patrick Butler

was born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1824. Came to America at the age of twenty. Receiving in the meantime his early education in Dublin, he completed his studies at La Fayette college in Pennsylvania, and lived in Northampton county, of that state for eight years; while there, was clerk in the post-office, land surveyor for a short time, after which he taught school two years. Moved to Illinois in 1852, and kept a hotel in Galena, two years and taught school one year, then in 1856, came to Minnesota. He pre-empted a farm in Lakeville, Dakota county, where the Catholic church now stands. Coming to Waterford in 1857, he worked in the construction of a railroad for some time, and in 1861, purchased his home. Married in 1854, Miss Mary A. Gaffney, of Illinois. Children: Kate, wife of William A. Bowe, of Northfield; Walter B., a resident of St. Paul; Belle, John B., Will, Pierce, Emmet and Effie.

Page 496

Ambrose Campbell

was born in New York in 1867. His father departed this life while Ambrose was yet a child and his mother married Thomas Reed, of Berkshire county, Massachusetts in 1875, at which time they removed to Waterford. Here Ambrose has since been engaged in coopering. Mrs. Reed had five children by her first husband: Giles, Emma, Lillie, Ambrose and Fred. Mr. Reed was the parent of four children by his first wife, all of whom have died.

Page 496

Levi Cobb

was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1835. Here he lived until 1872, then came to Faribault county, Minnesota, where he remained seven months, coming thence to Waterford, and purchased a farm on which he now lives. He was married in 1869 to Miss S. L. Swift, of St. Lawrence county, New York. They have no children.

Page 496

Alfred E. Cowell

a native of England, was born in 1849. When six years old, came to America with his father, Edward Cowell, in 1856. He purchased the farm on which he now lives in 1874. The following year married Miss Emma Arnold, of Pierce county, Wisconsin, who is a native of Goodliue county, Minnesota. They have one son, Fred J.

Page 496

E. F. Cowell

was born in England in 1826. Coming to America in 1851, he lived in Cleveland, Ohio, three years, then came to Waterford and pre-empted a farm, on which he built a log house 16x2O. It is still standing, a relic of early days. He relates many incidents regarding his early experiences, and the hardships he endured in coming west, returning for his family and agitin coming to his new home. Eight children have been born to them, the living are, Alfred E., E. Laura, Minnie M., H. Lillie, Charles W., and Edgar L.

Page 496

Thomas T. Cowell

was born in England in 1833, and came to America in 1850, spending three months in New York. He also passed one year, each, in Cleveland, Ohio, in Illinois, in Dubuque, Iowa, then came to Waterford in 1856. Here he preempted one hundred and sixty acres, also purchased the place on which he lives at present. In 1855, married Miss Elizabeth Rayner, a native of England. Coming directly to their claim, their first habitation was a slab shanty, 12xl2 feet, and there lived until the fall of 1868, then built their present house. Enlisted in Company B, Third Minnesota, in 1861; was taken prisoner at Murfreesborough, going three days without food, when he was paroled; was slightly wounded in another battle, and was mustered out in November, 1864. They are the par- ents of nine children: Mary A., married to William Brant in 1880; William E., Edith I., Ella M., Mabel P. and Lawrence W. are the living.

Page 496

E. C. Dilley

was born in Guernsey county, Ohio, in 1847, and came to Rice county, Minnesota in 1869. During the fall of 1874, he bought the farm on which he now lives. In 1876, he married Miss Frances E. Harnder, of Castle Rock, Minnesota. Bertha E. and Willie B. are their children.

Page 496

A. L. Dixson, Sr.

was born in Canada, May 12th, 1814. Here his life was passed until 1854, then came to Hastings, Minnesota, and pre-empted one hundred and sixty acres of land, which is now a portion of the city. Came to Waterford in 1863 and bought the farm he now owns. May 26th, 1835, he was married to Miss M. A. Bailey, who died in Waterford in 1879. George A., Sarah, Margaret F. and A. L. Jr., who was married to Miss P. Eckles in 1870. They have had five children, four living. Harry L., E. G., Ralph B. and Mary.

Page 496

G. A. Dixson

was born in Canada in 1838. When sixteen years of age, came to Minnesota and settled in Hastings. In 1863, came to Waterford and five years later bought his farm. Enlisted in Company I, First Regiment, Minnesota Heavy Artillery, in 1865, and served until the close of hostilities. Married in 1860 at Hastings, Miss D. A. Harris, a native of Connecticut. Mary F. and Lola C. are their children who are living.

Page 497

Bernard Eishen

a native of Holland was born in 1835. Came to America in 1854 and after remaining one year in Iowa, came to Minnesota, and made a claim in Scott county. There he lived until 1866, then came to Waterford, purchased a farm and has since lived here. He was married in Scott county in 1866, to Miss Maggie Heger. John B., Katie, Dominick, Mary and Martin are their children.

Page 497

John P. Empy

dealer in dry goods and groceries, was born in Canada, April 5th, 1833. He was reared on a farm until nineteen years old, then learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed until coming to Minnesota in 1862, locating in Northfield, Rice county, he worked at his trade till 1874, then came to Waterford. Here he erected a store and embarked in the grocery business and after the first year added a stock of dry goods, this being the first store in Waterford township. Married at Waterford in 1863, to Miss Nancy Quinn. Four children have been born to them: Hattie, Harvey, Emma and Ella B.

Page 497

Paul Feist

was born in Prussia in 1847. Came to America in 1854 and settled in Dodge county, Wisconsin, remaining until 1861, then went to Portagec ounty, in the same state. 1870, came to Northfield, Minnesota, remaining three years and in 1875 bought a lot and built his present residence. Married in Portage county, Wisconsin, in 1867, to Miss Mary Czerkleba, a native of Prussia. Clara C., Charles R., Willie H., Fred J., Paul D. and August L. are their children.

Page 497

John Gibbs

was born in New York in 1823. He lived in his native state until 1844, then went to Michigan, thence to California, via the isthmus. After working in the gold mines some time he returned to Michigan, thence to Minnesota for one year; was also in the employ of the government

in Nebraska a few months. In 1867, returned to Minnesota, and made his home for two years in Northfield, then removed to Waterford and purchased his farm, having since been engaged in agricultural pursuits. Married at Northileld, in 1869, Eliza Wells. They are the parents of three children: Dora, Charles and Frank.

Page 497

George Gray

was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1836. Grow to manhood in his native state, then removed to Illinois, and two years later came to Dakota county, Minnesota, thence to California, remaining six years. After residing two years in Arizona, be, in 1862, returned to Waterford and engaged in the wheat buying business; was one of the original stockholders in the Grange mill, and bought wheat for them six years. In 1866, he purchased his present farm; has been town clerk and member of the school board several years. Married in 1870, Miss Mary Wilson. Sarah A., William H., Nellie W., Silas W. and Leonard A. are their children.

Page 497

William A. Gray

was born in Lisbon, St. Lawrence county, New York, July 13th, 1831. He grew to manhood in his native state, and in 1856, came west to Waterford, and the following year preempted the firm on which he now lives. In February, 1865, enlisted in Company C, One Hundred and Ninety-second New York Volunteers, and was mustered out in May, and returned to his farm in Waterford. He represented this district in the legislature in 1872-'73, and has for a long term of years been justice of the peace. Married in 1878, Miss L. A. Stocking. Roy E. is their only child.

Page 497

A. B. Hale

was born August 4th, 1815, in Toronto, Canada, and made his home in Monroe county, New York, until 1835, then went to Illinois. Here, in 1836, he married Miss Elizabeth L. Beach, and three years later removed with his family to New York. After four years residence moved to Illinois, thence to Iowa for three years, and in 1856, came to Dakota county, Minnesota, locating in Green Vale township. Being a resident of that place eleven years, removed to Waterford and purchased his present farm. They are the parents of fifteen children; the living are: Theresa, Eliphelet B., Alfred P., Lizzie E., O. E., Orin E. and Charles H. The grounds around their home are ornamented by more than a thousand beautiful trees, planted by Mr. Hale.

Page 497

E. Hammond, M. D.

was born in Windham county, Connecticut, in June, 1819. After reaching manhood he passed two years in Greenfield, Massachusetts, five years in Worcester county, thence to River Falls, Wisconsin, and in 1855, came to Waterford. Here he has since lived on his farm, which he preempted at that time. His first habitation was a log house 14x18, in which he lived five years, then built and moved into his present frame dwelling. Before coming west he practiced medicine several years with his brother-in-law. Married in 1854, Mrs. Amanda Nichols, nee Fisk, who is a native of Connecticut. She had five children by her first husband: Ellen E., wife of Warren Atkinson; Dr. A. B., of Sparta, Wisconsin; Charles P. and Samuel N. are the living. Dr. Hammond removed to Minneapolis in 1872, and two years later returned to his farm, where in 1878, his wife passed away.

Page 498

Irvin G. Hodgson

was born in Rock Grove, Stephenson county, Illinois, April 11th, 1852. When Irvin was three years old, his father died, leaving his mother with two little boys, he being the oldest. Subsequently his mother married E. Anthony, and remained at Rock Grove until 1876. They then removed to Waterford where Irvin engaged in a cooper shop, and has since continued in that employment. He is a member of the Social Lodge, number 48, A. F. and A. M., of Northfield; member of Northfield Lodge, number 50, I. O. O. F.; also a charter member of Orient Encampment, number 50; is town clerk of Waterford, and clerk of school district, number 72.

Page 498

Alonzo Howland

was born October 4th, 1824, at Brandon, Vermont. His native place was the home of his youth and manhood until 1870. He then came to Waterford and bought his farm, and has since been a tiller of the soil. Married .in Vermont, in 1852, Miss Mandana Shippy. They have three children living: Rollin, who married Miss Mary Partch, in Waterford; Annie and Nick.

Page 498

James W. Howland

was born in Pittsford, Vermont, in April, 1856. He came to Green Vale, Dakota county, Minnesota, in 1869, and removed to Waterford in 1880. He has since engaged in agricultural pursuits on the farm which he purchased at that time. His wife was Miss Rosetta Spaulding, of Pittsford. Vermont; married in November, 1854. Nine children have been born to them. The living are: Angie M., Flora P., wife of L. E. Page of Nortbfield; Frank B., Fred, Arthur P., A. F., Hattie E. and Jennie.

Page 498

Angie M. Howland

a native of Vermont, was born in November, 1856, and is a daughter of James W. Howland. She came to Minnesota, with her parents, in 1869, and has been teacher in the schools of Dakota county for five years, and makes her home with her parents in Waterford.

Page 498

Parley Hughes

a farmer in Waterford township, was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, in 1816. When fourteen years old he went to Canada, thence, in 1869, to Hudson, Wisconsin, and in 1874, came to Rice county, Minnesota. Two years later he purchased a farm in Waterford township, having since been a farmer in that locality. Miss Susan Rambaugh became his wife in 1841. Manson, James, William, Miles, Agnes, Jane and Anna are their children living.

Page 498

J. L. Johnson

was born in Wisconsin in 1850. His mother died when he was one year old, when he when went to Illinois, to make his home with an uncle. At the age of fifteen, he entered the army in Company I, Seventh Minnesota Regiment, and was mustered out after nine months service. His home was in Waseca county, Minnesota, for two years, thence to Pierce county, Wisconsin, where he found his father after a separation of seventeen years. In 1875 came to Waterford, and the same year was married to Miss E. L. Cowell. Purchased in 1880, his farm, on which he now lives. J.L. and M.J. are their children.

Page 498

Theodore Kalkas

a native of Prussia, was born in 1831. Came to America in 1870, and settled in Cincinnati, Ohio, making his home there one year. After a residence of one year at Spring Lake, Minnesota, he removed to Waterford and rented the farm henow cultivates, of Mr. Kranz. Married Miss Christine Merriman in 1855. Louisa, Lena, Gustavus and John, are their children.

Page 498

John Lanphear

born in Washington county, New York, in June, 1829. On attaining majority, removed to Rock county, Wisconsin, residing there one year. Accompanied by a party of others, he started west with an oxteam, arriving at Prairie du Chien in one week; taking boat for Minnesota, they arrived at Red Rock after a journey of eighteen days. He started out to find a new home, and on reaching what is now Waterford, made a claim on sections 20 and 29, and in 1852, built a log shanty. This place has since been his home, he being one of the first settlers of the township. Miss A. Alexander hecame his wife at Northfield in June, 1854. The next year their first child was born, and was the third child in the township. They have three children, all living.

Page 499

A. P. Martin

was born in Orange county, Vermont, March 18th, 1818. He went to Illinois in 1844, and there lived until 1855, coming thence to Minnesota, for his health. The salubrious climate of the "North Star" state, restored his health, however, and he now owns a farm in Hampton, also property in Waterford. Married in Illinois in 1867 to Miss Mary E. Martin. Ida May, now wife of M. A. Folsom, of Minneapolis; Nathaniel, Lora and Albert are their children. Mr. Martin has been tendered the different offices of the town, but has not accepted.

Page 499

Samuel W. Mattison

was born in Hamburg, Erie county, New York, July 1st, 1823. When two years old his father died, and in 1843, he removed to Dover, Illinois, remaining until 1853, then came to Dakota county, Minnesota, being one of the earliest settlers. On his arrival at Hastings, there was but one house and the old log hotel. His first work was blacksmithing, making the iron-work for the grist and saw-mills at Northfield. He remained in Waterford but a short time, then went to Eureka township and preempted one hundred and sixty acres, and purchased forty more. Returning to Waterford in 1872, he has since made this place his home. Enlisted in 1862, in Company F, Eighth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, serving until receiving his discharge in 1865. Mr. Mattison has been twice married, his present wife was Abbie Marple, sister of his first wife, married in 1867. He has four children by this wife; Willard S., Julia A., Emily J. and Henry B. Mrs. Mattison received the appointment of postmistress of Waterford, in October, 1880.

Page 499

I. J. Mattocks

was born in Erie, Crawford county, Pennsylvania, in 1811. His father died in the war of 1812, after which he went to make his home with his grandfather. When fourteen years old he leamed the tanner's trade, continuing in it until he attained his majority. He then went to New Orleans, remaining but a short time; on returning to Pennsylvania, married in October, 1840, Miss M. C. Bernhardt, and five years later started for the west. Locating in Wisconsin, there was their home until 1856, coming at that time to Dodge county, Minnesota. They have been residents of Waterford township nine years, having located on their present farm in 1872. They are the parents of nine children; the living are, Anna C., Carrie E., E. H., J. B. and Mary S.

Page 499

A. M. Nichols

was born in 1809, in Orange county, Vermont. When nineteen years old, he removed to Hudson county, Ohio, living there and in Portage county, same state, until May, 1854, coming thence to Waterford, Minnesota. He and Warren Atkinson named the town Waterford in consequence of being obliged to ford the Cannon river to reach the place they wished to pre-empt as claims. His original property was on the hill where Josiah Okins now resides, and where he lived until his removal in 1877, to Northfield. He was postmaster in Waterford from 1862 until 1877; was treasurer of the town and one of the supervisors for many years. During the summer of 1865, through the efforts of Mr. Nichols and others, a Sunday school was formed, he being superintendent until his removal to Northfield, his nephew, C. P. Nichols, being his successor. He was also instrumental in organizing the Waterford Union church, of which he was deacon until 1877. Married in Portage county, Ohio, in 1837, to Lucy Curtis, of that place, who died July 11th, 1877. His present wffe was Mrs. P. H. Childs, married in 1879. James S. and J. M. are their adopted children.

Page 499

C. P. Nichols

was born at Dover, Illinois, in 1846. Here he lived until eight years old, then moved with his parents to Pierce county, Wisconsin. In October, 1864, he enlisted in the Fourth Wisconsin Cavalry, and remained in the army, doing good service until the fall of 1866. The following fall he moved to Waterford and has since made this his home. He has a fine farm of nearly two hundred and forty acres, and also has a nursery to which he gives much attention. In 1867, he and Miss M. P. Dixson, daughter of A. L. Dixson, were united in marriage. Three children have been born to them, Bennis H., Cora M. and Josie S.

Page 499

Josiah W. Okins

a native of England, was born in January, 1836. Came across the waters in 1854, and remained a short time in New York, thence in 1855, to Illinois, making that state his home one year. He then came to Waterford and settled a short distance from his present residence. In 1879, he purchased the place on which he now lives. Has some very fine Norman colts, and is a stock raiser to considerable extent. Married in 1858, Miss Catherine Dean, of Illinois. Their children living are: Willis B., Nellie M., Fred J., Clarence R., Julia B., J. Eddie and Katie.

Page 500

Thomas H. Olin

was born in St. Lawrence county,NewYork, in 1811. He remained in his native state until twenty-three years of age, then went to Ohio for one year, thence to Milwaukee, it being at that time a little hamlet without one frame house in completion. Going to Waukesha, Wisconsin, he made that place his home until coming to Minnesota in 1856. He, with his family, came the entire distance from Waukesha to Northfield, by ox team, bringing their stock with them, cows, pigs, and chickens. They were about four weeks on the road, and during the time did not enter a house, but camped in a tent prepared for the purpose. Arriving at Northfield, hesettled on and pre-empted the farm which has since been his dwelling place. Although often asked to accept different offices in this state he has not done so, but was a member of the Wisconsin legislature two terms. Married in 1837, Miss Sarah Church, of Milwaukee. They have five children: Rollin C., living in Detroit, Michigan, he was in the army, and was assistant adjutant to General Sibley; M. T., who was in the army three years, and a sergeant in First Wisconsin Cavalry; Clara E, adopted, wife of H. Scriver, of Northfield; A.M. and S. M.

Page 500

Henry Page

was born in Vermont, December 16th, 1848. Came to Minnesota in 1873, and settled in Waterford and purchased his present country home. He has since been engaged in agricultural pursuits. Miss. Edna Waters became his wife, March 14th, 1877. She was born in Wisconsin in 1866, and came to Minnesota with her parents. Norah M. is their only child, born in 1879.

Page 500

L. A. Page

born April 28th, 1846, is a native of Vermont. This was his home until 1869, then went to Iowa for three years. After a brief stay in Minneapolis, Minn., he went to River Falls, Wisconsin, and made that his home six years, working at his trade, that of a carpenter. Came to Waterford in January, 1881. Married February 19th, 1879, Miss Flora P. Howland, who has borne him one child, Emma H.

Page 500

Thaddeus H. Partch

was born in Vermont in August, 1831. At the age of fifteen years, heremoved with his parents to Illinois, and there learned the coopers' trade, and followed it until coming to Minnesota in 1875. He first located on a farm in Rice county, which he still owns; soon after came to Waterford and opened a cooper shop, continuing three years, then sold it to the Cannon River Manufacturing Company. He then engaged in the grocery business two years, and has since been employed as manager of the cooper shops for the Cannon River Manufacturing Company. Married in Illinois in August, 1852, to Miss Emily Potter. They have eight children, all living, Martin U., Caroline E., Ambrose E., Mary E., Herbert O., Emma S., Sophia and Walter M.

Page 500

M. H. Patten

born in Bucksport, Maine, in 1820. When thirteen years of age he began the sailors' life, in which he continued five years. Locating in Medford, Massachusetts, he lived there two years and acquired the carpenters' trade, after which he worked on a farm one year. Subsequently, he and his brother, James R., started westward, and after a residence of a short time in Chicago, entered the employ of the St. Croix Lumber Company, in 1842. He remained in their employ eight years, when the company failed, owing him $1,300, which was never received. In 1850, made a claim in Washington county, and four years later went to Hastings, erected a house, and made that his home five years. Came to Waterford in 1866, after four years in Douglass. Married in 1850, Miss Mary E. Griswold, who died in 1858. His present wife was Miss Elizabeth Mayo, a native of England, married in 1860.

Page 500

N. S. Persons

was born in Addison county, Vermont, July 8th, 1843. At the age of three years he went to Springfield, Allen county, Indiana, and there made his home for eighteen years. In 1864, came to Dakota county, and settled in Waterford on a farm, where he now lives. He was one of the original stockholders of the Grange mill, also supervisor, and treasurer of school districts number 64 and 87. Married in 1878, Miss Phebe A. Grill, who has borne him one son, Edward Franklin Grill.

Page 501

M. K. Pike

was born in East Salisbury, Massachusetts, September 24th, 1829. Here he lived until 1866, then came to Mlinneapolis, Minnesota. Previously he had been united in marriage with Miss Emma J. Barnard, who being in poor health accompanied Mr. Pike to Minnesota, hoping to bebenefited. She died at Maple Grove, January 1st, 1867. In 1871 Mr. Pike came to Waterford and built a cheese factory, also purchased the farm on which he lives. Married in 1870, Mrs. Sarah Barnard, widow of E. D. Barnard, who came to his death in the war. Ella M., J. W., J. F. and Edward are her children.

Page 501

Charles A. Simpson

son of John Simpson, was born September 19th, 1855, in Hadley, Cook county, Illinois. When a babe of six months came with his parents to Waterford, and remained under the parental roof until 1880. Married in November, 1879, to Miss Jennie E. Moore, and lives on section 19.

Page 501

William L. Stephens

was born in Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, in 1837. Here he grew to manhood then removed to Rice county and bought eighty acres of land, on which he lived until 1862. Enlisted in Company A. Seventh Minnesota; was in the Indian war at the time of the taking into captivity five hundred Indiana, thirty-eight of whom were executed at Mankato. In 1863, went south and participated in several conflicts and was mustered out October 31st, 1865. Returning to Rice county, Minnesota, he engaged in the meat business, thence in 1875 to Waterford, purchasing the farm on which he now lives. In 1869, married Miss Florence R. Ingram of Faribault, Minnesota. Two children have been born to them: Minnie E. and Nellie I.

Page 501

J. R. Sumner

a native of Massachusetts, born in Franklin county, September 26th, 1836. In 1856, came to Minnesota, locating in Northfield, Rice county. Here he farmed till 1873, then removed to Faribault and in company with his brother Jesse, embarked in the lumber, sash, door and blind business, continuing three years. Disposing of his interest he removed to Waterford, where he has since been clerk, treasurer and superintendent of the Cannon River Manufacturing Company, of which he is also a stockholder. Married at Bridgewater, Rice county, in 1860, to Minerva Waits. William E., Bradford L., Nelia P. and Stella M. are their children.

Page 501

G. R. Terry

was born in Columbia county, New York, 1829. When a child of seven years went to Oneida county and five years later to Wayne county. In 1845, came to Green Lake, Wisconsin, remaining until coming to Hastings, Minnesota, in 1854, where he made a claim. Returning to Wisconsin, he remained until 1861, then returned and settled in Sciota. Here he made his home until 1870, then located at Waterford and purchased his present farm. Enlisted in Company F, Seventh Minnesota, in 1862. Being afflicted with ill-health he participated in only a few of the condicts in which his regiment engaged; came home on a furlough In 1864 and was mustered out the following year. Married in Winnebago City, to Miss C. T. Miller, in 1866. C. W., M. L. and John G. are their children.

Page 501

M. Tramm

a native of Prussia, was born in 1832. Came to America in 1855, and the next year came to Stillwater, Washington county, Minnesota, following in the pursuit of his trade, that of stone mason, five years. His home was afterward five years at Prairie Creek, five years at Northfield, finally located at Waterford and purchased the farm which he still owns; also is owner of the lime-kiln. Married at Stillwater in 1857, to Miss Minnie Damka, a native of Prussia. Seven children have been born to them. The living are: Emma M., wife of Henry Fay of Waterford; Edith L., Lena E., Lizzie A., Sadie A. and Hattie L.

Page 501

William Waters

was born in 1857, in Wisconsin, and when three years old,came with his parents to Minnesota, who purchased a farm in Eureka, Dakota county. William came to Waterford in 1874, and has since made this his home. He has three sisters and one brother: Margaret, Agnes, Edna and George; his mother also lives with him.

Page 501

George O. Way

was born in Sullivan, New Hampshire, in 1829. Here was his home until 1854; then he came to Minnesota, settling in Claremont, Dodge county. He pre-empted a farm and lived there eighteen years, going thence to Rice county, making Faribault his home until 1872, engaged in the nursery business. Coming to Waterford in 1877, he took chugs of the cooper shops of the Cannon River Manufacturing Company. Married in New Hampshire, in 1851, Miss Sarah A. Mitchell. On reaching Claremont, Mrs. Way was the only white woman in the vicinity. Horace M., their son, was the first child born there. Their children who are living are, Horace M. and George A., now at Fort Keogh, Montana. Mr. Way represented his district in the first state legislature; was one of the commissioners of Dodge county; also town clerk of Clarenaont a number of years, and held other offices in the town and county.

Page 502

Deacon Roland Weeks

was born in Livingston county, New York, in 1827. When eighteen years of age he went to Michigan, and soon after to Green Lake county, Wisconsin, coming thence in 1855 to Dakota county, Minnesota, locating on a farm in Sciota. Returning to Wisconsin for his family, he came back in 1856 and lived in Sciota five years. He then came to Waterford and bought the farm on which he now lives. Enlisted in 1862 in Company A, Seventh Minnesota Regiment; after serving against the Indians, the regiment went south, and was mustered out in 1865. On coming to Minnesota with his family, the entire trip was made with an ox team. Miss Mary Jane Daniels, of New York became his wife in 1847. They have three children living. Edwin R., married Jane Carlow, and lives in Lyon county, Minnesota; Ella L., wife of O. E. Persons. living in Lyon county; and Fremont E., attending Carleton college at Northfield.

Page 508

John H. Blasé

a native of Hanover, Germany, was born in 1828. When seven years old, he accompanied his parents to Prussia, where he lived until 1848, then came to America, landing at New York. Going thence to St. Louis, he remained until 1853, engaged in coopering. After a short stay at St. Paul, Minnesota, he located in West St. Paul, Dakota county, and purchased his present farm. Enlisted in March, 1865, in Company D, First Minnesota Regiment, and received his discharge during that year. He now holds the position of treasurer of school district No. 3. Married in 1853, Elizabeth Krunner. They have had twelve children: Henry B., August H., Lydia L., John W., Talitlia, Hattie, Ella C., Emma G., Hannah, Ernest F., Anna C. and Andrew A. Two of these have died.

Page 508

Andrew Denzer

was born in Germany in 1836. He apprenticed as a tailor when fourteen years old, serving a term of three years. Came to America in 1854, landing at New York, thence to Milwaukee, and there worked at his trade until 1862. Enlisted in Company D, Twenty-Fourth Wisconsin Regiment, and after a service of three years was discharged at Elmira, New York. Subsequently he started a country store at Diamond Bluffs, Wisconsin, continuing in it until coming to St. Paul, in 1869. Here he established the tailor's trade, in which he prospered, and in 1878, went to Stillwater, Washington county, and farmed three years. Coming to West St. Paul township, he purchased his present farm. Married Miss Antonia Croy, in 1857. Rose, Andrew, Frank and Robert are their children.

Page 508

William K. Dixon

a native of the "Emerald Isle," was born in 1831. Came to America with his parents in 1847 and for two years passed his time in Boston and the state of New York. He remained in Illinois about two years, then went to St. Paul. In 1852, made a claim in West St. Paul, on which he has since lived. Enlisted in 1865 in Company E, First Minnesota Regiment, and received his discharge the same year. Holds the offices of town supervisor and clerk of school district number 97. Miss Matilda Robinson became his wife in 1866. They have six children living: Anna E., Thomas, James, William H., George C. and Linian C.

Page 508

Philip Funk

was born September 5th, 1818, in Germany. He lived with his parents until nineteen years of age, during which time he acquired a good education also a knowledge of the carpenter's trade, serving an apprenticeship. Came to America in 1838, landing at Baltimore, then to St. Louis and soon after went to Illinois, where hemade his home two years, working at his trade. Returning to St. Louis, remained until 1848, when he received a call to preach, and is now preaching in West St. Paul. In 1842, was married to Miss Julia Brenner, who died in 1864, leaving eleven children. His second wife was Rebecca Guger.

Page 508

W. Grewe

a native of Germany, born in 1834. On reaching man's estate came to America, accompanied by his parents. Landing at New Orleans they proceeded to St. Louis, and soon after came to St. Paul, Minnesota, engaging in business two years then removed to West St. Paul. He purchased forty acres in section 20, which has since been his home. Enlisted March 10th, 1865, in Company D, First Minnesota, and was mustered out July 25th, of that year. Married Miss Mary Sever in 1868, who has borne him five children: Mary S., Lena E., Henry E., John H. and Olive E.

Page 508

Theodor Hartnagel

was born July 15th, 1854, and is of German descent. His father was born in Germany in 1823, and there attended school until the age of eighteen years, then came to America. Remaining a short time in New Orleans, he then worked on a farm in Illinois ten years, and soon after came to West St. Paul. In Illinois, married Miss Susanna Shobe, a native of Germany in 1840: Amelia B., Theodor, Rosa, Bertha, Arthur, Alice, William and Edward, are their children.

Page 508

Yost Heinback

born in Germany in 1834. When thirteen years old came to America and worked seven years in Upper Canada, then removed to St. Paul, Minnesota, thence to Dakota county, and worked for others seven years. August 30th, 1861, helost his right arm by catching it in the gearing of a threshing machine. Going to West St. Paul, he started in the grocery busisiness, continuing nine years, then sold and purchased forty acres of land which he his cultivated, and on which he now resides. Married in 1861, Miss Schindeldecker: Philip, John Jacob, Yost, Anna, Maggie and George, are their children.

Page 509

John Heisinger

is a native of Germany, born in 1838. When fourteen years old, he began learning the painter's trade, serving an apprenticeship of three years. In 1867, came to America and worked three years at his trade in New York, thence to Chicago, and in 1870, came to St. Paul and engaged in the pursuit of his trade eight years. He then purchased seventy-four acres of land in West St. Paul, and has since engaged in agricultural pursuits. In 1863, married Miss Mary Smith, who has bome him four children; the living are: Rudolph, Aurelia and Johanna.

Page 509

John Hurley

a native of Ireland, was bom in 1836. Came to America in 1849 with his parents. After a short stay in New York, Pennsylvania and Illinois, came to St. Paul and made a claim of two hundred and forty acres in what is now West St. Paul. After the survey, hepurchased his present place. His father died at the advanced age of seventy-three years, and his aged mother still lives, having attained the age of seventy-seven years. Mr. Hurley married, in 1852, Mary O'Brien, who has borne him seven children: Elizabeth, Ellen M., Mary A., John J., Dennis J., Patrick T. and Eugene M.

Page 509

Joseph Hurley

was born in 1849, in Ireland. While yet a babe, hecame to America, landing in New York. He made his home in Pennsylvania, Illinois and St. Paul, Minnesota, until finally locating in West St. Paul township, where he still lives. Miss Emina Sweeney became his wife in 1877. Three children have been born to them, all of whom are living: Mary, Joseph, and James.

Page 509

A. E. Messenger

was born in Virgil, Cortland county, New York. His father was a merchant and drover, but the son began learning the cabinet-maker's trade in Cortland, when about eighteen years old, serving three years as an apprentice, then worked about two years as a journey-man in different places. Married Helen Mar Seamans at Virgil, October 2d, 1851, she being born in Cortland, in 1832. Seven weeks after their marriage, they started west, spending a few months in Chicago, where he was foreman in a large cabinet and chair factory. They then moved to Quincy, Illinois, with the intention of going overland to California, thinking that the climate might be beneficial to Mrs. Messenger's health, she being afflicted with lung difficulty. At the solicitation of friends, they decided to come to Minnesota instead. Mr. Messenger arrived at St. Paul in July, 1852, his wife in September. While here he was principally engaged in cabinet and carpenter work and in running a steam engine in a cabinet manufactory. In March 1855, he made a claim where he now lives; together with his wife he owns seventy-seven acres, and she has one hundred and ninety acres in Washington county. In former years she taught school and, wrote for the leading journals. They now give their attention principally to market gardening and raising small fruits. Their living children are: Clara E., Emmett R. A., Lizzie H., Charles E., Lillie W., Etta L. and George F. Mr. Messenger enlisted in Company H. Seventh Minnesota Volunteer August 2d, 1862. Being physically unable to perform the duties of a private soldier, he was transferred to the veteran reserve corps and discharged August 11th, 1866.

Page 509

Henry Minea

is a native of Indiana, born in 1851. When a child with flve years he removed with his parents to St. Paul, Minnesota, thence in a short time to West St. Paul. His father purchased eighty acres of land and there was the parental home until 1872, when his father died. Henry rents the farm of his mother on which he lives. Married Miss Julia Craver in 1878; she has borne him one child, Casper.

Page 509

Theobald Motz

was born in Germany, in 1827. Came to America in 1851 and lived three years in Ohio, then to Illinois, making that state his home, eight years, thence to St. Paul, Minnesota, after a brief visit in Missouri. Locating in West St. Paul hepurchased a farm of seventy-two acres, which has since been his home. Elizabeth Kiser and Mr. Motz were united in marriage in 1855. Nine children have been born to them, seven of are living: Jacob, Ludwick, Charles, William, Lizzie, Emma, Julia, Lena and Lydia.

Page 510

Paul Perrault

a native of Canada, was born in 1836. Remaining under the parental guidance until flfteen years of age, he then served an apprenticeship of three years as a blacksmith. Proceeding to Minneapolis, Minnesota, he worked at his trade three years, also six years in St. Paul. He went to the Yellowstone, in the employ of the government a few months, then returned and soon after rented a farm in West St. Paul and carried on a dairy two years. On selling he purchased his present place in the township.

Page 510

L. D. Robarge

was born in 1853, in St. Paul, and latter removed with his parents to West St. Paul, where they still make their home. His mother died March 15th,1881, at the age of sixty-six years, the father is still living, aged sixty-eight. Edward, his brother, was married in 1876, to Miss Catherine Vondell. Edward and Jane are their children.

Page 510

Adam Sacks

is a native of Germany, born in 1831. Here he lived with his mother until eighteen years of age, his father having died while he was a small child. Coming to America in 1849, he proceeded to Detroit, Michigan, and there learned the trade of mason, in which he continued as a journeyman seven years. He came to St. Paul, Minnesota, in 1856, and worked nine years at his trade. Owning city property, he disposed of it and invested in one hundred and fourteen acres in West St. Paul on which he still lives. In 1859 he returned to Detroit and was married to Miss Charlotte Kulenkamp who has borne to him eight children: Emma, Franklin, Clara. John, William, Augusta M., Lena and Eleard.

Page 510

Gottfried Schmidt

was born in 1815 in Germany. When twelve years old his parents died within three weeks of each other. Being left this early in life without the protecting care of his parents, he changed about until in 1849 he came to America. Remaining in St. Louis two years, he came northward to St. Paul in 1852. One and one-half years later he went to West St. Paul and made a claim of one hundred and sixty acres which is still his home. Married, in 1852, Miss Mary Dickhudt. There came to his house, one day in 1854, an Indian with his little boy, wishing Mr. Schmidt to adopt him, he being one and one-half years old. He accordingly took into his house hold the bright little fellow, where he still reinains, having grown to manhood undpr the guidance of his foster parents. He speaks both English and German.

Page 510

J. Schmidt

was born in Germany in 1818. Here helived with his parents until nine years old, when he was left an oorphan by their death. Remaining in his native country until 1849, he then came to America, landing at New Orleans; thence to St. Louis. Three years later he went to St. Clair county, Illinois, where he made his home seventeen years, engaged as a plasterer. Removing to West St. Paul, Minnesota, he purchased six acres on which he lived nine years; then rented a farm from Mr. Meyers, and is still living on it. In 1864 he married Amelia Dickhudt who has borne him nine children; Jost H., Emil L., Mary E., Julius A., Mary J. and Gottfried are the living.

Page 510

Rudolph Sever

is a lifelong resident of West St. Paul, having been born at that place in 1859. He still resides with his mother, his father having departed this life in 1878. His parents were natives of Germany, and came to America in 1840. After living in St. Louis eight years, came to West St. Paul and bought a farm of one hundred and one acres. Mr. Sever was united in marriage with Miss Mary Dickmann in 1880.

Page 510

Joseph Silk

was born in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, in 1826. After attaining majority, he came to St. Paul, Minnesota, the next year removed to West St. Paul and now has a desirable farm of one hundred and sixty acres. During the Indian outbreak hewas forced to go to Fort Abercrombie, remaining there thirty days. His father born in 1799, met his death in 1872, by being gored by a bull. His brother john enlisted in Company M, Second Regiment, Minnesota Volunteer Cavalry, and served two years, receiving his dwharge at Fort Snelling.

Page 510

Mrs. E. Sweeney

born in 1830, is a native of Ireland. When eighteen years of age, she came to America, landing at the harbor of New York. Making her home seven years in Connecticut, she came in 1855 to St. Paul, Minnesota. Here she met, and the same year was united in marriage with Edward Sweeney. They moved to his farm in West St. Paul, where she still lives. Nine children have been born to them: Margaret, Michael, Timothy, John, Catherine, Edward, Patrick, William and Joseph.

Page 511

James Sweeney

was born in 1818, in Ireland. He was left an orphan when twelve years old, and at that time his father's farm became his. On attaining majority he sold the farm, and came to America. Going to Iowa, after a brief stay in Illinois, hemade a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, on a miner's reserve, and improved thirty acres, then rented it and passed ten years at the lead mines in Wisconsin. He then came to St. Paul, Minnesota, and soon after made a claim in West St. Paul, which is still his home. Married December 28th, 1844, Martha Evans, who has home him ten children, eight of whom are living: Mary, Josephine, Emma, Hugh, Alice, Martha, James and Rose.

Page 511

Charles Thoele

born in 1822, is a native of Germany. He attended school until the age of fourteen, then was employed as a laborer by the farmers until 1844, when he came to America. Worked in a foundry about eight years in Cairo, Illinois, then went to Missouri and opened a store, but failed in two years. In 1855, came to St. Paul, Minnesota, and rented a farm in West St. Paul, which he tilled seven years, then purchased it. Here is his present home. Enlisted in 1865, in Company D, First Minnesota Regiment, and served four months, being mustered out in Indiana. In 1847, married Mary A. Klenschmidt. Catherine, Louise, Ludwick, Wilmena, John, Carolina, Maria, Paulina and Emma are their children.

Page 511

George W. Wille

gardener, was bom in Indiana in 1854. His father moved to Inver Grove, Dakota county, Minnesota, when George was about two years old. On reaching man's estate, he began earning his own livelihood: learned the stone-mason's trade, then purchased twenty-one acres of land in West St. Paul, and is now gardening, of which he makes a success.

Page 511

Frederick Zehnder

born in 1824, is a native of Germany. When fourteen years old, he learned the baker's trade and continued in it fourteen years. Coming to America, he made his home for three yeaxs in Pennsylvania, thence to St. Paul, Minnesota. He now lives on a farm of eighty acres, in West St. Paul. Married in 1857, Miss Caroline Slinger, who died in 1867, leaving four children: Sophia, Frederick, Rosa and Leah. Married Mary Faith, who has borne him five children.

Page 518

Joseph Auge

was bom in Canada East, in 1836. When about twelve years old, he came with his father to Mendota, Minnesota. His first employment was for J. B. Faribault, and while in his employ, he acquired the Sioux language. He accompanied the Jim Fisk expedition to the gold mines of Montana. Subsequently he learned the blacksmith's trade, under his brother George, in St. Paul. His early education was acquired in Canada, and after coming to St. Paul, studied in the office of his brother-in-law. Married May 19th, 1861, Miss Louise A. Dupius, a niece to the Sioux chief, "Little Crow," and settled in Mendota. Mr.Auge is able to speak the Englisli, French, German and Sioux languages. Was appointed United States inspector of customs at Pembina, which position he occupied one year, then returned to Mendota. Here he has served as justice of the peace and school clerk. His family consists of his wife and ten children. He is now engaged in the liquor trade.

Page 519

Julius E. Batta

was born in Germany, February 1st, 1849. He received his early education at the common schools, finishing his studies at the gymnasium. When about eighteen years of age, he came to America, proceeding westward from New York to Minnesota, and afterward traveled through Wisconsin, Missouri and Arkansas. Returning to Germany in 1869, he was drafted into the German army, and passed through the Franco-German war of 1870; was on the field at the battle of Metz. He returned to the United States during the summer of 1871, and settled in Sibley county, here remaining until his removal to Hastings in 1875. The next year he located in Mendota; having had some experience in grain speculation, he began as a grain buyer, and since 1877, has been wheat buyer and agent for the Millers' Citizen Association, of Minneapolis. Married at St. Paul, in 1875, Miss Hulde Mendiville. Hermon, Julius, Eliza and Fred are their children.

Page 519

Ferdinand Burow

was born September 13th, 1841. Immigrated to America in 1866, and came to St. Paul, via New York. Came to Mendota township in 1869, settling on a farm owned by A. Northolfer. He purchased the farm on which he now lives from Gen. H. H. Sibley, it being unimproved land. It has been well cultivated and has received also some first-class improvements, under the managemen of Mr. Burow. He visited his native country in 1857, returning to his Minnesota home early the following spring. Married in 1870, Miss Amelia Post, a native of Prussia. Ludwig, August, Albert and Annie, are their children.

Page 519

Rev. Charles Arthur Sicard de Carufel

Pastor of St. Peter's church of Mendota, was born in the province of Quebec, August 4th, 1836. He attended college from seven to seventeen years of age, afterward entered Nicollet college, pursuing the theological course four years. During the time, however, seven months were passed as private secretary to Bishop Thomas Cooke. He was ordained by this bishop June 9th, 1859. Was the assistant at St. Anne de La Parade until 1861; then assistant at St. Justin until 1862; also parish priest at St. Louis de Blanford until 1870; was parish priest of St. Roman of Winslow until 1871, for five years was parish priest of Pointe du Lac. He came to Oswego, New York in 1876, and was two years parish priest of St. Louis, of Oswego. Came to Mendota in 1878 and has since that time been priest of St. Peter's church, and until 1879, had charge of Inver Grove mission.

Page 519

Henry E. C. Dehrer

was born November 5th, 1846. Came to this continent with his parents during infancy and passed his childhood in Pennsylvania. In 1854 he came to St. Paul, Minnesota, with his parents. Subsequently he moved to Inver Grove township, where he resides. Was here married to Henrietta Sass, in 1871; she has borne him four children. Bought his present farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Mendota township in 1876, and settled on it the ensuing year. He has been chairman of supervisors three years and school treasurer four years.

Page 519

Michael Dupuis

was born in La Prairie, Canada East, 1810. He learned the trade of boot and shoe maker in his native place and afterward worked at it in New York and other cities. Returning to Upper Canada he was for a long time the foreman in a tannery, and boot and shoe manufactory, etc. In 1855, came to Minnesota and the same summer opened a boot and shoe shop in Mendota, which business he has since pursued. Miss Mary Clark, a native of Upper Canada, became his wife in 1849. Eleven children have been born to them; the living are: Henry, Mary, Charlotte, Edward, Gosept, Albert, Frank and Orman.

Page 519

John F. Guiney

a native of this state, was born in Eagan township, Dakota county, September 18th. 1860. Moved to Fort Snelling with his parents, during infancy, and two years later accompanied them to Mendota. During his boyhood days he attended school and has since been principally engaged as an employe on the railroad. At one time he assisted in building some of the elevators on the H. and D. railroad as far as Bird Island; is now section boss on the I. and M. division of the C., M. and St. P. railway at St. Paul Junction. He still resided in the village with his parents.

Page 519

M. Haggerty

is a native of Ireland, born in 1842. Received his early education in the schools of his native country, and when about twelve years old, went to France, and finished his course of studies at the University of Paris. He was after professor of languages in one of the government lyceums of that country. Came to America in 1870, landing at New York, and during the fall of the same year came westward, locating in Mendota. Here he served as principal of the school until 1877, then studied law at the University of Iowa, receiving his diploma the next year. After returning to Minnesota, he was admitted to the bar by an examination at Hastings. He taught school in Inver Grove township one term, also one term at Burnsville, then came to Mendota, and resumed his duties as teacher in the schools. Married in 1879, to Miss Alice Kearns, who was born in 1860.

Page 520

Fred. Heckel

was born in New York city, in 1843. Here was his home, until he enlisted in June, 1861, in the Sixty-sixth Regiment, New York. Was in the battles of Fredericksburg, Antietam and Bull's Run; served until June, 1864, then returned to Rockland county, New York, as a farmer. During the spring of 1877, came west, and settled in Mendota township. The first year, he assumed control of a farm for Dr. F. R. Smith, of St. Paul. Opened the R. T. French farm of eighty acres, which will soon heimproved under his management. Married, in 1870, Alias Mary Paddu, a native of Ireland. Their children are: Maggie, William, Edward, Louis and Frederick.

Page 520

Octave Le Clair

was born in Canada, about thirty-five miles below Montreal, in 1836. When a lad of twelve years came to Mendota with his brother Philip. The first few years of his western life he was in the employ of Alexander and David Faribault, driving cattle and teaming. He subsequently acted as scout for a hunting expedition to Lac qui Parle, the party being composed of people from New York. Until the completion of the railway from Fort Snelling to Faribault, he was principally engaged as an Indian trader, visiting Redwood and Yellow Medicine. Was one of the flrst brakemen on the railway mentioned, and at the very commencement of his career, sustained severe injuries, having nine bones broken. Continued railroading about ten years, and has since opened a store, meat market and saloon, and is now residing at Mendota. Married Miss Margaret Dupuis, who has borne him fifteen children, twelve of whom are living.

Page 520

Constant Le May

was born in Canada, about forty-five miles from Quebec, December 8tb, 1827. On attaining majority, he went to Missouri, and on up the Mississippe to St. Paul. He entered the employ of the fur company, of which General H. H. Sibley was agent, in which he continued four years. He selected his present farm and built a shanty. After the land came into market, he secured 160 acres, which has since been his home. His estate comprises 265 acres. In 1865, he was married to Miss Felicite Lembert, who died February 20th, 1881. He has seven living children.

Page 520

Carl Neubauer

a native of Prussia, was born October 24th, 1830. Came to America in 1857, and the next spring came to St. Paul, Minnesota, remaining two years. He engaged in farming in Eagan for H. H. Sibley, and in Mendota for Dr. Steele, of St. Paul. Purchased his present farm of eiglity acres, in section 35, in 1867, settling on it the following year. Miss Amelia Staige became his wife, April 22d, 1872, and has borne him seven children: Bertha, Louis, Sebalt, August, Ida, Augusta and Julius.

Page 520

Edward Perron

was born in Canada, about thirty-six miles below Montreal. Came to St. Louis in 1851, thence the following spring to St. Paul. Returning to Canada in 1855, he married Miss Louisa Conneyer, and two years later moved his family to Mendota village. After farming some time in Mendota, he moved to Eagan township, and for six years had charge of a farm for H. H. Sibley. Moved to his present farm in Mendota township in 1874. Mr. and Mrs. Perron are the parents of six children, four of whom are living. Adolph, Alexander, William and Mary.

Page 520

James Travers

was born in Chicago, October 11th, 1855. While yet a child, he moved with his parents to St. Paul, where he lived until 1870. Coming thence to Mendota; he engaged in railroading for a short time, and has worked for the government at the carpenter's trade chiefly since, remaining most of the time at Fort Snelling. Helped in building Fort Custer during the summer of 1877; visited Cheyenne, Wyoming, during the spring of that year, with his brother-in-law,, Omer E. Woods, of Mendota. Was employed at Fort Assiniboine during the summer of 1879, then returned to Mendota. In March, 1881, he took charge of the hotel at Mendota, of which he is now proprietor. Married Miss Josephine Woods in 1878. They have one son, James.

Page 521

Clement Vondell

one of the early settlers of Mendota, was bom in lower Canada in 1823. His father Louis was a farmer in that country. Clement came to St. Paul in 1848, thence to Mendota. During the first few years spent west, he was in the pineries, also teaming for the govemment. He settled on his present farm in Mendota towmship some time before the land was salable. Here he has has since resided. Married in 1851 to Mary Bebeau, who died in 1880, leaving thirteen children: Kate, Clement, Mary, Louis, Christine, Charles, Jeanette, Ellen, Addie, Lena, Philiman, Minnie and Josephine.

Page 521

Omer E. Woods was born in Eagan township, Dakota county, Minnesota in 1856. Moved with his parents, Gregory and Lucy Woods in the spring of 1857, and has resided here through life. His education was acquired at the public schools. He has been engaged principally in railroading, and is at present, section boss on the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railway at St. Paul. Junction. In l877,made a trip to Wyoming territory, returning the same year. When a boy, was in service on the barge laden with the first railroad engine up the Mississippi. Miss Julia Travers became his wife June 9th, 1880.

Return to r-Library